We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some nice stuff but sneaky with coupons” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Gator

Lazy Gator
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Grand Strands most Unique Gift Store. Huge selection of gifts, collectibles, apparel, souvenirs, fudge and so much more. Voted best gift shop on the Grand Strand 4 years in a row! SUMMER HOURS UNTIL 10PM Coastal Decor & Nautical Collectibles • Art • Garden Adornments • Kitchen & Bath Accessories • Jewelry • Greeting Cards • Lazy Gator Homemade Fudge & Gourmet • Children's Toys • Christmas Decorations • Vera Bradley • T-Shirts General Information: Open year round! We are located in the heart of Murrells Inlet, along 17 Business, across from the restaurants Bovines and Wahoo's Fish House. We provide complimentary parking for the Murrells Inlet Marsh Walk. Check out our Facebook Page "Lazy Gator" for current events, photos, hours of operation and contact info.Take a step back in time and relax in our rocking chairs on the porch. We look forward to your visit!
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Some nice stuff but sneaky with coupons”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Very nice place to visit-offered assistance and water as we walked in and browsed. When we finished shopping and checked out-the bill was @$70 and we were happy to pay it. Later we found a $5 off coupon in one of the coupon books. Although it was only $5 we felt a little cheated and won't be back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank skippermoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSD843, Customer Service at Lazy Gator, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
We sincerely apologize that you we not happy with your experience and if we disappointed you in any way. As with most retailers, coupons need to be presented at the time of purchase. Our goal is to have happy customers and we are not trying to be sneaky in any way. Coupon books are available all over the Myrtle Beach area, and we are currently in many of them for the 2013 season. We hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    32
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hateful, pitiful and rude customer service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

My wife and I are from Wilmington, NC and we have a special love for the carolinas coastal fishing communitites. We work in healthcare so we understand "having a bad day" or even feeling trapped in a small town. But when it comes to simple product sales and even faking a smile these 2 employees were terrible. We're given a purple arm band that our resort compliments us at certain retailers for 10% off. After talking to the older skinny lady about a candle not seen on the shelf all we got was "We're phasing these out and will not reorder them" and after asking her to add the oz's to make it that certain price for that particulAr oz she was verbally short winded, said noway and turned her back and walked off. THAT's no big deal but as we're buying our $50 in candles and spending at least 15 minutes (I was wearing my purple 10% off bracelet) we left without a discount. We got home and called Lexie, in no way what so ever would she work with us. We couldn't refund it in order to repurchase it and THEN get the 10% off, no way at all could we come back and simply receive our entitled $5 and she was so short spoken with a terrible attitude (like I was bothering her) that we won't go back for that $100.00 crab-glass-light. I guess anyone without a lick of people skills can work a register. The money isn't the issue and we don't expect every sales person to be happy but trust me, these people would swindle a quarter off you and frown as they tell you to leave if they could get away with it.

Helpful?
2 Thank healthcaretraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSD843, Customer Service at Lazy Gator, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
We are so sorry that you had this experience at our store and I can assure you that we do NOT expect our staff to treat customers this way. If there is any way that we can make this right for you, please let us know. One of the staff members mentioned in this review was let go due to customer service issues. We honor our coupons and specials, and train all staff to make your experience as a guest, pleasant & fun. If it was anything other than that, please contact management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethton, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Nice Gift Shop in Murrell's Inlet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

This shop carries a good deal of Vera Bradley items, as well as beautiful jewelry and other gift items. We enjoy coming to this store every summer when we visit Myrtle Beach. We can always find something nice to take back to our family and friends there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a stop at the Lazy Gator”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

It’s a tradition for us every year! I am inside shopping and Hubby enjoys sitting on the porch in the rocking chairs “people-watching” while he waits for me! There’s always some lovely treasure to discover each shopping trip and this year did not disappoint!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kish_29730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem, va
Level Contributor
332 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Just plain fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We love to stop by the Lazy Gator and just browse. After going through the store (usually buying something) it is fun to go on the porch and look for the alligator! If we can't find it, we play the ring toss game on the porch or just sit peacefully and rock in one of the many chairs!
It is always great fun!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dsummer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lazy Gator also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Lazy Gator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing