We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ice cream”

Painter's Homemade Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

What a find. Really good flavors, crispy brittle yum. My wife had a cake sundae more than she could eat, nice little establishment, would highly recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joshua P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    15
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Truro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Garden City Oceanfront Location”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

They have a nice variety of ice cream flavors. The toasted coconut was wonderful! It's nice that if you don't order off the menu it's simply a specialty dish; that speeds up the register as the servers make your treat. This was the first time I didn't need to order extra hot fudge to have enough to finish my sundae.

The staff was fast and super nice. I wish the inside eating area was a little nicer but I highly recommend Painter's Ice Cream!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4RonPaul2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream and Great Staff”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Visited the Painters Ice Cream at the Garden City Pier and on Rt. 17. Both locations are outstanding. The ice cream is very good and the people they have working are extremely friendly and fast.

My son has a severe nut allergy and we make sure to let people know that when we order food. The staff at both locations immediately washed their hands, and utensils as soon as we told them this....without us even having to ask. We really appreciated that.

The only thing I could point to as being a (slight) disappointment was the fact that they don't pack any ice cream down into the waffle cones when you order those. The ice cream just sits on the top....and the cone is hollow when you get there.

Painters is a MUST when you are in GC!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Buzzard05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Homemade Ice Cream”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Wanted to try a local ice cream spot while on vacation and it was delicious. They have two locations, one oceanfront and the other off of a main highways. Always busy but they do their best to get you served.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kpr1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yum”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

the best home made ice cream around. They give you large portions and have lots of flavors to choose from . price is right

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank carolgray527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Painter's Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Painter's Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing