We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Dont Bother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Ranked #153 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Indoor pool and hot tub areas were dirty and run down. The water park was only open on weekends. My wedding ring was stolen by housekeeper who just got out of jail a month before being hired there. Nice view of beach.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelinggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed here for 1 night while we waited for the rest of our golf trip crew to arrive the next day. This place is big. We checked in at one part of the hotel and had to drive all the way around another hotel to get to our rooms building. The price we got from the hotel website was fantastic. We ended up in a room with 2 queen beds and 1 sofa bed. The room was nice enough and would consider staying here again. The only negative was the we couldn't get the wi-fi to work in our room and the woman at reception was no help in trying to rectify the situation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockland_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at thye sand dunes resort in a three bedroom condo. Myself, wife and my 8 and 5 year old with my in-laws also. Hotel was very nice and room was great lots of room and a good price. We received free buffet breakfast coupons for oceans dunes next door and it was also excellent and service was great. Next off to the pools indoor pool warmand hot tubs nice. Outdoor pools and small water park water was freezing but not hotels fault early in the season. Beach area infront of hotel was clean and very nice. Also a added bonus for me was a gym a little older but to have a gym on site with equipment was great and opened at 6 am which was great. I would recommend this hotel and will be staying there next time in Myrtle Beach. 17th floor great view.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ublrivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My family stayed in room 808 on April 13 and 14. On Saturday, when the room service personnel entered to bring clean towels, they exited with my expensive bottle of cologne. My more valuable jewelry was in the safe. The cologne was on the dresser along with some costume jewelry. They left the costume jewelry and stole the cologne. I did not realize this until I dressed in the late afternoon. I reported it as soon as I dressed and went to the desk. When I checked out the next day, I inquired about compensation for this theft and was told that the housekeeping manager was not at work and that an internal investigation would have to occur. We will see if there is any follow-up. Also, there was no hot water when we needed to shower to attend a wedding on Saturday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We liked this place and will probably be back. There are a lot of resort choices in Myrtle Beach and we like to try new ones here and there. I will say that this did have a great view! Overall, the stay was ok but could have been better.

Room Tip: Get a room with a beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryno611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel has a lot of potential, but I believe (after staying here 4 years in a row) that the staff is not held accountable by hotel management. Let me explain.

Maid Service: The single worst room service I have expereinced and I travel 15 time per year for work so it is really stressing how poor the maids service is. 4 years in a row we put up with the lack of cleaning. Each year there we would have to call the front desk to get management up to our room to show them how the maid service was not cleaining our room. They would leave dirty towels on the bathroom floor and some days they would not even show up. Seems to have very poor management involvement.

Surrounding areas: When we stay Ocean Front on the 5-7 floors you can look down at the roof top of the Arcade area and see an enormous amount of trash. This is 4 years in a row so it is not a one time thing.

Hotel has a ton of potential as it is very big, has a kids lazy river/water park, etc. but I feel management is failing th owners. We booked the last two years as the prices was the best for what you get, but we have changed for 2012 to the hotel next door which is highly rated and we walked through and saw how nice it was.

Sand Dunes can be a top notch hotel, but changes are required to get it there. Unfortunately our valid complaints feel on deaf ears for years. Thus we will not be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

check in was at 4 but we got their earlier and there was no line. Afterwards I saw a continuous line and people did not look happy. The rooms are showing their age; the carpet needs some serious cleaning that may only be accomplished by replacing the carpet. Even though the room was not brand new we made the best of it and had fun during our stay. Our children enjoyed the water park and pools even though it seemed a little too cold in the month of April. The inside pool had too much chlorine and the floors needed some serious cleaning. Overall the accommodations need some updates and better cleaning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TEXAZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon at 77th
Horizon at 77th
#54 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,448 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort
#9 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
5,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dunes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

Address: 201 74th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3832
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £62 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Dunes Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sand Dunes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sand Dunes Resort And Spa
Sand Dunes Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sand Dunes Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing