We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think I have bed bugs from this hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Beach
Ranked #179 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Okay, this hotel wasn't anything fancy, but it seemed alright. I stayed last weekend, from Friday to Monday. I liked the balcony, it was nice to be oceanfront and the pool area was great. Initially, upon entering the room, I was like...okay, it's alright. I didn't find it to be dirty necessarily, just old.

So we left, it was fine...and then two days ago I woke up with bites all over my back, arms and shoulders. I've never had bed bugs, but sometimes they take several days to appear, or so google tells me. I have yet to see the bugs themselves, but who just wakes up with itchy bites for no apparent reason? I'm not so sure since no one else seems to have had this problem according to the reviews, but this is the only way I can think of how I may have contracted them.

I'm not trying to give a bad name to this hotel, but there is a good chance this is where I got them. Just be cautious. I wish I would have read something like this beforehand. I would have reconsidered. I'm praying it is something else, but I'm about 90% sure these are bed bug bites.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mara029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

In town for the cheerleading nationals. Place was full but didn't detract from their detail to service. The rooms are clen and beds are great. We did have an issue with a bed but the manager got it fixed with in 20 min and we all got checked in. The house keeper was great to help out in the morning as one of our kids got sick in the night, thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have stayed here many times with no problems. The last time I was there on Mar 12 there was an Econo lodge sign over the Comfort Inn sign. Usually a sign that things are going down hill.
The room and service was pretty much the same as usuall, but the breakfast did not include eggs and sausage like before.
I do like this place due to the freindly service , large parking lot. and location, and have always had a good stay..
Hope they do keep the place up after this change.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highmiles61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stay 12/11/13. Best thing about this hotel is checking out. First room bed was not even made. they gave us a another room: three inch tear in sofa and sofa was broken down, tear in lamp shades, extension cord used to plug in loud noise fridge,coffee pot and lamp. Fridge so loud it drowned out the TV and had to place a carboard under it to level it. Carpet with stains thoughout. Bath matt glued to tub floor and black tarry stuff oozed out from under it. the exterior doors had gaps in them allowing noise, light and bugs in. Wall plugs were loose in wall. Coffee table with nicks and goudges in it ect, cabinet with TV had draw mech missing or broken so draws would not line up or shut properly.. LARGE inch size BUG ran across end table in am..... Scary place, stay away, Stay at Carribean for an extra $20.00 /night get king size bed, kitchen, indoor lazy river,hot tub, pool wonderful clean room, BUG free, and treated like a king

Room Tip: stay away from this one......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The staff at this hotel was alright, however the motel was rundown and very dirty. I would not recommend this place. It needs renovation in the worst way. The carpet and luggage racks were heavily damaged from wear. The room and shower were not cleaned properly, there was mildew in the corners of the shower and debri under the bed.

Room Tip: There are none
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We decided to take a short two day get-away to the beach. This location exceeded our expectations. It's right on the beach, and easy access to everything. Our pulse was to just relax and view the ocean!

Room Tip: Request an ocean front room, the staff is very accommodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Off season rates I think. Older property, and a little worn in spots, but clean and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. Great location, on the water, view of the ocean from my balcony. Restaurants and attractions are close by.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffB835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#144 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
707 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#108 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#95 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
53 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#131 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Beach Inn
Aqua Beach Inn
#45 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Beach

Address: 601 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4480 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Beach Front Central)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £36 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Beach Front Central
Comfort Inn & Suites Beach Front Central Hotel Myrtle Beach
Comfort Inn Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing