We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Worst hotel I have ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Ranked #149 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I have ever stayed at”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

You have choices. DO NOT SPEND YOUR $$ HERE. Ive never wrote a review or felt so emotional about helping people. If you are coordinating a sports week pick another spot. If you are on vacation, run far away from here. Housekeeping non existent until they harass to leave on checkout. Vulgar language, atrocious accommodations no help from staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
This is not the kind of experience we wish our guests to have.

If you can please give us more details of what went wrong during your stay so that we can get to the bottom of it.

Please include your room# and reservation# to

marketing@sandsresorts.com

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    198
    111
    127
    261
See reviews for
612
70
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel has a nice waterpark and perks. However we had issues from day one that were never corrected. The kitchen was missing several items. Guest services told me they would send the missing items up for days, even that they were on the way up at one point. Never happened. Three days into a six night stay the A/C partially went out. First guy said we would have to leave the doors open because it was only partially blowing. Next night it totally went out. Water was at the top of condensation pan. The guy that night got it back to partially functioning. The next night it was overflowing. The evening temp in the main room area would hit 80. When checking out, manager Eddie, who I tracked down and had spoken to once before about the issue, said he was going to get to the bottom of everything and give me a call... Still waiting. The won't respond to my emails either. Don't get me started on their new photo ID that they make you wear. I felt like I was back in boot camp, with the dorm guard fussing at us to have our badges on in the lobby. We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite this time and previously in a 2-bedroom. Last stay was much better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Dobson, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have two children, ages 4 and 1, and we love it here. It is by far the best value I have found at Myrtle Beach. Honestly, you can have a great time here without ever leaving the property with all of the activities they off for kids. And if you do want to leave, they offer passes to some great attractions for free. We will definitrly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the ocean dunes villas in a one bedroom suite. It was perfect for our family. There was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review

We are pleased to know you enjoyed our resort and that you were happy with all the amenities.

We do hope you will return to Sand Dunes for another fun filled vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel on 6/21/14-6/23/14 the first night was not good we got a bad room. I went down the next morning and complained about the bed and they switched us to a new room. They are renovating the building we we're staying and moved us to a room that had already had most of the updates. The only thing was the air would not go lower then 74 other then that the room was so much better then the first one. It was $500 for 2 nights. The water park area was great for our children 10 and 7 and my husband and I enjoyed the lazy river. It has a great little restaurant in the park, great cheese jalapeño fries. They also sell beer and alcohol which my husband really happy. A convenience store is also right there in the building it worked put great for when I needed more sunscreen and waters for the day on the beach. It has an inside pool, for when you need a break from the sun.

Room Tip: Good for children lots to do
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

As we are continually trying to improve our operations, your detailed feedback provides us with the opportunity to gain valuable information. We greatly appreciate the feedback.

We are pleased to hear that we were able to relocate you to e better room. So glad you enjoyed the water park and the amenities.

We hope you will return soon for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My family stayed here for our vacation and it was absolutely wonderful. when we checked in the first night we had a problem because we had requested 3 bathrooms (there were 12 of us) and our room only had 2 bathrooms. But the staff (thanks Eddie) worked until they found us another room and it was great. The breakfast buffet was delicious and eveything we could have wanted, thanks Saiful for meeting all of our various needs! The extra fun things for my grandchildren were fabulous. We will be taking another vacation at this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation and that Eddie at the front desk was able to solve your accommodation issues.

We do hope you will return again very soon for another visit.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Do not stay here unless you want to vacation with ROACHES.we stayed on the sixth floor 6/16/14 to 6/17/14..we were there one day when we discovered them..big ones, babies, and egg sacks too..American and German roaches everywhere in the kitchen..on the floor counters, cabinets, dishwasher, etc. we did receive money back for stay but not for all our groceries, time,cleaning supplies, inconvenience,etc. we immediately checked out and went to a new hotel 10 miles away. We still have not received a call back from hotel...this place is nasty and I will never stay anywhere near this facility again...for anyone there during this time check your bags!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are very unhappy to hear about this experience.

We would like to look into this further. Can you please contact us with the room and or reservation# so that we may investigate.

Again, please accept our apology. We do hope you will return again so that we may show you a happy Sands experience.

Email marketing@sandsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was the perfect spot for our vacation. The room was clean and extremely quiet. Room service was superb! Every day it looked like we had a brand new room. Our 2 year old LOVED the water park and pools. The food at the arcade and Mango's was delicious. My husband and i voted dinner at Mango's was the best dining experience we had in all of Myrtle Beach during our stay. We really enjoyed having a convenience store on the groups equipped with beach supplies and pretty much anything you could need. We stayed a week and only left the resort to do a few touristy activities. You could definitely spend the whole week at the resort and never leave; everything you need is available. We also really enjoyed tickets to Wild Water and Wheels, it's definitely worth the drive! The location was perfect, we didn't have to drive more than 15 minutes to get to any attractions we wanted to visit (other than Wild Water and Wheels). We will definitely be returning to Sand Dunes. We have already started planning our trip for next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to post a review.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your family vacation with us here at Sand Dunes.

We do hope you will return again soon for another Sands experience.

We appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#44 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,122 reviews
3.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon at 77th
Horizon at 77th
#63 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
567 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort
#8 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
5,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dunes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

Property: Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Address: 201 74th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3832
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Dunes Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sand Dunes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dunes Resort And Spa
Sand Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sand Dunes Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sand Dunes Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing