We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #178 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The man at the front desk will take you money!! Make sure you get a receipt for EVERYTHING! If you're under 25 you pay a additional fee, which is understandable, but GET A RECEIPT! The girls in the office are amazing and sweet. Rooms where dirty but you get what you pay for I suppose. Just please, stay somewhere else if you can

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabrielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    22
    32
    25
    99
See reviews for
72
48
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Was looking for an affordable pet friendly hotel on the beach over the 4th of July. I paid almost $800.00 for five nights and this is what I got:
dressers missing knobs, broken cabinets that do not shut, cockroaches in the room, garbage and vomit in the common areas, holes in the walls in the room, mold in the shower knob, stains and cigarette burns on the sheets and towels, dog area infested with cigarette butts and litter(bags to dispose of dog waste were empty and never filled the entire trip) and fence used as a clothes line, gang related sayings carved in elevator wall, names carved in hotel room wall, house-keeping smokes in the hall way outside rooms and uses grocery shopping carts for their cleaning supplies (towels here are impossible to come by- had to request them everyday and half the time didn't get them or housekeeping), cracked/broken air conditioners(the one in our room sounded like a lawnmower), threatening letter to tow our car in the hotel parking lot if we didn't park in the lower garage when we were told to park on upper and lower was for overflow, caution tape on railing holes all over property, Tub was clogged and carpets were dirty/sticky. Lastly, the room reaked of a chemical smell. Beware! Look at you room and the hotel before you sign their no refund waiver. You will be stuck like me especially if its a holiday weekend. Unless you are willing to forfeit your vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I was extremely disappointed. I didn't mind how outdated the check in area was. When we got up to the room it took several attempts to get in the room. The room was even worse. Hair in the bed, dirty washcloth in the shower, hair in the shower, stains on the bed the list is endless! I was mad at first but after deciding it was too nasty for our family to stay we packed up our car and drove 4 hours back home. We were refunded our money. I truly feel sorry for this hotel. Get it together and get it cleaned up!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KimberlyG02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Do NOT stay here if you have any sense. I made the mistake of staying here about a year ago when it was the Econo Lodge as a Choice Priviledge Member. To say the least, it was THE WORST mistake of my life. My reasons:
1. This hotel is infested with huge cockroaches (palmetto bugs)
2. The staff is beyond rude and helpless
3. The balcony doors are not sealed and will not shut completely
4. It was not a safe area or feeling at this hotel
We ended up having to trash half of our belongings due to the amount of roaches we found in our room. (They were crawling out of the nightstand). We were not about to take the chance of bringing them home with us.
Absolutely disgusting and unacceptable!!

We stayed at the Paradise Resort this year and it was a GREAT hotel! Absolutely recommended. Awesome prices, staff, amenities, rooms and very clean!!!! ;)

Room Tip: Choose a larger hotel with interior entrances. Even if the cost seems more, there are always deals g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I wouldn't touch this hotel again with a two foot pole or even recommend to a group of dirty college guys. Not only was there hair all over the bathroom, there was zero hot water! When I called customer service they just told me, " that's what happens with older hotels!" The room smelled awful, no privacy, half the lighting worked.
We knew full well we weren't getting a resort type stay based on the price we payed, but never expected what we would walk into! Gross- take better care of your facility!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwards2051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I came to town for Beach Blast... I searched everywhere for a hotel to stay at that would be safe and yet close to the event. This is the one I chose. I read tons of mixed reviews and was very hesitant about my choice. Upon arrival, Audrey was Super friendly!!! My daughter was feeling sick and wanted To lay down immediately... Not only did she check us in as soon as she could but offered us an even better room!!! So instead of being in a side view room, we checked into an ocean front room!!! We were elated!!!! The room was super clean!!!! The mini fridge was amazingly cold and the beds were super comfy!!! We ate the Continental Breakfast and I must brag about the waffles!!! They were sooo good!!
After checking out and returning home, we realized my daughter left the Minion toy her little brother gave her for the trip! I frantically called the hotel and not only did James R go to the room to look but he did it TWICE! Upon finding the Minion, he mailed it back to my son!!!! I can't ask for better service and a better room!!! I will definite stay here again and hopefully will have the chance to thank James R personally for making my little boy very happy!!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is an older hotel which has been painted up rather than a total remodel. If you are looking for a CLEAN low priced place to stay on the beach, It's for you. The location is great. It's about 5 blocks from the commercialized boardwalk. This section of the beach is more laid back. They have a nice pool & hot tub outside with a large lounging area. You can catch the city bus about 1/2 block in front of the hotel & it will pretty much take you anywhere you want to go. All of the staff is GREAT! They all are SO willing to help you with anything. They make you feel like a long time friend:-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pola59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#95 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
46 reviews
3.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#136 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Myrtle Beach-Grand Strand
Days Inn Myrtle Beach-Grand Stra...
#152 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
2.3 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#139 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
683 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#92 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites
Address: 1401 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4543 (Formerly Econo Lodge Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#98 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All guest checking in must be over the age of 25. We do not rent to locals. We do not rent to anyone that is checking in under the age of 25. Only 1 parking pass per reservation. We do not serve breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing