We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pit”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Diplomat Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Diplomat Motel
Ranked #114 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Pit”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I am shocked to have seen that this motel got a 53% rating, the place was disgusting! We found trash under the bed, broken chair for the table inside, rusty ceiling tracks for drop ceiling, tub didn't drain, at times bathroom light didn't want to go on, stained towels, stains on room darkening shades, bug on bed and in bathroom (not sure what kind but still gross), WiFi didn't work unless we sat at the pool or in front of the office, and last but not least the grounds were littered with trash.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom7264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    31
    10
    6
    25
See reviews for
37
31
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were first given a room that looked like a cell from hell on the bottom floor. Dark,dirty, gloomy, old and covered in mold.After complaining; we were given a ocean front room, which was better , but very run down and outdated. What furniture was in the room was falling apart. The bathroom faucets had mold all over them.The elevator sounded and felt like it was going to crash every time we had to use it. You really have to say a prayer before getting in.Service was terrible, maids does not come every day. The pool is in the parking lot, it's quite small ,but looks new. This place is so bad that we only used it to sleep. We felt very cheated with the price we had to pay .We had to go to another resort every day where our other family members was staying and spend every day with them........

Room Tip: No good tip for this palce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachladyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Corapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Warm greeting...friendly staff. Great value, and reasonably priced. The rooms are dated, but we had everthing we needed, tv, microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. When the coffee maker malfunctioned the staff brought another one promptly. It's close to everything and lots to do on the boardwalk. We'll be coming back!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We will never stay here again we founderstand a bug the first night in our bed and took to desk and they sent the terminex guy up. Next morning more bugs...little centapede things a large DeaD Roach and a Suringe NEEDLE under the bed!!!!!!! I do not want to know what was in it but there WAs stuff in it still. The lady was nice about it all but I was also bein tooo ooo nice to them . The week isnt over for us yet here so let's see what happens next
..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abmb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have to say this is the first time that TripAdvisor reviews let me down. This place was very sketchy! The only reason we stayed was because we had prepaid and it was just for one night. The room was old and very dingy. The beds appeared to be clean, but I seriously was afraid to look very close. The tub, sink and toilet were clean but there was mildew in various areas of the bathroom. The AC was a window unit in the wall and it was caked with built up dust and who knows what else. I never let my feet touch the carpet, kept my flip-flops on except in bed and in the shower. The motel description says the rooms have been upgraded, but our room definitely was not! The area surrounding the hotel is not very nice. We walked to a convenience store just a block away and walked right past a drug deal going on. I really didn't feel safe except for the fact that it was daylight and there were lots of people around. The motel is very close to the ocean and backs up to the Myrtle Beach Boardwalk which is very nice. Do yourself a favor, pay more and get a decent hotel! There are lots of other choices nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OccasionalTravlrinIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

If you love being near the beach for a good price thats the place to stay at. I had room 220 with a great ocean view and down the block from all the stores and last but not least board walk in the back it's good for the price you pay the only thing it needs is jest wifi other then that friendly staff loved it

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Manuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I had to cancel my reservation after viewing the room and the area, I would not put my worst enemy in this place. There are stains through out the rooms on the beds, walls, chairs. The rooms smells of like every type of smoke, cigarettes, weed, pipes, cigars, etc.. The curtains on the windows are less then paper thin outside can see right inside. Worst I've ever seen!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank McLeod40th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#77 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windsurfer Hotel
Windsurfer Hotel
#63 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#137 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
668 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#90 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Admiral Motor Inn
Admiral Motor Inn
#42 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diplomat Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Motel

Property: The Diplomat Motel
Address: 608 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3725
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Diplomat Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Diplomat Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing