We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad stay but I had some recommendations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inlet Sports Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a bad stay but I had some recommendations”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Which of course I passed along to the staff... Check in was easy and room was nice and clean. Not what we were used to with our 2 bedroom timeshares since this was a one bedroom/efficiency and for a week stay with 3 of us (one a 4 yr old) it was a but cramped.

Amenities overall were nice. Kitchen was a plus with the full size refrigerator and two burner stove top, but needed a few things to make it more beneficial for a family looking to not eat out for every meal, such as a skillet for breakfast and maybe more than one pot... Also, if you're fairly short or have kids, they will likely not be able to wash their hands or brush their teeth in the bathroom as the sink is a large bowl on the counter and was too high for my son. The shower with the multiple jets was pretty cool.

Pool was the highlight of my son's week and at only 4 ft deep, it was nice to be able to cool off with him throughout the whole pool. Downside was that the pool was right next to the restaurant next door (which apparently is VERY GOOD but was a bit pricey for us) and where all the employees come out to smoke (seemingly constantly). We used the laundry facilities and unfortunately only one washer out of four in the whole place was working, but at least it was there as an option.

Another downer was that our AC broke the night before our last night there and we were moved to their 'demo' room. Although the bed was more comfortable than the one in our original room, the shower had no temp setting other than super hot, so no showers were taken the morning of our 11 hr drive home. We were also on the ground floor with a window to the courtyard where a bunch of men were hanging having some cocktails until at least 11 or so (didn't really help us get to sleep early...). Oh well.

Overall for the price that they charge for a night in the area, it wasn't bad. They seem to be focusing on entering the timeshare business and should possibly cater to adults or 'sportsmen'.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heathe2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    32
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
42
99
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I found this gem while searching for a hotel near the Brookgreen Gardens near Murrell Inlet, SC. It is so new that the Google Map car has its address as an empty lot! It is only a mile or two from the Garden so it was a perfect location for us. The rooms are designed as efficiencies with King beds that can convert to twins, a large sleep sofa, and full kitchen (full size frig, stove, dishwasher, cookware and utensils. We didn't use the kitchen other than to make coffee in the morning. The bathroom is of a standard hotel size but has been upgraded for appeal. It has an above the counter sink bowl with pump-look faucet (cute but impractical - too high for short me!) and a shower with 4 extra jets that are positioned to hit your midsection (fun but not necessary - water wasteful?). We loved the wooden floors throughout the room and the carved wooden doors with nature motif. It was a luxurious room and a great value for $99/night! I believe that the low rate reflects their newness and as soon as the word gets out, the rate will rise. Their website promotes it as a sportsman's hotel but it seems too nice for someone to return to after getting dirty while hunting or fishing. Maybe that is what the 4 extra shower jets are for?!! I also think that they may be trying to promote it as time share although no one asked us to listen to a promotional talk. There is a restaurant on site but we did not try it. (We ate at Dave's Dockside in Murrells Inlet and recommend it for a quiet dinner with a great view!) The only complaint that we had was being awakened early by the sounds of crashing glass as the recycling truck emptied the bins outside our window.

Room Tip: Get one away from the trash bins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The Inlet Sports Lodge is a wonderful new property in Murells Inlet. It less than a mile from the Boardwalk Resturants, Marina and Bars, and the rooms are sooo much more than just a bath and couple of beds. A functional kitchen, nice living room area and a bathroom with a five head shower that is wonderful. The property itself has a wonderful courtyard, swimming pool, and a widow's walk. I highly recommend you make reservations now. The Inlet Sports Lodge has only been open since November and I truly believe once the words gets out, it will fill quickly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLaurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed over the New Years weekend with a group of 12. I was amazed over the beauty and lowcountry style throughout the lodge. The detail and craftsmanship was remarkable! Plus you are located in the heart of beautiful Murrells Inlet where they have plenty of wonderful restaurants to dine, as well as explore the Marshwalk. We chose the new Restaurant "Bliss" which is located on the property of the Lodge. It was better than words can describe and we have already been back twice. Needless to say, you wont be disappointed in your stay at the Inlet Sports Lodge!

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank farmchick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2011

As a local in the area, we were very excited to check out the new lodge, as well as the restaurant Bliss. We had a group of 10 people, and were able to receive all our rooms together. We enjoyed some college football in the meeting room downstairs, and had a wonderful New Year's Eve dinner at Bliss. The staff were very attentive to our needs, and helped to make the stay a pleasant one. For anyone visiting the area, you will be sure to have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sk123461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Our stay was wonderful and so relaxing. I loved the friendly staff and the beautiful custom rooms. The restaurant Bliss there was absolutely divine and it is a must when visiting this area. If you are looking for a great vacation to experience the beauty of Murrells Inlet, this is the place for you! We can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kc8404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murrells Inlet
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
5.3 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
5.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inlet Sports Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inlet Sports Lodge

Property: The Inlet Sports Lodge
Address: 4600 Highway 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-5016
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Murrells Inlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inlet Sports Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel in the heart of Murrells Inlet, seafood capital of South Carolina, catering to outdoor enthusiasts, golf lovers, fisherman or anyone looking to relax. We offer Deluxe Studio and Luxury Suite Accommodations. Our standard Deluxe Studios feature a full kitchenette with standard refrigerator with icemaker, microwave, dishwasher, coffee pot and two-top burner stove, as well as versatile King or 2 extra-long pillow top Twin bedding and a custom Queen Sleeper Sofa Bed. Bathrooms are equipped with showers that have 4 massaging body jets. Our Luxury Suite consists of the standard Deluxe Studio room plus an adjoining room with optional King or extra- long pillow top twin bedding, regular sofa, bathroom with 4 massaging body jets, microwave, mini fridge, coffee pot and ice bucket. All rooms feature granite countertops as well as pine hardwood floors. On-site we have an award winning restaurant and bar Bliss, room service, meeting room, business center, outdoor courtyard and Widow's Walk rooftop view/sitting area. We are 1 mile south of the Murrells Inlet Marshwalk Marina, watersports, dining & nightlife, and 3 miles north of Brookgreen Gardens & Huntington Beach State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inlet Sports Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inlet Sports Hotel Murrells Inlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing