We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, More Than Acceptable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmetto Shores Oceanfront

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palmetto Shores Oceanfront
Ranked #122 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Value, More Than Acceptable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

Stayed two nights over the busy July 4th Holiday weekend. I was REALLY nervous about the stay here because I booked my room prior to ANY reviews having been written here on TripAdvisor. Because they were billing themselves as NEW, and GRAND OPENING, etc, I figured it would be wonderful. Thennnn the reviews started showing up and they did not look good. We almost cancelled and rebooked elsewhere, but decided to keep the reservation and hope for the best. We had booked an Oceanfront room for a great rate and prior to arrival I had emailed the GM and requested a room on any floor except the first (I wanted to see the SEA when I sat on the balcony and looked out, NOT swimmers in the pool).

We arrived at 10:00am and I was not expecting to be able to check in at that time. But we arrived that early so that we could maximize our time there by getting out to the beach early since we were spending just two nights. The property consists of three buildings and they're not exactly high-rise. The exteriors appear to have been painted and to me, don't look bad. Many properties there are old and may have been neglected through the years. But they're still in the midst of some of their renovations at the Palmetto Shores and, in fact, they were working on replacing a door when we were there.

Upon arrival I stood in line to speak to someone at the front desk to let them know we were there, and also because in the parking lot that we parked the car, we noticed hanging tags in windshields with the hotel name on it, and there were signs posted that said if you weren't a guest of the Palmetto Shores your car would be towed. I wanted to get one of those hanging tags for the car so the car wouldn't get towed. When it was my turn to be helped, the woman was very pleasant and told me that I could come back at 11:30am to do the preliminary check in, and then they'd call us when the room was ready. She also said that we didn't need a hanging tag for the car, that they wouldn't tow it. So we then walked back across the street to get our stuff to head out to sit on the beach and I noticed that EVERY car had a hanging tag. So back inside I went and spoke to someone else who did give me the hanging tag. This made me feel better. Walked back across the street to hang the tag, then went out onto the beach. About 12:00 I went back into the lobby to do the preliminary check in with the same lady I had spoken with earlier. She proceeded to give me a balance due that did not match what I had been told when I made the reservation, and that I had on my confirmation. I told her it should be $XXX, and that I had the confirmation letter in the car, did she need to see it? She said she'd have someone fix it, but that if it wasn't any problem to get the confirmation letter, that would be great. Back across the street I went to the car to retrieve the confirmation letter. Once back in the lobby, there was someone there adjusting my rate to what it should have been as I approached the counter. Got that all straightened out, thankfully, and I was SO thankful I had remembered to bring the confirmation letter with me. TAKE YOUR CONFIRMATIONS! After she did the preliminary check in, she said I could come back in an hour and a half and the room should be ready. She also let me know of the $50 deposit that would be added to my credit card (that has since been removed). They also provided us a temporary key to use the restrooms in the lobby since we were going out onto the beach.

So around 1:30 my partner went to check to see if the room was ready, and they told him it was. We had been assigned 325 in the Sands building (middle building...I think Waves is the main building, and Coral was the other building). He went to check it out, only to find unmade beds, towels still on the bathroom floor and trashcans overflowing. Obviously this room had NOT been prepared even though they had been told it was ready. So back he went to the front desk to let them know, and they told him they would put us in a room that WAS ready, 421. So he was given new keys and went to check that out and it WAS ready. He came back down to the beach to let me know, and we went to get the rest of our stuff (back across the street to the car) to take to the room.

The room was renovated and it was definitely acceptable. New paint, new comforters, possibly new carpet. Some parts of the room were still rough, but I'm sure it was an improvement over the property's previous existence as "The Poindexter". The A/C worked great (except a tad noisy, but I'd rather have a little noisy than A/C that didn't work!), and the shower was THE most pressure I've had in years, and THE hottest water. I couldn't turn it off after the first shower because I loved the pressure! Flat Panel TV, DVD player, full size fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron. The balcony was an ok size, not overwhelmingly big, but I was glad to have it. If you like to watch TV in the evenings, be aware that they had very few channels to choose from...maybe 12-14? Definitely lacking there. The next day, housekeeping cleaned our room promptly. No complaints there. Three pools, middle pool is the kids play area. Plenty of lounge chairs, great beach access, walking distance to Pier 14 and the Boardwalk. Small fitness area, I think I saw one washer/dryer, and a foozball table in the "gameroom".

As far as the parking, it's across the street as everyone has mentioned. If that's full, there's another lot beyond that across another secondary street. And if that's full, they also utilize the first three rows on the other side of the Mamma Mia Restaurant (the restaurant separates their main lot from the three rows in the other lot). Parking was a little tight in the main lot (definitely worried about dings to the car, but none happened, thankfully). And because it seemed to always be full, we hesitated to take the car out to do anything, even drive to dinner. But we did drive to dinner at Olive Garden the first night (and realized after we got there that it was close enough that we could have walked there, but didn't realize it), and did find a space in one of the three alternative rows when we came back. Didn't take the car out the next day at all.

Check out on July 5th was a breeze at just before 6:00am.

All in all, this was a great value for the July 4th weekend at a total of $245 including tax for the two nights, Oceanfront. A sigh of relief on my part, too, since it wasn't a disaster like I thought it might be. While it's no Ritz Carlton (most properties there in Myrtle Beach aren't), it turned out to be pretty good. The location was great, staff was friendly and helpful, pool areas were clean and maintained, and the accommodations were more than acceptable. While I might like to try a different place the next time I visit, I would not go out of my way to avoid this property.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jdljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    154
    106
    84
    155
See reviews for
277
194
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

After reading some of the reviews I was worried but after getting there I had no problems. We checked in right on time and they took us to the room, the kitchen was fully stocked with everything you needed to cook if thats what you wanted to do full refrigerator, microwave, toaster, etc. The balcony was a little small but fine for two people. I had the oceanview room and you could see it from clear even though it was facing the other hotel. The room was cleaned everyday and was clean the whole trip. We stayed on a busy friday, saturday, and sunday but the service was fine. It was within walking distance of major attractions and the beach was footsteps away.

I kept hearing about it being a bad neighborhood and everything but I had no problems me and my girlfriend felt fine walking around at day and night time. If I had to comment to any problem it would be the hot tub was small, but we didn't even have time for it to be honest.

I hope this helps but I would highly recommend this hotel staff was nice, got my cash deposit back with no hassel and enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbum50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

I stayed at Palmetto Shores with my three siblings, and we enjoyed the location--right on the ocean and in very easy walking distance of the boardwalk. Next time we might want to choose a quieter part of town--it was just a couple of blocks from the crazy nightlife, and the traffic was fairly heavy.
The room did have bunk beds, which we wanted, and it was clean. The room was very small, though--no place to sit in the room except for the beds. Also, false advertising alert about the website: there are pictures of happy people using computers in a lab with a printer, and this place does not exist. You can only get wifi in the hotel lobby, and you have to bring a laptop or you'll have no computer access at all.
Service was decent, but they came by only once a day, and if you didn't want to leave your room the minute they came by, you wouldn't get your room made up that day. Definitely bring shampoo--they will not give you enough.
Probably best to give them your damage deposit in cash, because it's difficult to get it back, even if your room is perfect.
In general, though--the price was good for an oceanfront hotel, and they do have good special offers, especially in early June.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arwencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedartown, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

The room we had was not bad. The main problem we had was we were on the 4th floor and the door to the stairs that went to the 5th floor was right outside of our room and every time someone went in and out it slammed very loudly. This would begin around 7:30 in the morning and continue till about 11:30 or 12 at night. Which was very aggravating. The door needed something on it to make it close slower so it wouldn't slam. We stayed in the Coral building and the elevator didn't go to the bottom floor so you had to go up a flight of stairs to get to the elevator which was not that big of a deal except you couldn't get a luggage cart up and down the stairs so you had to take your cart to the bottom of the stairs and carry all of your luggage up the stairs to the elevator. The elevator also dose not go to the 5th floor in this building so if you were on the 5th floor you had to get out of the elevator on the 4th floor and walk up a flight of stairs to get to the 5th floor. The building was very poorly designed is all I can say. We also had problems with our power going out in the room. It was out when we came back from eating on the 2nd night of our stay and it was out again on the 4th night of our stay when we got back to the room. Then it went out 2 more times while we were in the room on the 4th night. The maintenance guy said it was a tripped breaker and when I asked him why it kept happening he really didn't know and then he tried to say we must have caused a power surge by plugging things in the outlets and when I told him we didn't have anything plugged in he said it must be the refrigerator because it was plugged in the wrong outlet. Needless to say he didn't have a clue. The parking was across the street like most other places in myrtle beach, but this property has 3 buildings and the parking lot only held 30 cars at the most so when we went to the front desk to ask where we were suppose to park they told us you had to park in there overflow parking which was behind the first parking lot across another street beside a building which looked like housing projects and it was not well lite so we were a little afraid our car would be broken into, but luckily it wasn't. On a good note all of the staff we encountered was nice and friendly and the housekeeping staff made sure our room stayed stocked with towels and the garbage was taken out during our stay and that is really all we wanted them to do. I don't think we would stay here again in the future just simply because of the problems we encountered while there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bran676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

north carolina
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

Me and my 17 teen year old daughter and 10 year old son stayed here from 6/20 - 6/26. this place was ABSOLUTELY the worst!!! fales advertising about a game room and kiddie slides that would be large enough for a adult was a LIE!!!! The game room was a fooseball table in the laudry room! The slides were only for 2yr. olds! They do not go into the water!!! Be warned! I was over charged by a manger named Scott. I called my bank 2 days later to find the refund had not been done! I went to front desk and was told Scott failed to push a button to apply the refund this boy had to do it again tieing up the 122.00 i needed i was on vaction for christ sakes! Houskeeping was also a sham!!! we had problems getting our beds made, getting clean towels. Also maids fliped The room had not been touched! when I called front desk in a rage since this was another of many problems they sent a supervisor up who stated the this maid said the card said privacy!! She lied!
No place to park! Beware of all money transactions including the 50.00 deposite they hold on ur credit card until room has been inspected. Which can't be done before u leave! so u can only hope they will do it!
It is with in walking distance of the strip.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

When we arrived, the desk clerk sent us to their separate building that did not have a main floor elevator, so we had a weeks worth of luggage, etc. to haul up a flight of stairs. Then we found the room to be a side unit rather than the ocean front efficiency that we paid for. After an hour or so the manager found another room, not an efficiency...the room was on the 5th floor of another building and the building elevator was out of service for two days . We were NEVER given an apology of any kind for our inconvenience and the gift card promised by the manager never arrived. This was our most disappointing hotel stay ever.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djclark52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

Palmetto shores is a good hotel oceantfront, with a resonable price. Although the room was small i enjoyed my stay at Palmetto shores. It was convenient to walk around everywhere because everything was close by. The room was nice and clean, it can use a little update on appliances. Our housekeeper Jean was nice and made sure we had clean towels everyday. Other than that i would stay at this hotel again. :-)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#135 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#108 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
#89 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#123 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
Sea Park Motel
Sea Park Motel
#5 of 8 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmetto Shores Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Shores Oceanfront

Property: Palmetto Shores Oceanfront
Address: 1706 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3216
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmetto Shores Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new, completely renovated, Palmetto Shores Myrtle Beach; centrally located to all the amenities the Grand Strand offers. No matter what season you visit, there will be tons of activities to keep you busy. You’ll find wide spans of pristine sandy beaches outside of our three oceanfront towers where our guests have a wide range of options from ocean-front rooms and efficiencies all the way up to 4-bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palmetto Shores Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing