We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What We Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
Ranked #1 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton,NJ
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were invited to attend a time share presentation for Hilton Grand Vacations. We were offered perks like reduced room rates, Hilton Honors points and a voucher for future use. Sounded like a good deal for a few hours of our time. This was back in February or March, I don't really remember when.

We were given a choice of two hotels, one on the beach and the other was at Broadway at the Beach. After reading the reviews, we chose the Broadway. It was $100 a night for three nights. Not long after we committed to our visit, we got a call that the room would be $120. extra because of the season. They didn't realize it would be summer when we originally booked? We thought it was still a good deal so we agreed.

As Hilton Honors members we always book a non-smoking room with a king bed. We checked in last week to our room with " a nice view of the pool". Only you couldn't see the pool unless you put your face to the window and looked hard right. Also the room had two queen beds.
My wife called the desk to complain and was told that this is the room type given to people here for the time share presentation. They acted like they had no say in the matter, they kept blaming things on "Hilton". I thought you were Hilton.

Other than the bed, the room was fine. It was clean and comfy as we have come to expect from Hampton Inn. Our room did face Broadway and there was noticeable noise from the rides.

After having dinner and having gone once around Broadway we were sorry we hadn't taken the beach front location. Unless you have kids there isn't much to do but shop, eat or see a movie. And if you have kids I could see it costing a small fortune to keep them entertained. We tried going to the beach but it's too far to walk and parking was non-existent.

We ended up staying only two of our three nights. We were told if we wanted a refund we'd have to take it up with, you guessed it, "Hilton". We don't want a refund, no hard feelings, Myrtle Beach is just not for us.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ABFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelMyrtleBeach, General Manager at Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest: Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor! We take all guest feedback extremely seriously, and appreciate that you took the time to detail some of the opportunities during your reservation process with Hilton Grand Vacations, and during your stay where we could have provided a more elevated level of service. Although we are proud to be a part of the Hilton family of hotels, unfortunately our hotel is not directly involved with the booking or purchase of vacation packages such as yours that include a presentation of Hilton Grand Vacation's beautiful new property here in Myrtle Beach. We will, however, be certain to share your comments with our area's Hilton Grand Vacations representative regarding the rate discrepancy and room type in the hopes that they may address this with their booking agents- we certainly do not tolerate our guests being disappointed nor their expecations not being met! We are happy to hear, however, that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable, even if Myrtle Beach may not be a destination that you choose to visit in the future. Again, thank you for the feedback!

Sincerely,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    231
    54
    22
    9
See reviews for
383
236
35
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel is in great condition, our room was clean and decorated well. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. It was very good with some variety each day. Its the only hotel right on Broadway at the Beach!! We used the pool regularly and could quickly jump from the pool to hang out on Broadway. I was just a short cab ride to the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelMyrtleBeach, General Manager at Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Lori M: Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor! Our wish is for all of our guests to truly enjoy and make the most out of their vacations with us as you did, and while our ideal location on site of Broadway at the Beach and one mile from the ocean certainly plays a large role in this, we pride ourselves on the fantastic amenities you mention in your review that make visits even better! This includes our tasty "On the House" breakfast, and indoor and outdoor pools with an awesome lake view! Again, thank you for the feedback! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our stay at Hampton Inn at the Beach was spectacular. The beds were wonderful. The staff were friendly and courteous, the hotel room was clean and the breakfast, which is complimentary is tasty. In addition to hot and cold choices, there is fresh fruit and fruit salad and you can also make a waffle.The Hampton Inn is the only hotel at Broadway at the Beach and is in the middle of everything. There is so much going on at Broadway, from restaurants, shopping, amusement parks, museums, movie theaters, comedy and nightclubs to zip lines and speed boat rides. All of this at the backdoor of the hotel. There was also a firework show late Friday night. As I said there was so much going on so although we stayed for four days, we still did not see everything. The hotel is also in walking distance ( one mile) to the beach but we drove because after a day at the beach in the hot sun and warm waters, who has the energy to walk back. The hotel is also across the street from the Legends show which is a must see. Very entertaining. We saw impersonations of Michael Jackson, Elvis, the Blues Brothers, Steven Tyler, Madonna and Taylor Swift. We had so much fun,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelMyrtleBeach, General Manager at Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Denise: Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you for your spectacular review! We especially love the title you selected, because FUN is what we are all about, and FUN is what we wish for all of our guests to have when visiting us, both on property and off! It sounds as if you truly made the most of your time in Myrtle Beach, and we appreciate the details you provided fellow travelers about the aspects of our hotel that you most enjoyed, from our great service, to our "On the House" breakfast, to our luxurious bedding! We also found your tips regarding the attractions and entertainment in the immediate area helpful- I think you summarized wonderfully, and hope your comments will encourage others to visit our friends next door at Legends in Concert- a fantastic show! Again, thank you for the feedback!

Sincerely,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is at a nice location "Boardwalk off the beach". The boardwalk has nice shops and restaurants. The pool was very clean and the water temperature perfect - not too cold. The room was nicely furnished and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MarciaH330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelMyrtleBeach, General Manager at Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Marcia: Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor! We could not be happier that you were able to take advantage of
our perfectly temperate indoor and outdoor pool areas, especially during this beautiful Myrtle Beach summer! We have to hand it to our maintenance team for taking such great care in making sure these areas are pristine, balanced, and most importantly, CLEAN! In fact, we see that the word "clean" came up a second time in your review in your description of our guest rooms-wow! Again, thank you so much! We hope to have the opportunity to serve you on your next trip to the area!

Sincerely,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This Hampton Inn is top-notch, the service is outstanding - particularly the front desk & concierge. The room and hotel overall was always very clean. The location is the best of all the hotels in the surrounding area, as you can easily walk around the boardwalk to all the shops, restaurants & numerous attractions. In addition, it's just minutes from the beach. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful too, with many items to choose from. Thank you for making my vacation so comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyCLT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelMyrtleBeach, General Manager at Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Peggy W: Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor! You are quite welcome, and it is our pleasure, to have made your vacation so comfortable and enjoyable! We feel one of the most important aspects of a sucessful hotel stay is service, and we are passionate about providing the absolute best, (or top notch, to use your words!), in all areas of the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to mention the front desk and concierge teams, as well as our housekeeping department that keeps our rooms and common areas so spotless! Again, thank you for the feedback! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Hampton Inn at Broadway at The Beach on June 16th & 17th 2014. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The faculty was very clean and well Maintained. I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. It featured Belgium Waffles, breads, cereal, fruit in a spacious dining area. It was a little pricy for a weeknight stay but the location and amenities made up for it. The attractions on the boardwalk were a lot if fun and were reasonably priced considering it is a desirable tourist destination. I would definitely return and stay here again. I was tracking with a group of adults chaperoning a school trip. (The kids stayed with local families)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgracey60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelMyrtleBeach, General Manager at Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest: Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor! Our hope is that all of our guests realize, as you did, how much we truly "love having them here!", one of the Hampton Inn mottos that you may have seen on commercials and featured throughout the property! We try to show this by our dedication to service, cleanliness, and to providing the fantastic inclusions that you describe in your review such as our "On the House" breakfast! Again, thank you for your kind feedback! We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very good Hampton Inn with a lot of entertainment right outside the door at Broadway at the Beach. Many restaurants, shops, movies, nightclubs, amusement rides, fireworks, etc. within easy walking distance. I've stayed at this Hampton Inn several times for business and pleasure and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelMyrtleBeach, General Manager at Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Marion W: Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your very accurate description of the wide variety of entertainment located just outside our back doors (it is officially fireworks season- every Tuesday and Friday over Lake Broadway all summer long!), and are pleased that you have had the opportunity to stay with us for both business and leisure. This is something that we encourage all of our corporate guests to do- come back and stay with us for fun! Again, thank you for the positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you next time!

Sincerely,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
4.9 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,707 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,833 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Myrtle Beach/Coastal Grand Mall
3.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach

Property: Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
Address: 1140 Celebrity Cir, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-7465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step outside Hampton Inn(R) hotel in Myrtle Beach-Broadway at the Beach and you are in the middle of the festive streetscape of Broadway at the Beach, the most popular destination along South Carolina's Grand Strand. The Hampton Inn(R) hotel in Myrtle Beach-Broadway at the Beach is the only hotel located directly on the Broadway at the Beach complex and is located just two miles from the ocean, a half-mile from the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, and only a few minutes from the Myrtle Beach International Airport and Coastal Carolina University. Browse over one hundred specialty shops, restaurants, museums, and attractions including Ripley's Aquarium just outside the door of our Myrtle Beach hotel. Soak in some rays or partake in a world of watersports on the famous beaches, located only a couple miles away. Rev things up at the Myrtle Beach Speedway, or slow things down with a few rounds of golf on one of the many courses within minutes of our Myrtle Beach hotel. Just minutes away you will find some of Myrtle Beach's other great attractions such as the Cal Ripken Experience, Pirates Voyage, the Palace Theatre, Myrtle Waves, The Carolina Opry, and The Market Common. Take a trip back in time at the Pavilion Nostalgia Park next door for a taste of Myrtle Beach's past. Ask the friendly team at our Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway at the Beach hotel for more tips on the area as we are committed to exceeding your expectations. For pleasure, adventure, or relaxation, come down soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ The Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hampton Broadway Beach Inn
Myrtle Beach Hampton Inn Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing