We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Beach Club Resort
Ranked #118 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Hopatcong, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just returned from vacation and I felt a need to write a review. First of all, we were not notified that the restaurants/bars had closed. We might of opted to stay somewhere else. And now for the unit. The room was in major need of renovations. The popcorn ceiling was cracked and looked like pieces were about to fall, the kitchen cabinets were in need of repair, the refrigerator had rust stains on the outside, we found popcorn kernels on our master bedroom rug, the windows were dirty and also had white power on the sills. The blankets did not smell like they had been washed. The bathroom shower caulking was black with mold and so was the shower curtain liner. (Unit 1115). The cleaning of the unit was not up to par at all. The location of the resort, however, we enjoyed. Next to the inlet and less quiet than elsewhere on Shore Drive. It's really a shame really, but this place needs help.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    73
    22
    34
    51
See reviews for
143
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milledgeville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was extremely disappointed and feel like the pictures completely misrepresent reality. The place needs completely gutted and redone. My kids wanted to leave! Beach view was nice but neither of the balcony doors locked. Shower curtain had mold on the inside, beds were horrible, blankets were ripped and torn, unknown stains on the carpet to the point we all wore our shoes inside the room. Had there been a way to get my money back and go find another hotel I would have done so. We tried to make the best of it and spent as much time on the beach and out of the room as possible but it was still a bad experience. When we arrived, we went to the lobby to find a sign on the door that said to go to a different hotel down the road to check in . . . that was the first sign! The place is just run down, old and not at all modern. They actually had tv's that I haven't seen in years and everything was cramped to the point you couldn't even use the table because there wasn't even enough room to pull the chairs out to sit in without moving the couch. Whoever took the marketing pictures for this hotel was a genius because they made it look fantastic and it was a complete dump!

Room Tip: Beach view was great but choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sandibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We paid too much money to spend our vacation with roaches. The room was dated, musty, dirty, offered a minimal view of the beach. (Unit 511)We were going to try to make the best of it that we could. But when the sun went down and we saw a couple of roaches, it was time to pack up and make other arrangements. To be fair the resort staff was sympathetic to our situation and put us in the Sands Ocean Club, which was newer and cleaner, but I will review it separate. I wouldn't advise anyone to book your vacation here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Hello,
We are very sorry you were disappointed with your experience. We do everything we can to keep the palmetto bugs away! They are very hard to completely get rid of as they are so common in this area. We are glad you were moved to Sands Ocean Club and hope you a had a great rest of your vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Had to book because very little inventory to choose from. Ocean front is nice and well lit. Building is old and not updated. No W/D in unit, had to use washer/dryer (one) in hallway. It works in a pinch but have no intention of returning. It's retro from lack of updating, not modernized retro.

Room Tip: If you can't find a place, this place will do, but otherwise, I'd keep looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MG753437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Yes we realize, we are not the most updated hotel. We have gradually been trying to remodel! We hope that you will try one of our other resorts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We booked our vacation here June 9-15 2013 after staying here before and had a wonderful experience. We arrived to find we had to go to Ocean Club to receive our room keys. Back at the Beach Club, we loaded all our stuff and arrived in our room to find it was a smoking room; which we did not request. The headboard in the second bedroom kept falling off the wall; the lamps in the bedroom would not work. Pictures on the wall were broken and just hanging there. The couches were ripped and stained; footprints in the kitchen floor and glasses in the cabinet were left with lip prints on them. We quickly called the front desk and was told someone would be with us shortly. Hour later, and three phone calls, we called them and told them we were packing our stuff and would be there in 5 minutes. The Ocean club had one room available, not ocean front as we had booked. We were allowed to preview the room before we agreed to it. This room was much smaller than we originally booked, but was do able. Our second day, after coming back from the beach, there had been no room service so we had to call downstairs for towels and toilet paper. When we returned back to our room that evening, there still had not been room service. The next morning, we put all our dirty towels outside the room for room service. Upon returning, we found a huge bag with towels, kitchen necessities, toilet paper, soap, etc. tied to our door handle for us to put in our room. The third and fourth day, towels were left, only one bed was made and a vacuum was never run. Was very disappointed as we have enjoyed out stay before and loved the location. The hotel did comp us one night stay, but after this experience, we will be looking for a new hotel in this area next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Hello,
We are so sorry you had a poor experience! We are glad you contacted a manager on duty and were able to be compensated. We hope that next time you will look at some of our other properties like Sand Dunes Resort. Could you inbox us the name the room was booked under so we can take a look at the room and fix?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the beach club from June 2 until June 9, 2013. We have stayed here six of the last seven years. no staff onsite at this location anymore. If you need help you have to go to the ocean club up the street. We did not recieve a room on the lower floors as requested months before. They told us upon check-in that they could not give anything lower than the tenth floor. My wife is not good with heights, so was not able to use balcony(not good). Room was not in as good condition as in the past. I did not receive anything at check-in for the lunches, water park or adventure cruise. This meant another walk back to Ocean Club for more help. Staff seemed to be uninformed. I did speak with manager after returning home and he apoligized and did make an adustment to my bill. We love this area of the beach, but will probably try to find another place to stay next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
We are so sorry you had a poor experience! We are glad you were able to speak with a manager while you were here! We hope that you will try Sands Ocean Club next time. Sorry for the inconveniences. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora
Level Contributor
173 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is our third year staying at the Sands Beach Club Resort.
The location is great - at the end of quiet Shore Drive just a short drive from Kroger and Restaurant Row.

The semi-private beach is great - it was only crowded on our last couple of days. And of course you can't beat the view.

There are activities for kids, but ours our too old - I hope they continue with the the activities, though.

But the Sands is looking tired. The room we were in (1017) was clean enough, but it lacked decoration and the bathrooms lacked any storage (pedestal lavs look nice, but nothing beats a cabinet for storage).

The bed sagged seriously in the center, but we shoved a couple of pillows in there and it was better.

The balcony light was also broken, despite several calls for repair.

The housekeeping staff came every day and asked if we needed anything - which was welcome.

The restaurant/bar was closed (permanently, I think) and there is no longer a front desk presence. We needed to go to the Sands Ocean Club to check in and out.

It wouldn't take too much to spruce up the place - one room at a time.

If we vacation to Myrtle Beach again, we may not stay at the Sands again.

Room Tip: Choose an end unit if possible. You get a little extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DGeorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate your feedback! As you have mentioned, we are doing things to improve the aesthetics little by little- as there is a lot to do. We hope to improve on many of the issues you pointed out. Our Sand Dunes property is the most updated property. We hope you choose to stay with us again, or one of our other 5 properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
1.5 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#21 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation
Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation
#48 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Sands Ocean Club Resort
#134 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
948 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
#150 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Club Resort

Property: Sands Beach Club Resort
Address: 9400 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Beach Club Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Club Resort is a multi-level, mixed use resort property, meaning that some units are owned in whole, year round by owners and some are owned by timeshare owners and managed by a board of directors. To offer potential guests the most accurate information please include the unit number in your review. As a mixed use property the units can vary in their decor, housekeeping and maintenance. All guests have access to all the resort amenities such as the indoor pool, outdoor pools, grill area, tennis courts, basketball courts and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Beach Club Myrtle Beach
Sands Beach Hotel Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing