We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Azaleas”
Review of Brookgreen Gardens

Brookgreen Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 9,170-acre green park located 16 miles south of Myrtle Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome Azaleas”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We visited this beautiful garden with a difference on a sunny day earlier this week. The gardens have glorious azaleas and tulips but also some of the best animal sculptures I have ever seen.

Also do take the Rice field boat tour. We saw alligators and an Osprey catching a fish!

An absolutely "must see" location.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,477
    314
    71
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We were a bit early in the season but what was in bloom was worth seeing. The sculptures are amazing, even you aren't into art - there is something for everyone to appreciate there. Good for a quiet afternoon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachtraveler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“This is a must see”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We spent three days at Brookgreen Gardens and then a day at Atalaya, across the road in the Huntington State Park. You ticket allows you to come back for 6 more consecutive days. Atalaya was the castle or home of the couple who bought the plantation and made it into Gardens and Statues. There is a wildlife zoo that was over the top. I must have taken a hundred pictures. The boat ride and explanation of the rice cultivation during the antebellum slave era was so worth the extra money. Also the bus ride to see the back of the plantation was wonderful. Also extra but so worth it. The snack bar was so so, so we took a picnic lunch. There is free parking and a bus to take you to other spots on the plantation. It was really the high light of the trip. There is also a lovely restaurant. There is no plantation house to go through. There is a lovely gift shop. The flowers in March were nice but probably better later and the Live Oaks were amazing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro,Nc
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Impressive must see gardens!”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

In all fairness, I must admit that I buy a yearly entrance membership for myself and bring everyone I know to see Brookgreen Gardens. However, my friends (with no prodding from me) all rave about the trees, flowers, sculptures, zoo, butterfly pavillon, special lectures & programs, etc. and ask to come back for another visit when they return.
I just went again this week and the blooms of tulips were gorgeous - see one group of them in the attached photo. The nicest part of visiting is that Brookgreen volunteers and workers change out the flowers beds regularly so every season is another, but different beautiful view.
Myrtle Beach/Litchfield Beach is a great area to visit for many activities for all ages, but it is really nice to sometimes take a break from too much sun & sand every day and go to Brookgreen Gardens for its impressive (and photographic) beauty!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank baoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Gardens I have ever visited..and much more than just gardens”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Brookgreen Gardens has been our favorite place to visit for three decades now. It gets better and better as time goes by. We now purchase a yearly pass, even though we are not that close.
Besides the gardens, enjoy the statues, special programs, wildlife, long walks, and their restaurant (or bring a picnic lunch).
Visit their website for special programs.
Also..if possible, visit in December at night for candles and entertainment.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeourUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brookgreen Gardens also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Brookgreen Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing