We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think about it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Beach Club Resort
Ranked #125 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed 6 days,only because we paid in advance. The room was terribly dated,filthy,and nothing worked properly. The maid came in and threw towels on the table and that was all she did. I asked her to make the bed and was told that they only do that if they want to. I told her that it was made the first day and she said that the other girl must have wanted do it. No one touched the room again until I asked them to PLEASE cleane the tub. She sprayed cleaner in it and that was all she did. Our anniversary has been ruined. Do Not Waste Your Money.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia65Maybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

The resort itself could use a some sprucing up, when we first arrived one of the elevators was down and it took us about 30 minutes to finally get everything to our condo. It was fixed the next day. The smell from the garbage compacter was disgusting. There was also several palmetto bugs (aka roaches) around the outside areas. The worst of it though was the drains in the bathrooms, you couldn't even take a shower without getting ankle deep water. The condo itself was extremely nice and very well maintained...kudos to the owners of 926. As far as CONDOLUX rentals went, the rates they gave were very good but don't expect any help with unforeseen issues. Our car had to go into the shop on the day of departure and they had no sympathy to help us with the delay getting out & the keys back. They told us to take a bus back to drop off our keys (with 2 kids and all our lugguage). I only asked to stay an extra to get our car back. Other than that the location is great, the staff at Sands is friendly and the pool is awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sueki3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Sands Beach Club is a building of privately owned condo and timeshare units. The condition of the condo you book is a reflection of the owners. They range from very good to not so good. We have stayed in units 228 and 115 over the years and found them to above average, and we have had few problems. However, if there are issues, they should be relayed to rental company so they can be addressed. This build is also confusing in that there are several companies managing the rental units. We used Smith Rentals. The on site company at least for the summer is Island Resorts, but they will not help anyone that they do not directly rent to. There is also a TimeShare office on the first floor, that can answer questions, but they only deal with timeshares. All that said, the property is at the end of the road, has a great location right on the beach, is close to Ocean Annies Beach Bar, has tennis courts, exercise room, basketball, and swiming pools inside and outside. If you get a good condo, I think you will enjoy the place. At least we have over the years, including summer of 2012.

Room Tip: As I mentioned in review we have stayed in 228 and 115 over the years, we request these when we go b...
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank picker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We arrived late and had no linens for the pull out couch...called about this and the staff said sorry we can't help you tonight. The condo looked like or was decorated in the 80s and had not been touched since. There was a dirty stained pair of men's underwear in the corner of the master bedroom. The microwave and the coffee maker did not work. We asked to be moved to the sands resort for the remainder of the stay and were moved, but had to waste an entire day of vacation moving our stuff. Don't waste your money, there are many other nice places in myrtle beach to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

This place was a huge part of my childhood and is one of my favorite places. Every year since I was born I have gone to this hotel with my extended family and spent the week in myrtle beach. The staff is very friendly the pool is awesome, it's right on the beach, the tennis courts are awesome and they are very relaxed. I will never forget going down with my aunt and uncle to play football on the beach at 11:45 at night.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airfloyd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We were assigned unit 1019, checked in and stayed exactly 20 minutes. The place is a total dump. Sofa was torn and stained, the carpeting was old and dirty, the entire condo smelled of smoke and mold, several cabinets in the kitchen were broken and did not close. This unit is in sorry need of renovation and should not be rented. The resort was nice and refunded our money on the spot, no questions asked.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa_W_11767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My friend and I just spent a week there. After seeing photos on-line I was expecting, at least, a nice, clean, condo. What we got was a dirty, falling apart, in need of renovating, condo. There might have been pretty, and clean condos in the complex, but we didn't get one of those. Everything was dated, walls needed painting, inside closets and bathroom cabinets were awful. One hairdryer was broken, the other one kept falling off the wall, holder wasn't bolted in. Ice maker didn't work, one toilet leaked, sofas dirty looking, carpet needed cleaning, shower rod fell on my head first day. One bathtub would barely drain. Plastic chairs on balcony were dirty, table stained. Only good part was view was nice and the location for shopping and restaurants was good. The owner should be made to renovate this condo before renting it again. I wasn't going to spend my one week at the ocean tracking down the condo rental people to come check out my complaints, since I'm sure they wouldn't have anyway. We made the best of it, left it better than we found it and I decided to read carefully reviews in the future, and probably go back to Destin where I've rented some good, beautiful condos. I felt betrayed and embarassed for taking a friend into that situation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Grapejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Carolina Winds
Carolina Winds
#50 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Sands Ocean Club Resort
#137 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,000 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,020 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Club Resort

Address: 9400 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5126
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £66 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Beach Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Club Resort is a multi-level, mixed use resort property, meaning that some units are owned in whole, year round by owners and some are owned by timeshare owners and managed by a board of directors. To offer potential guests the most accurate information please include the unit number in your review. As a mixed use property the units can vary in their decor, housekeeping and maintenance. All guests have access to all the resort amenities such as the indoor pool, outdoor pools, grill area, tennis courts, basketball courts and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sands Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Beach Club Myrtle Beach
Sands Beach Hotel Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing