We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has great Location”
Review of Brookwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murrells Inlet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brookwood Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Reviewed 18 May 2014

That's about the nicest thing we can say. Very "old" and in dire need of maintenance and repair. Used syringe found inside blanket on shelf. Housekeeping comes around some days, had to go to office for linens several times. Never replaced coffee in room ? Never swept the front doorway, or cleaned the spider webs off of the screens in the windows, never cleaned gutters, so water just pours in to the doorway. Shower filled with small flying bugs everyday upon our return. Carpet is disgusting and feet would be black from just walking on it. Cleaning people (maintenance) live on the property. Mostly they ride around in a golf cart, and or bicycle just talking to the guest. Never actually doing anything constructive. This property has a lot of potential. Wifi is outside of the office only, not in the rooms. Big hassle if your trying to work.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank itsallgoodDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have been to the Brookwood many times over the years. I have seen managers come and go. This is my last stop over. The staff was rude and out of control. It appears to be the family hang out of the homeless and unemployable. I cant comment on houskeeping,,,as it does not exist. The grounds are no longer kept and clean. Trash cans smell like rotten meat, and the bugs they draw. A good nights sleep is not to be had,,lights are on all night, and the couple that run it have some anger issues. Even at the cheap rate that I paid,,,it was very over priced for the service I received. Sad what two people can destroy.

Room Tip: Rooms down the road are more civilized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank roadawg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here on our vacation to the myrtle beach area. Our experience wasn't so bad to start with until one of us got stuck in the bathroom for 20mins due to a messed up door knob. This place definitely needs a water softener, it felt like I was getting hit with needles while taking a shower. We were staying as a large group in three different rooms that we had reserved on one card and when we went to check out found out that they had charged the one card for all three rooms before asking how we wanted to pay. When we told them three different people were paying they got attitude and all angry. When we tried to express the issues we in rooms they told us we stay we pay then asked us to leave the premises and acted like they were going to call the cops. Also they will probably tell you someway or another that the rooms had been redone but I guess they had a $50 budget per room because there was falling down sheetrock, bathroom door not opening, and had to put your shoulder in to it to close the room door, and the water would not stay warm. To end with the guy behind the counter is not a professional at all and is very disrespectful. He definitely doesn't know the saying the customer is always right and im very surprised this place is still in business with this guy working there. Recommend you staying somewhere else

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank worldtraveler101112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Surrounded by old oaks and tall pines, the small Brookwood Motel in Murrells Inlet, SC, is a delightfully quiet and friendly place to stay. We stayed two nights recently due to a power outage after an ice storm. Left the farm and headed to Murrells Inlet to eat and enjoy the scenery. The motel is run by Joe and Betty Joe, who took care of our every need. Joe recommended a breakfast place in the inlet and it was superb (and cheap). The WIFI is not in every room though. Check when checking in if you need WIFI.

Room Tip: I was told that rooms on the end with rooms 37, 38, 39 were quieter and they indeed were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anacondapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

An old fashioned motor court near Myrtle Beach at the end of Murrells Inlet's restaurant row. A step into a bygone era with rooms from the 1960s, but comfortable enough. Regretfully for sale, so enjoy it while you can or buy it and preserve it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at this property for 2 nights. I knew from the reviews and pictures on line that it was an older place, but as long as it was clean, we were fine.
When we drove up, it felt like we went back in time. It's a motor lodge built in 1950 and still has
some of the characteristics from that era. We stayed in a duplex called "The Alamo". We had a large room with a small kitchenette and large bathroom. It had all the things we needed and it was clean, but it is showing its age.
If you want a quiet place to stay and don't mind older amenities, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Moonpie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This motel was built in 1950 and has been kept in good condition considering the age. It was exactly what I expected from other reviews on trip advisor. The beds were comfy, rooms were reasonably clean and the price was a bargain. Customer service was very good. We stayed in the Alamo, which is a duplex beside the main motel building. This is a quiet location and we got a good nights sleep. It is very convenient to Huntington Beach state park, where the rest of our family was camping. I consider it the best value in the area and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank realistick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murrells Inlet
4.2 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,904 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inlet Sports Lodge
The Inlet Sports Lodge
#2 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
228 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet
5.0 mi away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#4 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookwood Motel

Address: 5098 Highway 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-5042
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Murrells Inlet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Brookwood Hotel Murrells Inlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing