We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“There are much better places for the same money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Ranked #147 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
New Albany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There are much better places for the same money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are here for the Youth Baseball Nationals. View from room is great. Everything else is very dated. Management does not give a damn about issues. You get the constant run around.
took 2 days to get room vacuumed. Have to go everyday to front desk to get 2 additional towels and shampoo. No planned activites other than the one organized event.

Room Tip: If you are expecting a washer dryer in your suite, make sure you get that in your confirmation. App...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyof4NewAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to post a review. As we are continually trying to improve our operations, your detailed feedback provides us with the opportunity to gain valuable information. We greatly appreciate the feedback.

We do have planned events everyday with our Kids Club program. Scheduled is posted in the lobby each week with the daily activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    188
    102
    122
    227
See reviews for
567
61
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Was not able to give less than 1 or I would! This is the sixth day staying and paying for a room we did not book. We booked and paid for a one bedroom with a washer and dryer. We ended up with a Junior Suite with no washer and dryer, terrible housekeeping in the oldest building in the complex; with no offer of compensation or even the slightest indication of an apology. Spoke to the desk clerk on Night of check in and was told there was nothing they could do. Spoke with Manager eddie who passed on to Alana, (the event coordinator) on Friday and was told by Alana that if they could not find another room today it would be Saturday at the latest We never heard back, called the cell phone number provided to find the mailbox full. Followed up in person on Saturday and was told that she is not even in the office until Monday. Spoke to Manager Steve on Saturday who promised he would call back on Sunday, of course he did not. Followed up in person only to be told there was nothing he could do and he put all the blame on the organizing sporting event. His solution was to advise that there are washer and dryer facilities on the third floor (1 washer and 1 dryer for the entire building) that we would be "allowed" to use and pay for (more money in their pocket). Ice machine on fourth floor has not worked since we arrived. The contradictory reviews must be confusing and I am certain that there are some people that get the rooms they booked but it seems to be the luck of the draw, not something I would want to count on with my vacation dollars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to post a review. As we are continually trying to improve our operations, your detailed feedback provides us with the opportunity to gain valuable information. We greatly appreciate the feedback.


We hope that you will return to Sands so that we may show you an enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Hotel is outdated. Over run with unruly youth baseball teams whose parents allow them to run wild. We came with our baseball team and stayed here because it was one of the tournaments selected hotels. Mold on shower curtains. Dirty beds. Saw 3 boys jump into the indoor water fall pond to retrieve quarters to use in the vending area. Rude reservation dept. parking a nightmare. Group walked to dinner one night and someone was throwing water bottles out the window at us. Team parent saw someone dump there cooler over the balcony and soaked a lady dressed to go to dinner. Worst spot ever will never be back to myrtle beach. Shocked that some have rated this excellent. Can't imagine what they are use to living in.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baseballmom37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to post a review. As we are continually trying to improve our operations, your detailed feedback provides us with the opportunity to gain valuable information. We greatly appreciate the feedback.

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. We have many many groups that visit our facility and return every year.

We do hope you will return so that we may show you a happy experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Upon checking in, we found ashes on the toilet seat and feces stains in the other toilet. The tubs were not clean and there was hair in the shower. When I called down to customer service they sent a girl only to clean the bathrooms. A little later, I put the tummy time mat down for my twins so i pushed the couch back there were toenails, trash and dirt, which means the room wasn't cleaned at all. After sweeping up the mess, the next morning we went to com breakfast and there were ROACHES!!!! fed up with the uncleanliness we went to find a manager. After getting the run around for hours at the front desk the manager called and said he'll have someone spray. He never apologized, no compensation was giving. Beware this place is a dump!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tknowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here while at Baseball Nationals Tournament. Nice and clean, Staff was very friendly. Children love the water park and all the extra amenities the resort offers. Would stay here again and recommend it to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: We chose the efficiency over looking the beach. Great view over looking pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to post a review.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the resort while you were here for a sports tournament.

We do hope you will return again soon.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have two kids, 6 and 7, and this was the perfect place to stay. Clean rooms, friendly staff and a huge on-site water park that we went to every day. Several good restaurants on site with good food and reasonable prices. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit Myrtle beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your review

Very please to know you enjoyed your summer vacation with us. Happy to hear the kids enjoyed the amenities including the water park.

We hope you will return again soon for another Sands experience!

Thank you for the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

You have choices. DO NOT SPEND YOUR $$ HERE. Ive never wrote a review or felt so emotional about helping people. If you are coordinating a sports week pick another spot. If you are on vacation, run far away from here. Housekeeping non existent until they harass to leave on checkout. Vulgar language, atrocious accommodations no help from staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
This is not the kind of experience we wish our guests to have.

If you can please give us more details of what went wrong during your stay so that we can get to the bottom of it.

Please include your room# and reservation# to

marketing@sandsresorts.com

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#28 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Sands Ocean Club Resort
#133 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort
#8 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,452 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dunes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

Property: Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Address: 201 74th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3832
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Dunes Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sand Dunes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sand Dunes Resort And Spa
Sand Dunes Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sand Dunes Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing