We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Yachtsman Rocks”
Review of Yachtsman Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yachtsman Resort
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Yachtsman Rocks”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed in the "Penthouse" suite with a southern exposure. The ocean is right there and there's an indoor pool. Absolutely magnificent! It's THE place to stay at when in Myrtle Beach. We love it there and our place to stay of choice.

Room Tip: I love it it is high up as possible. Either a northern or southern view is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeffrey_Brandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    40
    29
    10
    31
See reviews for
59
46
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

A friend and I stayed at the Yachtsman just over a month ago. We were pleased to see the boardwalk finished which allowed us to visit the new and already existing businesses in that immediate area. Close to everything, the Yachtsman was also a very clean and very friendly place to stay. We had absolutely no complaints about anything.

Room Tip: Not sure that there are any bad rooms here....at least none that I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbumlegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Stayed for a few days at the Yachtsman Resort in Myrtle Beach.
Prime location! Could walk to everything that we wanted to and if we needed to drive, other attractions weren't that far.
The condo was average. It was clean, but could have used some updating. But, it is what you'd expect of an older condo building in a resort beach town.
Loved that the pools and hot tubs were still open while we were staying there and the beach was nice! And yeah, the balconies are step out only...but, it wasn't that bad.
I would stay here again. If you're into "no frills" accomodations and are used to true "resort" lodging, this place isn't so bad.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same. But try to get one away from the elevators and on a higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The location of the Yachtsman is only one of it's best features. Friendly staff. Sits in front of one of the best restaurants in Myrtle Beach, Pier 14. The brand new boardwalk begins right on the property. Awesome views of the beach, all units are oceanfront. Can see the all new Skywheel just a short walk away as well as all the other attractions. This is one of the first timeshare properties in MB and one of the oldest, but is well maintained, very clean, well stocked. Once you get settled in just about anything you could want is a short walk away. Of course there are many wonderful restaurants, shows, theaters and other attractions in the area. Overall a wonderful place to stay, and beautiful little beach town.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront, so just depends on the size of your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabbitt1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Just got home from a 4-night stay in the south tower on the 9th floor. Our room had a king bed in the bedroom (great for parents needing privacy since it had a door with a lock), a queen sleeper sofa in the living area and a set of bunk beds built inside of a little cubby area (perfect for small kids). Probably the biggest disappointment is the balcony, its literally only big enough to step out on. I was really wanting to sit out there and enjoy the perfect breeze, but it did offer a screened sliding door so we used that to cool the room & turned off the a/c. The wind blowing off the ocean felt wonderful!! The king bed was big, but very hard & uncomfortable!! And I am not one to complain at all but my back was so sore when I woke up every morning! My teens used to sleeper sofa & said it wasn't too bad but still hard. On a positive note the room was very clean & the kitchen has everything you need - even a measuring cup & can opener! The room we were in had an oceanfront view & when you walked out the front door you could view the strip which was pretty cool. I probably would not go back b/c the balcony is a deal breaker for me but its an okay hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kedeslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Our first time in Myrtle Beach beach, we won this week in a studio apt. in a charity auction. The Yachtsman received mixed reviews in TripAdvisor, so we didn't know what to expect. It was early May and off season, so the area was very quiet. The exterior from the road as we approached was not attractive. It is definitely an older property - one of the first on the beach. During the week we stayed, they were painting the exterior so it now has fresh paint. We stayed in the North Tower on the ninth floor, recommended by one of the staff in the office. The elevators work well and are quite fast. The view was wonderful. Pelicans soar by the windows! The apt. was very clean, fairly well equipped and attractive. The balconies are only large enough to stand on, but great for ventilation. The bed next to the window/balcony was comfortable. There was a spectacular lightning storm the first evening. A new boardwalk begins in front of the place and was fun to travel. Just below us, the Pier 14 restaurant offers early bird specials (good food). The first floor game room has coupons for all other attractions. We did not use the pool since it was off season, but an indoor pool at the neighboring Glass Tower allows Yachtsman guests in. It was small, but looked fine. The Yatchsman is situated directly on the beach and you can walk for miles in either direction. We did some surf casting and shelling.The water was warm by New England standards and we got wet, others were swimming. There were lifeguards and chairs for rent on the beach. The area around the pool was nice for sun bathing. There were laundry facilities in the North Tower on the first floor. All The staff were friendly and helpful, and seemed to enjoy their workplace. Parking was in a covered garage across the road. Drop off/ unloading parking was ample. There were a couple of themed gift shops, snack bars and a horrendous (to me, not to my grand kids) amusement ride across the road. But we heard no noise at all in our cozy room. There were dept. and food stores within walking distance, even a public library! We would happily return, but again in the off season.

Room Tip: I would pick the North Tower in an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The place was very clean and all units face the ocean. The staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants and things to do and gave us coupons for discounts. Free unlimited beach towels. Two pools and walk out to the ocean. Lots of activities and golf and mini golf. Great place for family vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the bedroom facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JETK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#121 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#137 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
#86 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#78 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yachtsman Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yachtsman Resort

Property: Yachtsman Resort
Address: 1304 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3759 (Formerly The Yachtsman by EVRentals)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yachtsman Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Yachtsman Resort has been a "home away from home" for several owners and visitors. The Yachtsman's great location, helpful staff, and fun activities have helped build many vacation memories and friendships for nearly 30 years. It's more than a resort, it's an icon - of family, fun, and fellowship ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yachtsman Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yachtsman Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing