We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't....”
Review of Sun N Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun N Sand Resort
Ranked #105 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The room had 2 double beds, oceanfront...but the windows were so dirty inside and out that you couldn't see out. One window was broken...outlets were so loose that chargers wouldn't stay plugged in.

Refrigerator didn't work and was replaced with a tiny one after 3 attempts to "fix it"..
Individual coffee pod maker on counter, but no plug in available nearby to use.

Telephone cord had been cut....used cell phone to notify desk about the issue...no offer of another phone..so my daughter took the phone downstairs to them. Several hours later, a phone was brought to the room.

Faucet in bathroom was nearly falling off the sink...

Indoor pool was small but heated. Outdoor hot tub worked. Outdoor pool was adequate with lounge chairs available.
Beach access was adequate.

Attached parking garage had tight spaces.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grammyeaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina M, Guest Relations Manager at Sun N Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Hello grammyeaster,

Please know that we truly appreciate candid reviews from our guests as we use it as reference in our continuous effort to offer you and all of our guests great experience during your stay. I will accelerate your comments for evaluation and in order to verify what took place and trust that your concerns will be properly addressed.

Thank you very much for your business and I hope to have another chance to offer you improved services in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Front desk and restaurant staff was very friendly and accommodating for our 1 night stay. Was only expecting a king room but ended up in a 2 room suite with a kitchen. They went out if their way to be sure we were happy with our stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnmac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina M, Guest Relations Manager at Sun N Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Hello Lynnmac4,

Your appreciation of our effort to provide you comfortable stay brings pleasure and and motivation to our team to stay focused in our goal to offer quality services in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon and allow us to provide you accommodation the next time you visit Myrtle Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Did a great job with our formal. Can't wait to go back. Nice rooms with a good view. Has a parking garage. The restraurant serves breakfast which is great in Myrtle Beach. The best part is definitely the rooms though. Recently renovated and nice bathrooms. I recommend for large groups as well as families. Good staff. Has a bar.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabesvinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina M, Guest Relations Manager at Sun N Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hello Gabriel S,

I am very pleased to know that e have sufficed your accommodation needs on your recent stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for taking note of the recent renovation. Please know that we are giving our best effort to offer you best value services at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband and I were in town visting and celebrating with family at an Engage Party and things got a little crazy and we needed a room for the night. This hotel was very friendly and convenient to the beach. OMG...it was right at the Ocean and we stayed on the 16th floor...truly an Ocean front view....what I have always wanted. For a first time stayiong on the beach, this hotel is definitely worth visiting again. We will be back for any future occassions we have. Thanks Sun N Sand :)

Room Tip: Call ahead and make a reservation to get the best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranada177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina M, Guest Relations Manager at Sun N Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hello Ranada177,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for for choosing to stay in our hotel and for taking time to share your experience with us. Please know that we strive to offer our guests the best value services and accommodation you deserve for giving us your business. We look forward to your next visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Yep.
This hotel has the potential to be great, but fell short of our expectations.

We booked via Hotwire for $130ish (Weds/Thursday/Fri nights) after being quoted $300ish elsewhere on the strip. The hotel charged us $21 in "resort fees" on top of what we paid via Hotwire -- and based on the amenities, we found that a little steep.
We booked here as opposed to elsewhere as it advertised an indoor pool -- excellent for March, right? Well, we called down x2 this morning to confirm what time the pool opened as well as where to get our towels. We were told 9am on both calls, and at 940 am I took my daughter to go seek it out. We got our towels from the front desk as well as directions to the pool only to arrive to find both doors were locked. We went back to the desk, advised of as much, and it was only then they told us that it was closed due to a cracked motor. Really disappointing for a toddler (2 years old) who was in her suit expecting a swim, disappointing to her parents who did their due diligence by calling the desk before exciting their child, and disappointing overall considering this is the main reason we chose this "resort."

Yeah ... not sure what qualifies a "resort" but this hotel fell short of the expectations it presents in that verbiage.
The lobby smelled of Chinese food, which was interesting since the restaurant was closed until Friday. Never checked out the gym facilities. Everything seemed to be in a state of disrepair in one form or another. The hotel is quite large and would make a great place to stay if it cleaned itself up a bit.

The room itself was about a 3-star. We were given a room with two double beds and the beds are quite possibly the most uncomfortable I've ever slept on. If there's one thing that would stop us from returning, it's the beds. The room itself was quite large which was a great thing. There was more than enough room for us to stay comfortably in that space. It also provided a great view - lots of windows. The restroom, however ... if there's one thing the owners take away from this review, PLEASE TEND TO YOUR REST ROOMS! While I didn't deem it unsafe, there is visible mold around the tiles and caulking in the shower. Cleaning this up would be SUCH an improvement to the restroom and room as a whole ... it would have landed you a higher star rating from us, hands down. It's an eyesore, and a huge turn off, with the potential to be unsafe.
On the plus side, the hotel has a large parking garage which was great in the inclement weather we encountered. It has friendly staff (although your cleaning staff could do a better job .. I dont think our carpet was vacuumed and I know for certain the restroom floor wasn't washed.) There's great access to the beach.
THIS HOTEL IS VERY SOUTH.
Hotwire advertised as South Myrtle Beach ... and this hotel is one of the furthest from the action. This isn't to say it's unmanageable, but you are not within short walking distance to any excitement.

The hotel was fairly desolate until Friday night when my husband noticed the check-ins increasing, the bar opened and just generally more action.

Free WiFi.

With a little time, money and effort this would be a great place to stay in Myrtle Beach.
Sun N Sand in one word?: Tired.

Would we stay again? Maybe, but it wouldn't be our first choice.

Traveling: 2 adults, 1 toddler (2 years old)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank TravelingTrio-KMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina M, Guest Relations Manager at Sun N Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hello TravelingTrio-KMA,

I would like to sincerely apologize for our shortcomings and not being able to meet your expectations during your recent stay. Please know that we take our guests concerns seriously. Your review will be accelerated for evaluation, thank you for bringing your concern to our attention as it indeed will help us in implementing necessary improvements to be able to offer you better services in the future.

i hope we could have another opportunity of offering you better services the next time you visit Myrtle Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I believe that my husband and myself have finally found a hotel to stay at for every occasion! The rooms were great. We had the best drinks and most fun in the hotels very own karaoke bar!!! Being next to the helicopter rides is a big plus as well!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyHall2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina M, Guest Relations Manager at Sun N Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Hello Miss Daisy,

Thank you for making Sun N Sand Resort your choice of hotel. I am sharing your feedback to the team as I am sure they too, will be very pleased to know we have successfully provided you accommodation during your recent stay. Please know that our guests’ satisfaction is our primary goal and will always be on top of our priority.

Your satisfaction completes our business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I booked this room for the weekend a few days earlier. Check in was great. The room was everything i was looking for. Sun N Sand is LITERALLY on the beach!!! OMG! The bar downstairs is awesome!! I even had a drink named after me! You should try it, ask for a Dirty Daisy!!! I've had time to enjoy the beach as well as finish my college homework. We will be back very soon!!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina M, Guest Relations Manager at Sun N Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hello Miss Daisy H.,

I am very glad that you had a wonderful time during your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and for validating we did our job well. Your satisfaction brings pleasure to us as we work very closely to be able to maintain consistent value services in our hotel.

We hope to see you again very soon, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#140 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#109 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#145 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Inn
Aqua Beach Inn
#41 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
578 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,950 reviews
3.3 mi away
Myrtle Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Resort
#68 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun N Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun N Sand Resort

Address: 2701 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £46 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun N Sand Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the South Carolina's storied Grand Strand, the Sun & Sand Resort delights visitors with its easy mix of Southern charm and contemporary services and amenities. Our attractive address on South Ocean Boulevard offers our guests easy access to the best shopping, dining, live entertainment and family-friendly attractions on the South Carolina coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Sun N Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun n Sand Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing