We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Engagement Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
Ranked #30 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Engagement Weekend”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Had an overall great hotel stay at Breakers. I stayed last weekend in preparation of asking my girlfriend of five years to marry me. When we arrived the room was not very well cleaned, but upon request, the housekeeping staff came right to our door and completely cleaned the entire hotel room again for us. We stayed in the smaller Seaside hotel which had a decent oceanfront view. Overall great stay and would recommend others to stay here as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllenYoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear AllenY81,

We are thrilled to discover that we were apart of your special engagement weekend, and we would like to congratulate you and your now fiancé!. Thank you for posting this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Our team looks forward to serving you again & your bride again next year!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,784
    1,135
    408
    252
    248
See reviews for
1,906
867
90
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,032)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Breakers is everything it promised. There were plenty of pools, options for the kids, and no location seemed crowded. The rooms were clean and the balconies feel completely private, though the bathroom is a bit small. Papas restaurant has an excellent breakfast buffet and the Red Parrot is a great casual dining option.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Laura F,

Thank you for taking the time to post this stellar review of The Breakers Resort. We could not be happier to hear how much you love staying with us. Our team looks forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed in the newly renovated Dunes Building of the Breakers Resort during their pre-July 4th sale. This building is not oceanfront, but just across the street which was perfect for our needs. The Dunes building was previously the Odyssey Motel but was bought by the Breakers and completely renovated. The furnishings and fixtures were very modern, including a vessel sink that I loved! We even had a small balcony and an ocean view between the two oceanfront breakers buildings. There are only about 4 floors but there is a specific pool for the Dunes building in front, right on the street (N Ocean Blvd) side. There is a small parking lot on the right side for Dunes only and free overflow parking in the Breakers parking garage. We received wristbands to get access to all the Breakers amenities like pools, fitness center, DVD rentals etc. We loved the close proximity to the beach, Starbucks, Ben&Jerry's and the free DVD rentals to watch at night to relax after a day at the beach. The only issues we had were the WiFi- really spotty and would disconnect so often I couldn't connect to my work email, and clogged drains in the sinks and shower likely due to sand from all the guests. Overall we had a great time and left just in the nick of time as Hurricane Arthur was rolling in! We would definitely visit again and would specifically choose the Dunes building because it was so affordable and modern and gave us the beat value!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LH528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear LH528,

We are very happy to hear how much you love The Breakers Resort! Thank for your 5-star recommendation, and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butler, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had a great stay. Enjoyed the pools and daily pool party. Love the pavers that replaced the grass in the pool areas. Only problem, we had a hard time getting wash clothes. The resort seemed very full, maybe that was the problem. The front desk usually had some when we went to ask for them. That is the only reason I didn't give 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 320rebeccaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie A, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Rebecca J,

Thank you very much for continuing to stay at The Breakers Resort . We are happy to hear how much you enjoy our hotel, and truly appreciate your loyalty. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back next summer!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Another great stay at the Breakers. The staff are all willing to go that extra step to assist you.

Breakfast at Papa's can't be beat. The variety and quality of the food selections provide a great meal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertbickerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear robertbickerton,

Thank you for your continued patronage to The Breakers Resort. Our team is honored to be your top choice in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate your 5-star feedback, and look forward to your next visit!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Although we have a few suggestions/ recommendations for improving the overall stay we had a fantastic time!! We extended our stay because we loved the beach and the view from our room. The house cleaner on the 20th floor was friendly and very accommodating. The internet didn't work very well.... Not sure what the problem is. Check in and check out was very easy. Our room was quiet and we loved the seperate rooms... Had plenty of beds as well. Loved the dj at the pool!!!!! We would definitley stay again!

Room Tip: Dust the air vents and ceiling. Room decor/ bedding could use a refresh.... The bed was comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Sandi G,

We are extremely happy to hear that your family had a great vacation at The Breakers Resort, and even extended your stay with us!. Thank you for sharing your feedback and compliments of our resort and staff. Our team looks forward to serving you again in the near future!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just a couple suggestions
1. This year was the worst since we started coming to the Breakers (15 years) regarding getting clean towels. It was particularly embarrassing since we have been bragging to my wife brother about this hotel. Hopefully this issue will be
improved in the future.
2. Improve requests for high floors

Room Tip: Since the room has a kitchen I would suggest leaving dish detergent, dish towels, and dish rags and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear James E,

Thank you very much for continuing to choose The Breakers Resort. Our team feels honored to know that we are now your "go-to" destination in Myrtle Beach. We are happy your family had another wonderful stay, but I would like to apologize any issues you experienced when trying to get towels. We and look forward to your next visit!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
4.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#18 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Property: The Breakers Resort
Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing