We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome weekend, great price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inlet Sports Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inlet Sports Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome weekend, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I do not understand the negative things that I saw on here. What little negatives I read before my stay made me apprehensive and set my expectations low, but the rate was too attractive to say "no" to on short notice (booked on a wednesday, showed up on a friday). The suite was great with a king bed, full fridge that was promptly filled with leftovers from our lunch we had after shopping at the outlets. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the shower was amazing (4 body jets to go along with the shower head lead to me taking 5 showers in less than 48 hours), and after drying off it was great relaxing in the bathrobes that were provided in the closets. The AC worked well also, getting the room to the perfect cold temperature to help my girlfriend and I want to snuggle together to stay warm after a day of shopping or a day spent at nearby Garden City Beach. While Murrells Inlet is certainly out of the way, you can find more than enough to keep you on that side of town if you are there for a weekend. We definitely plan to return. Everyone on staff was excellent, from manager to desk clerk to housekeeping.

Room Tip: Not sure of a bad room. First floor would probably be easier since I was not aware of a stairwell a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleGrzelak, General Manager at The Inlet Sports Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We can't thank you enough for giving us a try even though you were apprehensive and we hope to see you again soon thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    31
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
97
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We just spent an amazing weekend with a great set of friends here at the Inlet Sports Lodge. It was a quick getaway, but we loved every minute of it. The facility was clean and very tasteful with some wonderful details that you are not going to find at regular hotels. The staff was friendly and sweet!! The rooms have a great amount of space so you do not feel cramped. The kitchen was stocked with the basic needs so if you were staying longer you could buy some groceries and not eat out every night. It would be an awesome place to have a reunion or gathering, there is a courtyard with huge bar and grill for you to use. Yes, the beds are pushed together to make a king if that is your preference but we slept fine. The bathroom sink is high so washing your face or brushing your teeth can be a little challenging if you are small in stature like myself. I would like to see a full length mirror be added in the bathroom or somewhere, I like to see if my shoes match my outfit and I don't always trust my husband's opinion. They also have a restaurant that is off to the side called Bliss. I had expected it to be a burger joint because it is a small, more sport oriented hotel but to much of my surprise it was an upscale, fantastic eatery. The four of us sat at the bar and had dinner. It was delicious, pricey but you get what you pay for. The bartender, Karen was fun and poured a stiff drink. Definitely would stay here again in a skinny minute!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dienne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Beautiful decor and detail on every surface made this inn feel more upscale than the price would indicate. It was great to have a full sized fridge and freezer with icemaker in the room as well as a full sized coffee maker, microwave and dishwasher. Having dishes and silverware came in handy, too. The bed was comfortable enough and the directions provided on how to use the shower faucet simplified that task. My guess is those directions were provided as a result of past frustrations from other guests. The location was convenient to the restaurants in Murrell's Inlet and close to area attractions.
1. Bring your own large coffee mug- the china in the room is cute but the mug is more like a little tea cup- not nearly big enough for morning coffee.
2. The sink in the bathroom, although lovely to look at, is dreadful to use. Not teeth-brushing friendly at all.
3. Yes, the towels are rough- even my 12 year old son complained. Skimp on the sink and go luxury on the towels- my 2 cents.
4. Please add a full length mirror!! It should be illegal for a hotel room to come without one.
5. The event held in the courtyard the night of July 5th went on past 11, was very loud and was disruptive to us trying to sleep.
6. Add a fitness room and I might come back! :)

All in all a very nice place. My complaints aren't deal breakers but should be considered.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunClickRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel is over priced and a big disappointment. The nice thing about this stay is that it is a safe place for a single female and the staff are nice, but that is the only thing. This place is totally for a man! The toilet seat does not even fit the toilet, the vanity mirror is too high for the average woman to use, towels are hard, rough and I even found a dirty towel in the bath room from the previous guest!!! The TV sucks, I felt like I was sleeping in the kitchen and the bed was so uncomfortable. Two twin beds placed together with a mattress topper. There are no bell men and the front door is so heavy to open and it does to have an automatic opener so you struggle to get your luggage in. And the threshold going in the room is so high you can't roll your luggage over it.
There were not many people staying there and now I know why. Don't waste your time staying here, go down the road about a mile and stay at the Hampton Inn you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HG1548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleGrzelak, General Manager at The Inlet Sports Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Traveler,

We are truly sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay. You mention that we are over-priced and the Hampton is a better value however, their rates are typically higher than ours and we believe we are priced just right for what we have to offer. We are unique in our own way and as you stated may not be for everyone. We are proud to mention that we have received the Certificate of Excellence 2013 and will work even harder to address all comments and we thank you for taking the time to review our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel is off the path but worth the detour. Very quiet and clean. The rooms are well appointed and just right for a relaxing stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There is a restaurant on site just in case you want to really stay local and walk down for lunch or dinner. The pool is very tiny so if you are looking to swim laps you might try another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank listentothisadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The pluses: room rate, location, staff, room ambience, room bathroom, room kitchenette! hotel layout. Things to buff up for 5 out of 5: two or three more items on continental, like some type of eggs, bed pad for softer bed, drape structure to keep it totally dark. Oh, also the name doesn't fit for me. How about Murrells Marsh Inn, or Inlet Marsh Inn? Anyway, it's a nice place to stay. :-)

Room Tip: Third floor-less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Awesome service as well as decor, location, and atmosphere...... Michele and staff are professionals top notch! Our family rented 3 rooms for bike week so that we could be close to all the action. We had dinner followed by drinks at Bliss the bar/ restaurant located next to the hotel. I have stayed at this hotel a few times and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area. This is by far the best place to stay in Murrells Inlet. We will be back for future visits.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thekid2169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleGrzelak, General Manager at The Inlet Sports Lodge, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. We appreciate you as a repeat guest and will always do what it takes to meet your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murrells Inlet
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
5.3 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
5.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East
6.2 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inlet Sports Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inlet Sports Lodge

Property: The Inlet Sports Lodge
Address: 4600 Business Highway 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-5016
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Murrells Inlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inlet Sports Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel in the heart of Murrells Inlet, seafood capital of South Carolina, catering to outdoor enthusiasts, golf lovers, fisherman or anyone looking to relax. We offer Deluxe Studio and Luxury Suite Accommodations. Our standard Deluxe Studios feature a full kitchenette with standard refrigerator with icemaker, microwave, dishwasher, coffee pot and two-top burner stove, as well as versatile King or 2 extra-long pillow top Twin bedding and a custom Queen Sleeper Sofa Bed. Bathrooms are equipped with showers that have 4 massaging body jets. Our Luxury Suite consists of the standard Deluxe Studio room plus an adjoining room with optional King or extra- long pillow top twin bedding, regular sofa, bathroom with 4 massaging body jets, microwave, mini fridge, coffee pot and ice bucket. All rooms feature granite countertops as well as pine hardwood floors. On-site we have an award winning restaurant and bar Bliss, room service, meeting room, business center, outdoor courtyard and Widow's Walk rooftop view/sitting area. We are 1 mile south of the Murrells Inlet Marshwalk Marina, watersports, dining & nightlife, and 3 miles north of Brookgreen Gardens & Huntington Beach State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Inlet Sports Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inlet Sports Hotel Murrells Inlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing