We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Plantation River Tours
Ranked #7 of 21 Tours in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The boat trip was hot, long and boring! I had to fight sleep! My granddaughter was very bored almost from the beginning. To think we paid $90.00 for this? There was hardly anything to see. I thought there would be southern plantations, alligators and just a more pleasant experience than this! There were only a few plantations back in the trees, one far-away alligator and a couple of faraway osprey nests. The brochure is deceiving. I was very disappointed and angry at spending my hard-earned money on this tour!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    38
    17
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“AIRBOAT TOUR REVIEW”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

On our recent visit to the Myrtle Beach area, we took the Airboat Tour running our of Wacca Wache Marina. It was a great experience. The boat easily held all 7 of us. The kids especially had a great time, and we even got to see a baby alligator. Our guide was very knowledgable about the area, and turned the boat around 3 times until all the kids got to see the alligator.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank emilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing....but”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

If you want just a relaxing river cruise, this 2+ hour trip is what you want. Lovely tree lined river.

If you think you will see plenty of Plantations - Wrong! Most of the plantations no longer exist. Many references to the rice paddies, but views are blocked by the trees. Some birds, but no alligators. Guide was knowledgeable, but couldn't see much of what he spoke about. Bring your snacks and a jacket if you sit in the open air area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Boring. ”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

It wasn't fun at all. Very expensive. And didn't see really anything. Seen only two plantation but from very far away. No snacks or beverages on the boat. You can take them on. And the bathroom aboard stunk really bad.

Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
89 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome Air Boat Tour”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This review is for the AIR BOAT TOUR and not the Waccamaw Lady Plantation Tour.

I was thoroughly impressed with our recent river/inlet tour on the 8-seater air boat running out of Wacca Wache Marina. From the initial telephone call, making inquiries about the tour through the last picture taken with our air boat captain - the staff was extremely friendly, professional and accommodating! At $45.00 a person (you can find $2.00 off coupons in the tourist rags), I had a certain level of expectation. The company, marina, tour route and captain did not disappoint.

Our party wanted to experience something a little more unusual than a leisurely roll down the river on a pontoon boat packed with tourists, children and cameras. The prospect of a 50-60 minute fan boat/air boat ride was just the ticket. The marina is well-kept. The staff well-trained. The boat was comfortable and safe. There was no lack of spray in the face, skirting around the shoreline and slicing through the reeds. Top speed was about 30 mph, give or take. The air boat option did not disappoint, although I wish the boat accommodated fewer people so that the expert captain could open up the boat for a little more speed. The lack of wildlife, while disappointing, was understandable with the overcast day, cooler temperatures and well, you can't choreograph appearances of alligators, osprey, boar and the like.

There are fantastic photo opportunities and the captain is very accommodating in slowing down the boat for better shots. Our captain (2pm on Mon., Oct. 14, 2013 and freshly returned from Canada) interacted easily with the guests - although hearing with the complimentary air plugs in place, was a bit difficult. He was well-informed and easily answered questions about the pre-Civil War rice fields, local plants, native wildlife, points of interest for the park and wildlife refuge, etc.

I was a bit nervous taking this trip, as I have a healthy respect for large bodies of water. However, I was put at ease with the experience and professionalism of the staff. I'm not sure if we missed the safety presentation (life preservers, in case of emergency, ear protection, etc.), but we arrived on time, although were last to board the boat.

Our party of three, thoroughly enjoyed our trip and recommend it to anyone wanting to get out of the tourists en masse. It's a great value, especially with the coupon, for the level of entertainment and service provided. Recommended? A resounding yes!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank C1arksGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plantation River Tours also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Plantation River Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing