We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful park with a rare historic treasure”

Huntington Beach State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful park with a rare historic treasure”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This state park has a per person admission ($5 per adult, $3 per child). This fee gives you access a beach, picnic areas, and many trails. In addition to this attractions, the park is also home to the Atalaya mansion. It is a huge brick home constructed in the 1930s by Archer & Anna Huntington. Anna was a famous sculptor. The mansion is empty, but an amazing site to tour and explore. It is truly an architectural wonder. There is a small exhibit giving background information, as well as a self-guided tour map that provides information as you travel room to room. Even the 7 and 11 year old enjoyed exploring the old mansion.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenparadox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,085
    270
    42
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, TN
Level Contributor
217 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Bike Trail”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The bike trail from Murrell's Inlet to Litchfield by the Sea winds through Huntington Beach State Park. It is a well maintained asphalt path covering approximately a little more than 10 miles. Most of the trail is under forest canopy, and therefore it doesn't provide direct access to the state park beach or much of the wildlife which inhabits the area. One trail break takes you through a neighborhood by which you can access the beach. Overall a pleasant peaceful ride.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank axavol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Make sure to go here!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Huntington beach state park is one of the best places near Myrtle Beach to visit in my opinion! We cannot go to the beach without stopping here for a day! There's just so much to see and do, all for a very low price of $5 a person. You will see so much wildlife! Alligators, crabs, raccoons, and the birds....Wow there is so many species of birds there, This place is defiantly a bird watcher's dream! They also have a nature center with plenty of info and a few exhibits, also a touch tank for children. Then there's the beach, it is so beautiful and clean! It is also very large you can walk for a good ways, picking up shells, swimming, surf fishing or just relaxing. If you're into fishing they have a walk way that goes out to the rock jetty's of Murrells Inlet. There is also a neat house there called Atalaya, that cost $1 a person extra to take a self guided tour, which I also highly recommend. Also in case they don't tell you if you save your receipt you can go to Myrtle Beach State park the same day. We love Huntington Beach so much that we plan on staying in their campground next time we go. Well I hope this review helps you out, if you haven't been to Huntington beach it's really worth checking out, you won't be sorry!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Chance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Miles of beach solitude”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Have you ever wanted to walk along a beach without seeing an endless line of beach homes and dealing with crowds of people? Then try Huntington Beach State Park. The $50 weekly pass was a bargain for our family. Otherwise, it is $5 per adult to enter. We visited the park 6 days during our week long visit to Pawleys Island. In addition to a great secluded, natural beach area, there is a swamp with alligators and Atalaya, the old Huntington Mansion. I am not an ocean person, but I love this beach.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tntands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
218 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Grass camping”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We loved this camp ground, it was nice with all the grass. The bathrooms could use a good cleaning and spray. The rest of the park was nice, and much newer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank clscorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huntington Beach State Park also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Huntington Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing