We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We all got bite (fleas? bedbugs?)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
Ranked #81 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed for almost a week, and noticed second day that both me and my son had bites on ankles and arms. Next day same thing and more bites that hurt and itched. Was told by front desk it might be flea bites since they allow dogs. Hotel was dirty looking, rooms non vacuumed when we arrived and sheets looked and felt used. Would not stay there ever again!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdliz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidhelman, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologize for your recent experience with me. At my Inn I take preventative measures by doing regular inspections by the staff and by a local 3rd party pest control company. When we are notified of such a situation, we take care of them immediately so our guests are not negatively impacted.

It is my hope that you would consider giving Red Roof Inn a chance in the future.

Thanks you,

Dave
GM RRI Myrtle Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

The hotel was in a good location and was clean and comfortable. I was a little weary since it allows pets that it might be run down (noisy, smelly), but it was fine. Not a 5 star hotel but for the price and for a pet-friendly hotel it was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank locolomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Not my favorite Red Roof, but it was OK. Definately built for the hoards of families dragging in a lot of sand. It seems a bit industrial in the hallways, and the rooms are a bit bare bones, but the employees are great, the coffee fresh and hot, the pool area nice, and being on the main drag at the south end near the beach bus turnaround a plus. And the off season rates were great. Lots of choices in this town, some great, some horrid, most OK. This is an OK place. Nearby places to eat are limited.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SenseIntoDollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

After having a bad experience at the hotel that we had originally booked, we decided to check out the Red Roof Inn after reading good reviews on here. We arrived around 5 or 6pm and were given a great rate. The lady at the front desk (Emily) was extremely friendly and welcoming. The room was good for the price that we paid. It was nothing fancy, but just what we needed. The bed was reasonably comfortable, and the room was clean. Our room did not have a fridge and microwave, but other rooms did. It was not really a problem not having those things because there is a microwave in the lobby that they let you use to heat up your own food, and the room was cold enough that we did not need a fridge for our food. Small dogs are allowed there, but they don't really bother anybody. The breakfast wasn't really anything special- make your own waffle station, small muffins and pastries, oatmeal, some fruit, orange juice and apple juice, and coffee.
Whenever we go to MB, we are definitely going to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sar919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stay at this hotel when visinting my sister in law family.
The hotel is a good city hotel, with very good rooms and standard services for the category.
The hall is freezing (usually in August the climate is hot and humid, in that area)...
The price is quite high, for an hotel not in a big city, but Washington DC area is very expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We were able to get a reservation last minute and pretty cheap for Myrtle Beach during the 4th of July weekend. The hotel is super clean. Not many frills but updated. The room was big. It had a work desk, mini fridge, safe and free wifi. The best part is that it is a 5 minute walk to the beach. The continental breakfast was wonderful. They had do-it-yourself waffle makers, so you could make fresh waffles in the morning. Plus they had juice, pastries, coffee, and fruit. It was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book early. They did sell out for July 4th weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyeLove2travel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The hotel is not design but has its dignity!
We were my wife my son and I.
Traveling without booking could be funny but sometime it is not!
Expedia have helped us...big room with two queens, big bathroom, clean and the doorman was a very gentle Lady!!!
Everything for less than 50 bucks!
A good deal!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEater2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,947 reviews
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#67 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,368 reviews
8.1 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,461 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons

Address: 2801 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4807
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £32 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons 2*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Myrtle Beach Market Commons is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair and more. This location features suites, an outdoor heated pool (mid March-October), a picnic area outside, interior corridors, 3 elevators, and a coin laundry. A Waffle House is located adjacent to the property. Oceanfront dining nearby is also available. Free continental breakfast is served daily from Memorial Day thru Labor Day. Select rooms offer microwave/microfridge units. Experience our complimentary coffee-house style coffee & tea. All rooms offer free WiFi access. One well-behaved family pet with no pet deposit, 60 pounds or less, per room is welcome (sorry, pets are not allowed in poolside rooms). Check-in Time: 3:00 PM | Check-out Time: 11:00 AM Check-in Age: 18 years or older ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Expedia, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn And Suites Myrtle Beach
Red Roof Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing