We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things are getting better.”
Review of Brookwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murrells Inlet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brookwood Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Things are getting better.”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I had stayed at Brookwood every year for over 16 years. It was always clean and comfy. The last management team that was there ran it into the ground. I just stayed for 4 days and I felt like I was taken back in time. The owner, Robert, is now running the show. Ready and willing to do whatever he can to make your stay a pleasant one. The rooms are soooo much cleaner and fresher. This is not the Hilton, its dated (thats its charm) but geeze it was only 60.00 when the holiday inn express was 130.00. Slept in a big cal. king w/ an icy a/c. What more did I need? It`s quiet, charming, comfy, and cheap.

Room Tip: The best rooms are 25 thru 29
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenora421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    15
    7
    6
    14
See reviews for
11
24
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Vintage motor court, very dog friendly. Close to good restaurants and highway US17, but on a quiet side road. Wireless doesn't reach beyond office. Mattresses seem of same vintage as building and need replacement. Bedding a little shabby. But, overall a satisfactory experience and we would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjretnaNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, DE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I regret that our experience at the Brookwood Inn, Murrels Inlet, SC, was far below expectations. The center piece of our disappointment was the shower; it was filthy and in dangerous repair. Domino-size ceramic tiles with sharp edges lay loose all over the shower floor.
Mildew, evidently growing unchecked for some time, was pervasive on the edges and corners and even the easier-to-reach flat surfaces of the walls.
Both the sink and the shower leaked. The sink, dirty and corroded, had no trap or stopper (a situation totally unacceptable to contact lens users who fear losing the lens down the drain).
The towel racks were loose and/or broken. The carpet was very old, frayed and needing serious attention.
Management was often unavailable. We had to race through check-in due to time issues with a wedding we were participating in on the Garden City Beach. We made the mistake of unloading our luggage w/o inspecting the room. On our return later that evening we discovered how truly un-kept and neglected our assigned room was. Furthermore, it was infested with a variety of insects that ignored us much better than we could ignore them. It was 10:30 PM and the office was dark and locked up.
We endured a restless night, loaded up and checked out the next morning. We insisted on their crediting our credit card, which, I will say gratefully, they did with little protest.
At one time the Brookwood Inn was, and perhaps with some investment and resolve, yet could be, a charming, quiet and rustic motel. Presently, it earns the distinction of being the first establishment I ever felt compelled to issue an alert about via one of these reviews. We will never return!

Room Tip: Mom and Pop establishments, regrettably, are best avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeoNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Murrells Inlet hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed here in May 2011, and I adored this place. Its a great mom and pop hotel, peaceful and with lots of character. Granted, if you are expecting the Four Seasons (or must be beachfront), this is not the place for you. But this a great, budget-friendly place for those who want to go off the beaten track. Also, within stumbling distance of the Marshwalk if you like a few margaritas with your dinner :)

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 43 - the room itself was roomy, with a mini-fridge and an additional sink (other th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We regularly stay at The Brookwood Inn in Murrell's Inlet, SC anytime we travel from Hillsborough, NC to Murrell's Inlet, SC. The management team of Michelle and Dale, plus the housekeeping staff, go out of their way to make you feel like you are part of the family. The rooms are very clean and the service is excellent! The staff are professional, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the local area.
The motel is reminiscent of the old Route 66-type motels of the 1950's Hollywood Era. It is clean, comfortable, quite, and peaceful. It is minutes away from the hustle and bustle of the Grand Strand and all of the entertainment options it offers. In the other direction, going South, are the hidden jewels of Brookgreen Gardens and Pawley's Island.
Walking out the front door of your room at The Brookwood Inn, you are literally steps away from the beauty of The Inlet. Sunsets watching the local fishing boats coming and going in the Inlet can't be bought.
I HIGHLY recommend this motel for families, couples, retirees, and anyone else looking for a peaceful retreat from the chaotic hassle of daily life. Don't miss this gem!

Room Tip: There really are no
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank KimberlyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rock hill, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

While living close to the area and visiting this area for many years this is one of the most memoriable places with the quiet charm and peaceful setting..close to everything one would desire.. a true gem...let's keep it well hidden.. :-)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2010

My husband and I booked a room for one night (our anniversary) and got there on a Sunday about 1pm. Michelle checked us in and gave us our room which was quite cozy. The bed was comfortable and the room was cold thanks to the AC. The location is perfect; within 5 minutes are some great restaurants. Michelle recommended a couple to us and we took her up on the lunch option at River City. (Yum!) Also the Marsh Walk is right there and you can get to all the restaurants that way. I forgot shampoo and conditioner and when my husband went to get some it was provided for us. They are super friendly and made us feel very comfortable and welcome. We didn't use the pool but it looked we cared for and clean. This is an older motel, but I was happy and slept great. And that's all I could ask for. Plus we only paid $70 for the night!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithkp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murrells Inlet
0.9 mi away
The Inlet Sports Lodge
The Inlet Sports Lodge
#2 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
218 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
4.3 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,792 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet
6.7 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookwood Motel

Property: Brookwood Motel
Address: 5098 Highway 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-5042
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Murrells Inlet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Brookwood Hotel Murrells Inlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing