We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OCEANS ONE WILL NOT RENT TO LOCALS”
Review of Oceans One Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oceans One Resort
Ranked #34 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Oceans One Resort is horrible. I attempted to rent a room for a weekend stay in January 2011. I wanted to give the kids a fun weekend, swim in the indoor pool, etc. A nice getaway from the wintertime. However, I was told by Oceans One that they do not rent rooms to anyone that lives within 2 hours of the resort. I found this to be incredibly insulting. Locals aren't good enough for Oceans One? Their employees, local medical professionals, local law enforcement can't stay at their hotel? Oceans One should rethink this policy and allow locals to stay in the resort.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
6  Thank rgodbold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmoceansone, General Manager at Oceans One Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2011

About 90% of all hotels at the beach do not rent to locals. After being in the business for the last 30 years, It is the opinion that locals tend to hold parties in the motels they don't want at their home. One room is rented and all the friends show up to enjoy the facilities. Our resort is a vacation destination and we plan to keep it that way. Locals is not a protected class and we can choose who we rent to as long as we don't discriminate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2011

We've been to Myrtle Beach in November for 3 years now. It's the first year that we stayed to the Oceans One Resort. We enjoyed it so much, that, only after 2 weeks we arrived, we reserved for november 2011. The ratio quality versus price is unbelievable. It is cheaper that renting a campsite. The hôtel is almost new, something rare in Myrtle Beach. We think that as long we will be able to drive, our automn vacations are set.
The weather is around 70 degrees and we are surrounded with so many nice golf courses. Two of my kids might rent for 1 week next year for golfing.
Françoise et Pierre Gagné from St-Damien- Québec-Canada

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francoiseetpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I don't want to say that this entire place was terrible, but based on our stay in room 1906, it was the worst place I've ever stayed...anywhere! Some of the little things: the smaller br didn't have a light, the fitted sheet didn't stay on, the balcony was super tiny, the master didn't have an entrance to the balcony, the over all living space was pretty small (narrow). Those issues weren't extremely important, but cleanliness is a must and this place was disgusting. Our door had bags of trash directly in front of the entrance when we first arrived...no big deal we thought, but it was just the beginning of what was the dirtiest stay I've ever experienced. While we were there we had to call about our toilet (which wasn't even attached to the floor). Our light bulbs were burnt out and the batteries died in 2 of the 3 remotes we had. In addition, our fridge door wouldn't shut completely and our kitchen cabinets had mouse droppings in them. I could go on and on, but I think you get the point. The grounds seem to have been kept up well enough, but I couldn't imagine them allowing someone to check into our room in the condition it was when we got there. We left it much cleaner than when we checked in simply because we could't stay a week in that filth.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KLMC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmoceansone, Manager at Oceans One Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2011

Oceans one has 3 rooms that are not managed by us. The owners of these units have decided to use another rental company and this review is a result of that. 1906 is not under our management, meaning we do not rent this room, service it or do maintenace on it. We reccommend that you only rent through oceans one and not an off site agency renting these three rooms. thanks gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Ocean's One was great. Good value, nice rooms, nice pool, great location. I would go back today if I could.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treksapekul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We have been coming to Myrtle Beach for over 40 years and without a doubt Oceans One is the best of any of the places we haved stayed ---- friendly staff, excellent clean facilities and reasonably priced. Oceans One was voted "Best on the Beach for 2010" and quite deservingly so.

We had a two bedroom #01 which was clean, well furnished, well equiped with a great kitchen for those who like to cook and also had a handy washer and dryer in the unit. The views were spectacular and waking up to the sunrise over the ocean every morning is hard to beat. The king size beds were comfortable and clean.

Oceans One has great pool facilities (indoor & outdoor pools, lazy river and kid's pool) We preferred the the outdoor pool which was heated even in November. There is an exercise room with several pieces of equipment available for guests.

We definitely recommend Oceans One and have already reserved for November 2011. As a matter of fact , we have introduced Oceans One to family and friends who will be joining us next November.

G&B

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farnorth50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

The accomadations were terrific. The staff was always pleasant and helpful which made our stay a real joy. The pool provided entertainment for the children and was always warm and well kept. We will return to this resort often.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

This was our first extended stay in one location, we got to meet many of the other guests in the coffee room. The pool and hot tubs were very warm and not crowded. Very safe location, good parking , staff always just a phone call and would respond within minutes .
I have and do recommend this hotel to anybody who want to stay in a quiet , clean location.
From.....Fredericton New-Brunswick ..Canada

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenandPierrette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,267 reviews
2.1 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#11 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceans One Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans One Resort

Address: 102 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4049
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £71 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceans One Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oceans One Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans 1 Resort
Oceans One Hotel Myrtle Beach
Oceans One Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing