We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another terrific stay in Murrells Inlet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inlet Sports Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Supply, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another terrific stay in Murrells Inlet”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We are just back from a three night stay in the lodge. This was our second stay in six weeks time..Murrells inlet is such a relaxing place and the sport lodge is very much a part of the whole southern comfort theme of this pretty place..New, modern, upscale, spacious, quiet, comfortable and immaculate are just some descriptions. The room has many thoughtful amenities such as a nice kitchen area, fully equipped with a full sized refrigerator ..Fabulous bathroom with body jets in the large shower..Comfortable bed and bedding..Ceiling fan ..Very homey and beautiful tropical decor. Most importantly it is spotless. The location cannot be beat, right up the block from all the restaurants and connected next door to Bliss restaurant. The staff is super friendly. Donna at the front desk is exceptional. She knew what I needed before I did. She arranged a late complimentary check-out and was so helpful and kind both times we have stayed. We highly recommend the Inlet Sport Lodge!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and give easy access to the courtyard, Third floor has easy access to the wid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linsvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    33
    5
    7
    2
See reviews for
43
106
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linn Creek, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

You will not find another place to stay in Murrells Inlet or the Myrtle Beach area that has a friendlier staff. Found the accommodations located in a great location. Close to all the great restaurants in Murrells Inlet and Hwy 17. I have stayed here three times and have yet to be disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 51ncheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was the perfect place for me and my bridal party to get ready for my wedding on Nov. 2nd!! I am from this area but didn't want to stay at my house or up in Myrtle Beach, plus I also got married right up the road at Capt. Dave's Dockside. Everything about the room was amazing, especially the sitting area which we used to get our hair done. Even the carved doors were beautiful. The staff was extremely friendly and anytime they saw us they made sure we were doing fine and saying "Congratulations" to us. The facility itself was stunning, we took multiple pictures in the the center courtyard and the one on the side near the pool. I will definitely be coming back for a "Stay"cation. I have already recommended it to friends and family who want to come to the area and visit but don't want to be caught up in the hustle and bustle of Myrtle Beach. You guys have a wonderful facility and a great staff.

Room Tip: There is no bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusannaLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleGrzelak, General Manager at The Inlet Sports Lodge, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we love hosting "Stay"cationers! Happy Holidays to you and your family hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manning, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and two daughters spent three nights at the lodge over the past weekend. We had planned to drop them off and head down to the Hampton Inn. after touring the room and facitlity we were greeted by Deena. Wow, talk about a bubbly personality! She was very very friendly and we decided to stay with "her". On Sunday my wife and daughters went shopping. I wanted to watch the race, but not in our room or at a bar. Donna suggested that i watch it in the courtyard which had a giant screen and was outside. She set the TV up, pulled a table and chair over and said "enjoy" What a staff, including the lady who cleaned our room and left a very nice thank you note to us. Sorry I didn't catch her name. Great rooms, great staff and terrific service. Oh and we staid three nights and paid for two. We will go back!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you
Deanna, Donna and the rest of the staff for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We staid on the second floor and heard very little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleGrzelak, General Manager at The Inlet Sports Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to having you back again soon have a great Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just had a great weekend staying at The Sports Lodge for a wedding event. The property is great, rooms are up to date and the place has everything you need. The hotel staff is fantastic and really make it a great experience. Large corporate chains could learn something from a few night stay with these guys.

If you have a small event, I'd recommend the hotel as it has a great layout, courtyard and adjacent bar.

Thank you.

Room Tip: We checked out 3 rooms and all seemed identical, up to date and done very week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregghia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleGrzelak, General Manager at The Inlet Sports Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Inlet Sports Lodge we look forward to hopefully having you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I disliked this hotel not for its cleanliness but its noisiness. We have both stayed in our share of hotels to know what a normal noise level is and what isn't. We arrived at the Hotel at 11:30 at night and went to the room 309, we could hear everything such as the TV volume, people talking, etc. After arriving in the room, I quickly went down to ask hotel clerk if they had another room. He said they did not have another room, he then called the room and asked them to turn down the TV. When I went back to the room the TV volume was not turn down and the people talking could still be heard, after a long day and needing sleep we decided to just go home. The problem with these rooms is that it has laminate flooring and if you have an adjoining room next to you everything can be heard as everything echoes, even a mouse fart.

We spoke with Michele Grzelak the resort manager and she was not willing to offer us a refund as we had to leave that night due to the noise levels. Anyways, if sleep is important to you I would not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleGrzelak, General Manager at The Inlet Sports Lodge, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Traveler,

As always we appreciate all input from our guests whether good or bad. In all fairness to the lodge I would like to comment on your review.

We do our best to accommodate all guests but can't control all actions of other guests. In this situation the guest next to you were given a courtesy call to please turn down their television and per our Assistant Resort Manager they did accommodate our request without hesitation. He also went up to the hallway that your room was on per your request to listen for the noise you were reporting and verified that the noise was non-existent after they had turned down their television.

One clarification I would like to make is that our rooms do not have laminate flooring they do indeed have real hardwood pine flooring. If you were hearing an excessive amount of noise from the room next door then flooring would not be an issue. We were 99% full that night and there were no other noise complaints that night at all.

I also wanted to clarify that noise is not a typical complaint here at the lodge and when a noise issue does arise because of other guests our staff follows a procedure to ensure the issue is handled and no more guests are inconvenienced.

One more mention, you had requested to be on the front side of the building and those particular room types are our adjoining Luxury Suites. I would like to offer you a free night stay to come back as our guest and stay in another room on another side of the building and give us a second chance.

Please contact me directly if you would like to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay here based on the great reviews, and felt we should pass on our experience to others as well. Rooms are clean and well appointed efficiencies; loved having a full size fridge, and the ability to heat up leftovers from the wonderful nearby seafood restaurants.
The location couldn't be better, close to the action of the Marshwalk, but quiet for sleeping ( ask for a room facing the courtyard or the back of the building). Pool area is small but it was fun to hang out there a bit after touring and beaching all day.
Continental breakfast is fresh bagels, English muffins, fruit and such. Just enough to start your day.
Staff was friendly and although this is also a timeshare property, they never bug you to purchase.
The price is reasonable for the area, and they offer some great specials.
Will definitely stay here again on future visits to the area!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonniegal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murrells Inlet
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
5.3 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,850 reviews
6.2 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet
1.0 mi away
Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inlet Sports Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inlet Sports Lodge

Property: The Inlet Sports Lodge
Address: 4600 Highway 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-5016
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Murrells Inlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inlet Sports Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel in the heart of Murrells Inlet, seafood capital of South Carolina, catering to outdoor enthusiasts, golf lovers, fisherman or anyone looking to relax. We offer Deluxe Studio and Luxury Suite Accommodations. Our standard Deluxe Studios feature a full kitchenette with standard refrigerator with icemaker, microwave, dishwasher, coffee pot and two-top burner stove, as well as versatile King or 2 extra-long pillow top Twin bedding and a custom Queen Sleeper Sofa Bed. Bathrooms are equipped with showers that have 4 massaging body jets. Our Luxury Suite consists of the standard Deluxe Studio room plus an adjoining room with optional King or extra- long pillow top twin bedding, regular sofa, bathroom with 4 massaging body jets, microwave, mini fridge, coffee pot and ice bucket. All rooms feature granite countertops as well as pine hardwood floors. On-site we have an award winning restaurant and bar Bliss, room service, meeting room, business center, outdoor courtyard and Widow's Walk rooftop view/sitting area. We are 1 mile south of the Murrells Inlet Marshwalk Marina, watersports, dining & nightlife, and 3 miles north of Brookgreen Gardens & Huntington Beach State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inlet Sports Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inlet Sports Hotel Murrells Inlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing