We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Motel is a refreshing joy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brookwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murrells Inlet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brookwood Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This Motel is a refreshing joy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

We regularly stay at The Brookwood Inn in Murrell's Inlet, SC anytime we travel from Hillsborough, NC to Murrell's Inlet, SC. The management team of Michelle and Dale, plus the housekeeping staff, go out of their way to make you feel like you are part of the family. The rooms are very clean and the service is excellent! The staff are professional, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the local area.
The motel is reminiscent of the old Route 66-type motels of the 1950's Hollywood Era. It is clean, comfortable, quite, and peaceful. It is minutes away from the hustle and bustle of the Grand Strand and all of the entertainment options it offers. In the other direction, going South, are the hidden jewels of Brookgreen Gardens and Pawley's Island.
Walking out the front door of your room at The Brookwood Inn, you are literally steps away from the beauty of The Inlet. Sunsets watching the local fishing boats coming and going in the Inlet can't be bought.
I HIGHLY recommend this motel for families, couples, retirees, and anyone else looking for a peaceful retreat from the chaotic hassle of daily life. Don't miss this gem!

Room Tip: There really are no
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank KimberlyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    14
    6
    6
    13
See reviews for
10
23
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rock hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

While living close to the area and visiting this area for many years this is one of the most memoriable places with the quiet charm and peaceful setting..close to everything one would desire.. a true gem...let's keep it well hidden.. :-)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

My husband and I booked a room for one night (our anniversary) and got there on a Sunday about 1pm. Michelle checked us in and gave us our room which was quite cozy. The bed was comfortable and the room was cold thanks to the AC. The location is perfect; within 5 minutes are some great restaurants. Michelle recommended a couple to us and we took her up on the lunch option at River City. (Yum!) Also the Marsh Walk is right there and you can get to all the restaurants that way. I forgot shampoo and conditioner and when my husband went to get some it was provided for us. They are super friendly and made us feel very comfortable and welcome. We didn't use the pool but it looked we cared for and clean. This is an older motel, but I was happy and slept great. And that's all I could ask for. Plus we only paid $70 for the night!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithkp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

After a couple of phone conversations about the day we'd be arriving (a Friday) & the guarantee of a room, we pulled in to find they had no vacancies. They claimed they'd expected us the day before....not possible at all considering the two conversations we'd had already with them. Our guess was (and still is) that they rented our room to folks who wanted to stay longer than the one night we'd reserved. Not only was it a HUGE disappointment (because after years of seeing this place on the Murrells Inlet Highway, we both had looked forward to being there)), but we had an AWFUL time finding a place to spend that night! Barely did actually.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DisappointedColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Murrells Inlet hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

My husband and I had sadly had to travel to South Carolina for a funeral and we were on a budget. We found the Brookwood Motel and were impressed with the excellent rates and outstanding staff. The young couple Michelle and Dale who take care of the motel went above and beyond their duties. It was so warming to see nice friendly faces when we were in such down spirits. We had planned on only staying 2 nights, but decided to stay an additional 2, because it was such a great environment. The rooms are extremely clean and the landscaping is very well maintained. We plan on coming back this summer for a vacation this time. I would recomment this hotel to anyone traveling in the Myrtle Beach each!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monsters0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

On arrival I was told that they expected us the nite before for two nites....never our plan. But they did not charge us for the alleged nite. Room was in a detached building, but was roomy and comfortable. Cleaning was about as expected in a cheap motel, but a major negative was one corner which was covered with black mold. Location is great; close to the water and restaurants. I would recommend it to those who are willing to rough it a bit. The recommendation is qualified.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredfromRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

Tucked away in a quiet corner of Murrell's Inlet, the Brookwood is a fantastic find if you happen to be in the area and need a place to stay. This is a classic vintage Roadside American motel that is clean and comfortable. The rooms are comfortably furnished, the AC works, the bathrooms are clean, and the rooms have a fridge to preserve leftovers or road food if you have them. The Brookwood is reasonably priced. This is not a soulless cookie cutter modern place that you won't remember where it was, when you stayed there, or why. My wife and I travel often, and there are precious few places like this left. The staff was courteous and seemed eager that we have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DownTheRoadWithJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murrells Inlet
1.0 mi away
The Inlet Sports Lodge
The Inlet Sports Lodge
#2 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
1.9 mi away
Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#5 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.3 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookwood Motel

Property: Brookwood Motel
Address: 5098 Highway 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-5042
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Murrells Inlet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Brookwood Hotel Murrells Inlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing