We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service could have been better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmetto Shores Oceanfront
Ranked #124 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Concord, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service could have been better.”
Reviewed 23 May 2010

I stayed here the weekend of the 14th. When I checked into my room my television wasn't working and to make a long story short it wasn't decided to change out my televison until after 8:00 pm that night. The person that originally was checking into fixing the television left at the end of his shift and didn't bother to inform the oncoming shift so I had to call the front desk to left them know about the problem with the television. On a positive note, the next shift handled things immediately by switching out the TV which is probably what should have happened alot sooner in my opinion; thanks Keith for your assistance. Lastly, the reservationist/ front desk were friendly but lacked knowledge regarding the surrounding areas when asked about where to go for dinner etc... I think its a ok place to stay put could use some improvements in the service area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuNu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    154
    106
    84
    155
See reviews for
277
194
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2010

The website doesnt show the outside of the buildings. If it had we wouldnt have chosen to stay there, we would have been able to tell that this place was really outdated. We were booked for an oceanview king deluxe room, but when we checked in we were told the building wasnt ready that we would have to stay in the first building and we would have to take a queen bed. The room itself was okay but there were loud noises all through the night, from either the air units or the two elevators we were right beside. When we got our bill to check out it was actually more than we had originally been given when we booked for the king deluxe room but was told at check in there would be a $20.00 discount. The manager Michelle Duncan was very helpful and apologized for the inconvenience and corrected our bill immediately

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdoglindz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Overall, the hotel was okay. The rooms were nicer than before. The elevators are old and the walls are paper thin. You can hear people talking down the hall even with the TV on and door closed. The pools were nice and the beach area was great. The area is convenient and great to walk to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziejay89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wall Township, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2010

beachfront palmetto shores just recently remodeled building new everything ocean views breathtaking sunrises were splended new 1mile boardwalk great for jog or walk the staff esp Michele,Brittany were always there with a smile or help they couldnt be better I can`t wait to go back John Johnson Wall N.J.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runnerjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We just came back from a very pleasant stay at Palmetto Shores. We went down for a "girls weekend" and wanted to stay somewhere that was clean, oceanfront and within walking distance to attractions. Palmetto shores was perfect. The rooms were very clean and bright. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The rates were wonderful. There are several eating places within walking distance. We walked to Beach Bummz Cafe just down from Palmetto Shores. It's also a short walk to the Boardwalk area. I would definately return!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MellieMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Our family had a great time at Palmetto Shores!! We visited with our 2yr son for the first time & felt that this hotel was great for families with young children. It was in walking distance of everything and just a mile from Broad Way at the Beach. We had an ocean view room. (great side view) The staff was really nice and helpful. We have no complaints whats so ever !! We will return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMartindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
#84 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#133 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#139 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Camelot by the Sea, Oceana Resorts
0.2 mi away
Yachtsman Resort
Yachtsman Resort
#27 of 34 in Myrtle Beach
136 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Diplomat Motel
The Diplomat Motel
#127 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmetto Shores Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Shores Oceanfront

Property: Palmetto Shores Oceanfront
Address: 1706 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3216
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmetto Shores Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new, completely renovated, Palmetto Shores Myrtle Beach; centrally located to all the amenities the Grand Strand offers. No matter what season you visit, there will be tons of activities to keep you busy. You’ll find wide spans of pristine sandy beaches outside of our three oceanfront towers where our guests have a wide range of options from ocean-front rooms and efficiencies all the way up to 4-bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palmetto Shores Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Shores Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing