We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location, Location , Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Breakers Resort
Ranked #29 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
“Location, Location , Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Breakers is in the heart of everything and you can walk to every hot spot! We are definitely returning for future trips to Myrtle and will be staying at the Breakers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Housekeeping actually cleaned our dishes which was a nice surprise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krobme33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear krobme33,

It sounds like you and your family have found your home away from home!. We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us. Thank you for your comments, and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,733
    1,094
    373
    235
    237
See reviews for
1,824
832
86
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Love the pool upgrades, location is great; walking distance to everything, if not they'll call you a cab. Great family place. Third year there and there will be a fourth! I recommend staying in the Paradise; ocean view rooms. Love that

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Robin F,

Thank you very much for choosing The Breakers Resort, and for your comments. I am delighted to find that your family found a lot of value in our accommodations and amenities, in particular the Paradise Tower. We appreciate your 5-star recommendation, and hope to see your family again in the near future.

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed in the north tower. Didnt realize it until my wife called weeks before we arrived but we wanted a suite. Everything is backwards here compared to the main resort. The smaller pools, smaller dining rooms, slow elevators all should not be where the families are staying. Families are usually who stay in suites. Why give them the lower end items? We went down to the main resort and had a great time. The north tower is a mess compared to the main hotel. I will never stay at the north tower again. Staff was very courteous and helpful but the cleanliness of the hotel is an issue. The cleaning lady didnt clean or leave complimentary items (coffee,towels, or dishwasher soap) the first 3 days we were there. Finally a different lady on Thursday and she does her job. Way to go. The rooms were nice but the doors didnt lock, lights kept blowing, the bathroom exhaust fan worked but it didnt and the air ducts were so nasty it looked like mold on the walls/ceiling. The complimentary breakfast is nice in thought but whenthe staff doesn't pay attention to what food items are out it becomes a problem. This hotel has all the makings of being nice. Just poorly ran and maintained. A huge reno should be in the future.

Room Tip: Stay at the main resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matt041980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear matt041980,

We are truly saddened to hear about your poor experience at The Breakers Resort. These are not our standards by any means. Our housekeeping and food & beverage team is top-notch so I apologize that we fell short. I am not sure if you contacted the front desk but we would have been pleased to resolve the issues immediately. We do hope that you give The Breakers Boutique another chance for your next vacation. Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor.

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We were so excited when we saw the pictutes online. When we got there however we were disappointed. The reviews we read spoke of a very family friendly resort. Upon check in we heard loud rap music out back. We went to look and saw 100+ teenagers and 20 somethings packed into the small pool area dancing/grinding. They were drinking and rubbing up on each other. There were no families in the area as it looked like some college spring break. Very disappointed. This was not worth the price. They don't even offer room service; if you order something you have to go pick it up yourself. Never staying here again. I'll go back to the Hilton where your cost actually buys a good stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank drclark29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear drclark29,

I want to extend my deepest apologies for the negative experiences you had during your stay with us at The Breaker Resort. We pride ourselves on being one of the top family resorts in the Myrtle Beach area, and we apologize that we did not meet your standards. Although we do not offer room service, we do have an awesome bar and grill on site for you and your family to enjoy while getting a good view of the pools & ocean. Thank you for your feedback, as we use it to help make improvements for our future guests. We hope you return to The Breakers Resort with your family, and are able to enjoy all that we have to offer.

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosharon, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We booked this for a familiy vacation. It was right on the beach and was in good proximty to Broadway on the Beach as well as other attractions. There were some good points about this place such as the pool areas. The kids loved the lazy river and having such convenient access to the beach was a plus, but this is where my compliments end. 1st thing upon arrival to my room I saw sand on the carpet with an empty chip bag on the floor on the outside of my door. When I got in the room I saw chipped paint on the walls and patio which gave me a feeling that this room wasn't 100% clean or prepped adequately. 1 of the beds we had, had a brown stain in the sheet. We requested that they change it while we were gone only to be ignored and lied to. The concierge had some good deals on tickets to certain attractions but I could only purchase if I sat thru a resort sales pitch.Maybe my experience might've been better at their newest tower. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Thomas K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is very disappointing for me to receive a review like this. I understand that nothing is always perfect, but we truly do our best to deliver an excellent experience to each and every guest. I apologize about having a stain on your sheets and paint chipping on the balcony, these issues will be addressed with other members of our team. I truly am sorry your experience at The Breakers was not a great one and hope you will consider giving us a second chance in the future. Please contact me at the resort if you would like to discuss this further.

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Was the first time we stayed at the resort. At first we were a little disappointed with the room. It was not as up to date as some other places we have stayed. But it grew on us once we got settled in. The room was clean with good service from the hotel staff. Pools were great, a little crowded but it is peak season. The DJ by the pool made for a great afternoon! He was good! Would stay again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jsims705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Jsims705,

Thank you for your 5-star recommendation of The Breakers Resort. We are thrilled to hear your 1st stay with us was an enjoyable one. Your comments are truly appreciated, and validate the efforts of each and every member of our team. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you soon!.

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Family friendly. Teens and adults are equally happy here. It has reasonable beach rates with more amenities than the web site can really show. I've stayed in several units. Happy with them all. Simple but perfect for beach. Lots of pool choices. Lots of pool side seating options. Kids club. DJ in the summer for music for all. Games for all. Right on beach. Great views. Free DVD's. Ice cream, bar and food. Day and evening, poolside if u want. It has it all. Safe for kids to run!

Room Tip: Many room and building choices. I like Pirates Cove. No elevator. But small bldg and no elevator w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryCoulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear MaryCoulman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this review of the Caribbean Resort and Villas, as we truly appreciate your comments and feedback. We would also like to thank you for your 5 star recommendation!. We are humbled by your kind remarks, and will strive to ensure all guests leave our resort as happy as you did. I hope to see your family again in the future!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
3.7 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#28 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
3.5 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Property: The Breakers Resort
Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing