We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands Beach Club Resort
Ranked #124 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My friends & I stayed in a time share unit in the building in the back by the tidal creek. Maybe the building is newer than the ones right on the ocean, because we had a very nice unit. Everything was updated and clean. Several other reviews mentioned carpet that need cleaning, but we had hardwood floor throughout. I had a wonderful time beachcombing & brought home so many shells.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mootsy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiddenpond, Manager at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

So nice of you to comment on your recent stay. It appears you were in one of our Phase I timeshare units as we have recently replaced all of the flooring in those units. They have been renovated with brand new kitchens and new couches will be arriving this spring. We hope to have you return soon!
Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is a very "nice" property. We stayed here over Labor Day. We liked the location of the hotel. The beach is wonderful and it is huge. The units have everything you need. The beds are comfortable. The units are clean. However, the carpeting needs cleaned. And, the furniture is a little dated. But, with such a beautiful beach and warm ocean....who really cares. It definitely met our needs. If you have problems then the handyman is right on it. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I'm a timeshare customer, so perhaps we got the best of their units. Ours was not too bad: a 2 bed, 2 bath apartment in building #2 right on the water, on the second floor. The lower floors, it seems, have the better units. The unit was definitely dated, but it was very clean and everything worked. A sign on the door said carpets had recently been replaced, and the microwave looked new also. Everything else is 20 years old. With a good renovation, this would be a great sell: the 2 bedroom unit has nice floor and ceiling trim, a balcony with gorgeous ocean views and is just steps to the beach. The building's lobby area is also dated-looking and dying for an upgrade. Apparently Building 1 is awful: we did not get to see it, but it's not on the water so I'm not sure why anyone would want to stay there anyway, with all the other waterfront options in this town.

There are no restaurants and bars nearby, but for this family that was a plus: it kept the Myrtle Beach mardi gras vibe far away. The town has plenty of food and entertainment on offer: you just have to drive to it. It's about a mile away from Kings Hwy where all the action is.

The best thing the place has going for it is it's location: at the very end of the quiet end of Myrtle Beach, it is never overcrowded even in August. A little inlet/tide pool on the edge of the property swells and ebbs with the tide, offering shallow waters for small children and fun fishing. Having that plus the beach is a huge bonus. We had a fun week here.

Room Tip: Insist on building 2 on the water and get a room on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiddenpond, Manager at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

We've read your comments and thank you for taking the time to review your timeshare unit. All the Phase II timeshare units are furnished the same and the only difference between floors is a slightly higher/lower view of the ocean. All of our furnishings are updated on a five year plan. This year we are concentrating on new couches and carpeting. Our phase I units have just been completed updated with brand new kitchens, crown molding, chair rails, etc. Though they are not ocean front they have a delightful side view of the ocean as well as the marsh, pool and inlet.
Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just returned from vacation and I felt a need to write a review. First of all, we were not notified that the restaurants/bars had closed. We might of opted to stay somewhere else. And now for the unit. The room was in major need of renovations. The popcorn ceiling was cracked and looked like pieces were about to fall, the kitchen cabinets were in need of repair, the refrigerator had rust stains on the outside, we found popcorn kernels on our master bedroom rug, the windows were dirty and also had white power on the sills. The blankets did not smell like they had been washed. The bathroom shower caulking was black with mold and so was the shower curtain liner. (Unit 1115). The cleaning of the unit was not up to par at all. The location of the resort, however, we enjoyed. Next to the inlet and less quiet than elsewhere on Shore Drive. It's really a shame really, but this place needs help.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was extremely disappointed and feel like the pictures completely misrepresent reality. The place needs completely gutted and redone. My kids wanted to leave! Beach view was nice but neither of the balcony doors locked. Shower curtain had mold on the inside, beds were horrible, blankets were ripped and torn, unknown stains on the carpet to the point we all wore our shoes inside the room. Had there been a way to get my money back and go find another hotel I would have done so. We tried to make the best of it and spent as much time on the beach and out of the room as possible but it was still a bad experience. When we arrived, we went to the lobby to find a sign on the door that said to go to a different hotel down the road to check in . . . that was the first sign! The place is just run down, old and not at all modern. They actually had tv's that I haven't seen in years and everything was cramped to the point you couldn't even use the table because there wasn't even enough room to pull the chairs out to sit in without moving the couch. Whoever took the marketing pictures for this hotel was a genius because they made it look fantastic and it was a complete dump!

Room Tip: Beach view was great but choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sandibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We paid too much money to spend our vacation with roaches. The room was dated, musty, dirty, offered a minimal view of the beach. (Unit 511)We were going to try to make the best of it that we could. But when the sun went down and we saw a couple of roaches, it was time to pack up and make other arrangements. To be fair the resort staff was sympathetic to our situation and put us in the Sands Ocean Club, which was newer and cleaner, but I will review it separate. I wouldn't advise anyone to book your vacation here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hello,
We are very sorry you were disappointed with your experience. We do everything we can to keep the palmetto bugs away! They are very hard to completely get rid of as they are so common in this area. We are glad you were moved to Sands Ocean Club and hope you a had a great rest of your vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Had to book because very little inventory to choose from. Ocean front is nice and well lit. Building is old and not updated. No W/D in unit, had to use washer/dryer (one) in hallway. It works in a pinch but have no intention of returning. It's retro from lack of updating, not modernized retro.

Room Tip: If you can't find a place, this place will do, but otherwise, I'd keep looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MG753437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Yes we realize, we are not the most updated hotel. We have gradually been trying to remodel! We hope that you will try one of our other resorts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Carolina Winds
Carolina Winds
#49 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Sands Ocean Club Resort
#137 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,000 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,026 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Club Resort

Address: 9400 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5126
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £65 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Beach Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Club Resort is a multi-level, mixed use resort property, meaning that some units are owned in whole, year round by owners and some are owned by timeshare owners and managed by a board of directors. To offer potential guests the most accurate information please include the unit number in your review. As a mixed use property the units can vary in their decor, housekeeping and maintenance. All guests have access to all the resort amenities such as the indoor pool, outdoor pools, grill area, tennis courts, basketball courts and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sands Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Beach Club Myrtle Beach
Sands Beach Hotel Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing