We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
Ranked #30 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was not our first trip to Breakers and we've stayed in many of their buildings.We love that we can walk to the boardwalk from the hotel as well as many other restaurants or stores. This trip we were in the Paradise tower in a 3BR OF suite and we really enjoyed it! The rooms have been renovated recently and the full kitchen was great for snacks and lunch breaks from the beach. It was also nice for the kids to have their own bedroom so we could get up in the mornings and head out to the balcony to enjoy the sunrise and sounds of the ocean without worrying about waking them up. I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Mandy B,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and for taking the time to write this review. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us! We would also like to thank you for your continued patronage. We look forward to continuing to serve you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,768
    1,125
    403
    248
    245
See reviews for
1,888
857
88
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,018)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I visited breakers and stayed in the paradise hotel. The new hotel is very nice and although we were upset about the pools being dug up and the VERY noisy construction we tried to make the best of it as we were on the 18th floor. Our last day we found out we didnt book a long enough stay so we had to get another room. They put us on the 5th floor of a much older building that was very outdated. In my opinion depending on what hotel they put you in can make or ruin your trip. Not only was everything outdated but it's off season and we paid 100.00 for the room. We can't even have our window open bc the construction is so loud. There is no chance of a nap when a jackhammer is going off. This is going to be a long and stressful day. Unfortunate all I wanted to do was listen to the waves.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DetroitBirdArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear DetroitBirdArt,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are very sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations nor our own. We strive to provide top notch service and the perfect vacation experience. We do hope that if you return to the Myrtle Beach area that you will give the Breakers Resort a second chance. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Joe Gibbons
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We love the many amenities available at the Breakers Resort from the Starbucks, The Wine tasting Bar, The Red Parrot bar & restaurant, Papas family restaurant, the store across the street, the awesome hottubs, indoor & outdoor pools, the Pirate ship for kids and the lazy river! Awesome for a family or romantic getaway!! We love it here and look forward to going back in June!

Room Tip: Love the Paradise Towers in cold weather, since you can go straight from the indoor pool/ hot tubs i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Karen C,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and taking the time to share your experience! We are excited to see that you experience was awesome and that you were able to take advantage of all that the Breakers has to offer. We look forward to being your home away from home whenever you visit the Myrtle Beach area! Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Don't count on early check-in. Everything else was wonderful. We were impressed with the rooms and amenities the resort offered. We stayed in the Paradise Tower because the indoor pools, lazy river and pirate ship are located in that tower. We also took advantage of the unlimited free dvd rentals, its like a little redbox kiosk. Also when you check-in you will be given 1 free ticket for about 4 different places, great money saver. Bottom line is you wont be dissapointed if you pick the Breakers.



Room Tip: Dont rely on early check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear June B,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you were able to take advantage of the great savings through our DVD NOW program. We look forward to your next visit where we hope to exceed your expectations. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at breakers for 3 nights in mid-march. Between a Cheer competition and spring break it was sold out. Had a 1 bed room ocean view suite in the paradise tower. My sheets had orange stains on them and pubic hair in shower and toilet. Although a no smoking room there were cig butts on balcony. Security had to change sheets and clean bathroom bc no one else is on call after 11. Security was great but they r not house keeping. They couldn't give us clean comforters bc the hotel didn't have anymore. By mid day the following afternoon I still didn't have a comforter on bed. I came in after dinner to smell that could only be described as septic tank back up and still no comforters. After several hours of trying to"solve" the problem I was told someone put dirty diapers in the trash can by room. The we're trying to move me, but one of the mangers Dave or Dan ( got them confused) accidentally gave it away. Again housekeeping not keeping up with their responsibilities. Front desk was accommodating n apologetic and gave me 2 nights free for the issues. I rather have paid n not had any problems. The beachfront location was great n plenty for my kids to do. I hope ownership reads this and understands that although it's a nice place for a getaway, saving a few bucks by not keeping a couple housekeeping staff members on call at night and having security do it will cost them in long run. This frugalness will make me consider another resort on my next trip down.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ciccior94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear ciccior94,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are very sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations nor our own. We strive to provide top notch service and the perfect vacation experience. We do hope that if you return to the Myrtle Beach area that you will give the Breakers Resort a second chance. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Joe Gibbons
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dandridge, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The room was nice and the the view was great..The service was really great ,me and my husband was very pleased with it . We will be returning in May and we are looking forward to going
the location and the motel was great..there is nothing bad to say about the motel

Room Tip: the room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Bryan M,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and for taking the time you share your experience with fellow travelers. We are thrilled to see that you stay with us was excellent! We look forward to you return trip this May and we hope to exceed you expectations! Thank you again and we will see you in May.

Joe Gibbons
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonville,ky
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

the kids enjoyed this place very much, it was clean & avery nice view from the 17th floor balony, the pools & lazy river was a hit with the kids & those hot tubs was a hit for Nana. the only little drawback for me was parking garage across the street, not enough handicap parking at the resort !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovingroadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear lovingroadtrips,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. We are thrilled to see that you and yours had a great time at the Breakers. We look forward to hosting your next family vacation and many more for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
4.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Property: The Breakers Resort
Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing