We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smallest Timeshare I've Ever Seen”
Review of Yachtsman Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yachtsman Resort
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here buying a week through a timeshare exchange company, NOT a trade. The location can't be beat if you want to stay on the Myrtle Beach Boardwalk with all the Bubba's revving their trucks alongside the Bikers revving their bikes. Wow--the noise at night was deafening and the Boardwalk was packed every night. I was speechless at the people watching...

Check In was easy and we were in the North Tower, 6th floor, which was supposedly renovated and away from the noise. Yeah, right. I would suggest trying to go for the top floor if you want to be away from the street noise that went on all night. We ran the AC fan in "On" mode to try to blot out the noise and were unsuccessful. One bad thing I should note is that the entrance door is exterior and recessed into a dark, unlighted opening which was scary at night. It seemed very unsafe and could easily hide an attacker.

While the unit was fully equipped it was a Lilliputian facsimile of a typical timeshare. I returned to the desk and asked if there were bigger units available and the young lady did not even check. She said they were full, although the vacancy light was lit. The balcony was a "French" balcony, about a foot wide, so you could not even stand on it, much less sit.

The main room had a 4 top table, a chair, a kitchenette, and a combo sofa/murphy bed. There was a full bath with a jetted tub and a small bedroom which basically was as big as the full size bed it contained. That had a pocket door which we did not use because it would have been too claustrophobic. There was NO shampoo or conditioner in the bathroom, only bar soap. We asked at the front desk and they do not provide it. They directed us to a nearby store. This is unheard of, anymore. We had not packed any because we have not stayed in a timeshare or hotel in a good 15 years that did NOT provide these items!

This "resort" consists of 2 towers with a totally separate establishment (Seaglass) between them. Parking is across the street in a surface lot and 2 garages, one of which has an arm requiring a code to enter. Each tower has a pool, a kiddie wading pool, a hot tub, loungers, and gas grills which were exceedingly dirty. Check in is at the South Tower while the Activities Office is at the North Tower.

The Murphy bed was a bit lumpy. The full size bed was flat but very firm. The chair was very dirty and I would not sit in it. The rest of the unit was clean but very dated and shabby. The renovation consisted of a new stove and dishwasher. There was a flat screen in the big room and the secondary room.

I was amazed to talk with people who had been coming here since it was built. There are so many nicer timeshares out there! I would only stay here again if the price was very cheap (cheaper than what I paid, which was $65/night) or I just wanted a "fix" of noise and wild people.

Room Tip: Higher floors should have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Labpyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Yachtsman is located right on the Boardwalk. Breath taking views. Comfortable beds. Games/Activities for the whole family. Outdoor & indoor pools & hot tubs. On site laundry. Near by resturants like Pier 14,which is famous for their "Shark Bites", Banditos Mexican Resturant, and many more all within walking distance. Convience Stores within less than a mile. When you stay @ the Yachtsman, you're staying with family.

Room Tip: The rooms that have bedrooms in the front can be a little noisy on weekends and especially during Bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank beachloverfrva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I read all kinds of reviews about the Yachtsman before we left for our trip so I wasn't sure how it would really be. My friend had rented the cutter room thru a friend that owns a timeshare there. We had one bed a pull out sofa. For 2 adults the size of the room was fine, but I would not recommend this size room for 3 or 4 people. It had a nice size kitchen for an efficiency and was stocked nicely including a dishwasher and blender. The work staff was AWESOME and if you needed anything it would be delivered to your room ASAP. We stayed on the seventh floor in the building that had be recently up dated. We had a great view of the ocean and beach. We knew ahead of time the balcony was standing room only. The only thing that we found bothersome was the sound of the air conditioner unit. It was extremely noisy!! And at night you would really notice it. Otherwise my friend and I would recommend this resort. It's close to everything from the beach, to entertainment.

Room Tip: As for the updated building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our second time staying here, and we will diffidently stay again! We booked a one night stay in a cheap hotel cause we never know how our daughter is going to feel. She has MS and is very heat sensitive! The next day we decided to stay a few more days and went to the Yachtsman to see if they had any rooms. They had some available and were so kind they let us check in at 11:30 so we wouldn't be with out a room cause of our daughter! The room was very clean, had everything you needed. A full kitchen with all utensils, nice flat screen TV. The staff was super nice! The pools were clean and the view was great! Location was awesome, within walking distance of everything! I would highly recommend it, and I know we will return in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amyius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I am giving this place a 3. The positives are the location on the beach and in town. The negatives really are the noise and the age of the facility. It's fairly clean, but definitely dated. It could stand a remodeling job with update to fixtures and carpeting. The location while a positive are also a negative. With outside hallways it is definitely noisy with street noise and people noise. Our 4 day stay was a great vacation, but the condition of the Yachtsman left a little to be desired.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The location of the Yachtsman is outstanding if you want to be where the action is. There is a restaurant across the street that serves delicious and reasonably priced breakfast. There is a pier directly in front of the resort with a restaurant also. The Yachtsman is located on the boardwalk, which is a great place to walk or just take you into the downtown area with small shops, restaurants, the Ferris wheel, and other attractions.
The room we had was VERY small but clean and was well kept. The bed literally took up the entire bedroom. There was a Murphy bed in the den. The kitchen wasn't full size. There was no balcony to sit on. BUT-- I enjoyed my visit! And it was oceanfront, so we opened the door to enjoy the breeze and listen to the surf. There is a parking deck a block away from the resort but we had no problem finding a spot. My final impression- this room was fine for 2 or 3 adults who are friends without any drama. If active children or moody adolescents were added to the mix you would be miserable due to the lack of privacy and space.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Goodtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Pros: Location! Short walking distance to some of Myrtle Beach's great attractions, like the Sky Wheel; Easy access to the boardwalk; Super helpful staff; clean rooms, very well stocked kitchen (plates, silverware, cups, cooking tools and pots and pans..); Great beach views; short walk to Pier 14 Restaurant; short driving distance to Broadway on the Beach, the Outlets, Barefoot Landing, and more; Great flat screen TV upgrades, lots of channels, DVD, and (small) additional TV in the bedroom; Lots of drawer space to store things, like under the bed, closets, in the living room, and kitchen; Great living room Murphy bed, both beds very comfortable; Grills! Outdoor grilling area, along with picnic tables by the pool; Outdoor pools also featured hot tub and shuffleboard area, right next door to the beach;

Cons: Wireless sucked, impossible to get logged on even with the resort password; Thin walls made for very noisy stay, cars, people in the streets, making noise all night long; Limited Balcony space, you could barely stand on the balcony at all; 1 Bedroom condo had an over sized bed for the bedroom's actual size, made it nearly impossible to have luggage in the room; Indoor pool not worth it, very small and too many chemicals that made it difficult to breathe;

Overall, our family of 3 enjoyed our stay very much and would 100% recommend this place to others; Just keep in mind, it is outdated and not high luxury; It was a nice and comfortable place to stay for a small, not-picky family looking to enjoy the sights of Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marvin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Inn
Aqua Beach Inn
#43 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#69 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#141 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
557 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yachtsman Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yachtsman Resort

Address: 1304 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3759 (Formerly The Yachtsman by EVRentals)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £58 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yachtsman Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Yachtsman Resort has been a "home away from home" for several owners and visitors. The Yachtsman's great location, helpful staff, and fun activities have helped build many vacation memories and friendships for nearly 30 years. It's more than a resort, it's an icon - of family, fun, and fellowship ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Yachtsman Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yachtsman Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing