We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a five star, but not a two star either”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmetto Shores Oceanfront
Ranked #126 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a five star, but not a two star either”
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Where do I start the check-in went well, I was a little surprise to see that not all of the rooms had been remodel, had a few problems with the door lock and bath room tub and chips on the kitchen counter and the dented frige, the staff quickly took care of those problems. One particular staff member Ms. Marion went way out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed in our room.(Thank You) the front desk staff they treated us with the most respect and for that (Thank You) and a special thanks to Steve and Jennifer help as well. We really enjoyed the morning breakfast at the Patio. Would I recomment this hotel to a friend, yes only if they are not looking for a Five Star Hotel. Pictures will follow soon. Have a nice summer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbaby22193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    154
    106
    84
    155
See reviews for
277
194
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2010

This is the worst hotel I have ever been to. First off, this hotel was falsely advertised as being "new". This place looks like an old, run-down shack. We arrived around 11:30 AM. I figured I would check to see if by any chance the room was ready, even though I didn't figure it to be. It wasn't- so the lady up front told us to check back between 12:30- 1:00PM. We came back at 1 to be told that the room still wasn't ready, and wouldn't be ready until 3, BUT we could check back at 2 if we wanted to. We decided to just come back at 3. When we got back, the lobby was FULL of people waiting to check in, so it took us about 45 minutes to finally get up to the desk to speak with anyone. The young man who checked us in, Michael, was unpleasant. Not once did he make eye contact, smile, or even welcome us to this hotel. When I asked a question he was very short with his answer and didn't even look at me to answer it. When I was checking in, I was told of a $50 security deposit that was to be held on my card which was not mentioned in the original bill when I made reservations online. When we got to the room, it smelled like old Chinese food. I had also made reservations for a queen sized bed and a pull-out sofa. We walked in to find 2 double beds. This was even more annoying considering the hours it took for the room to be ready in the first place. The "efficiency kitchen" was just great (sarcasm). The sink didn't even work- the water would barely trickle out of the faucet, even on "full blast". The stove was extremely outdated- especially since this is supposed to be a "new" hotel. There was also sand on the kitchen floor. We were not in the room for 5 minutes, when a man came and knocked on the door saying he had just checked out of that room and was wanting to make sure that he didn't leave anything. This was weird- also made me wonder if the sheets were even changed, if the room was even cleaned, etc. Our bathroom door would not even close. The sink in the bathroom did not drain well. The shower curtain was basically a thin cloth that barely reached from one side to the other, and it had holes in it. Overall, the bathroom just had a dirty appearance. After my fiance took a shower, he reached up to get a towel and found black hair on it- none of us have black hair, nor had any of us used the towels. Our room was right next to a utility room, so from about 7 in the morning to about midnight we heard nothing but employees/cleaning crew going in and out of that room- which the door slammed every time. The walls are paper thin, so we were able to hear anyone who was in the hallway, especially screaming kids. I will not be returning, and I would DEFINITELY NOT recommend this hotel to anyone, ever.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyS24255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I would like to start on a positive note, so here it goes: Pro's: 1.)This place is right on the beach, 2.)The front desk is nice. Con's: 1.)The hotel has 3 buildings.... all 3 are VERY OLD... This place needs a MAJOR face lift (inside and out), I sure didnt see any renovations! It sorta had a College dorm "feel" to it, very loud, lots of people partying late at night.2.) Our room smelled like bug spray. 3.)There was a stove in our effeciency but I would be afraid to even turn it on, the burners were in serious need of replacement. 4.)This place Is the kind of place you dont feel comfortable leaving any valuables in the room, and there wasnt a safe. The area surrounding this hotel just off the main strip is sketchy at best, 5.) Based on their claim of "rennovations" and $149 a night I had higher expectations. I would NOT stay here again simple as that, I would not recommend this place to anyone I know! Fork over a little extra cash and stay somewhere a little nicer, it will be well worth the extra cash:)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oahu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aiken
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2010

we stayed in the oceanfront 2 queen effecentcy room and were very pleased with the cleanliness. we loved that the rooms were nonsmoking, the room smelled great!
the down side, there were a few things misrepresented- the hotel restaurant was not on site, it was across the street- not oceanfront. in the buiding we were in you had to climb a half flight of stairs to get to the elevator that only went to the fourth floor but, not to the fifth floor that we stayed on, which made loading and unloading crazy. no parking on site, most is across the street and alot of the parking is 1 block away from the hotel. we were just slightly disappointed with these things but, the room made up for them. overall, we enjoyed our stay and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trasay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Stayed two nights over the busy July 4th Holiday weekend. I was REALLY nervous about the stay here because I booked my room prior to ANY reviews having been written here on TripAdvisor. Because they were billing themselves as NEW, and GRAND OPENING, etc, I figured it would be wonderful. Thennnn the reviews started showing up and they did not look good. We almost cancelled and rebooked elsewhere, but decided to keep the reservation and hope for the best. We had booked an Oceanfront room for a great rate and prior to arrival I had emailed the GM and requested a room on any floor except the first (I wanted to see the SEA when I sat on the balcony and looked out, NOT swimmers in the pool).

We arrived at 10:00am and I was not expecting to be able to check in at that time. But we arrived that early so that we could maximize our time there by getting out to the beach early since we were spending just two nights. The property consists of three buildings and they're not exactly high-rise. The exteriors appear to have been painted and to me, don't look bad. Many properties there are old and may have been neglected through the years. But they're still in the midst of some of their renovations at the Palmetto Shores and, in fact, they were working on replacing a door when we were there.

Upon arrival I stood in line to speak to someone at the front desk to let them know we were there, and also because in the parking lot that we parked the car, we noticed hanging tags in windshields with the hotel name on it, and there were signs posted that said if you weren't a guest of the Palmetto Shores your car would be towed. I wanted to get one of those hanging tags for the car so the car wouldn't get towed. When it was my turn to be helped, the woman was very pleasant and told me that I could come back at 11:30am to do the preliminary check in, and then they'd call us when the room was ready. She also said that we didn't need a hanging tag for the car, that they wouldn't tow it. So we then walked back across the street to get our stuff to head out to sit on the beach and I noticed that EVERY car had a hanging tag. So back inside I went and spoke to someone else who did give me the hanging tag. This made me feel better. Walked back across the street to hang the tag, then went out onto the beach. About 12:00 I went back into the lobby to do the preliminary check in with the same lady I had spoken with earlier. She proceeded to give me a balance due that did not match what I had been told when I made the reservation, and that I had on my confirmation. I told her it should be $XXX, and that I had the confirmation letter in the car, did she need to see it? She said she'd have someone fix it, but that if it wasn't any problem to get the confirmation letter, that would be great. Back across the street I went to the car to retrieve the confirmation letter. Once back in the lobby, there was someone there adjusting my rate to what it should have been as I approached the counter. Got that all straightened out, thankfully, and I was SO thankful I had remembered to bring the confirmation letter with me. TAKE YOUR CONFIRMATIONS! After she did the preliminary check in, she said I could come back in an hour and a half and the room should be ready. She also let me know of the $50 deposit that would be added to my credit card (that has since been removed). They also provided us a temporary key to use the restrooms in the lobby since we were going out onto the beach.

So around 1:30 my partner went to check to see if the room was ready, and they told him it was. We had been assigned 325 in the Sands building (middle building...I think Waves is the main building, and Coral was the other building). He went to check it out, only to find unmade beds, towels still on the bathroom floor and trashcans overflowing. Obviously this room had NOT been prepared even though they had been told it was ready. So back he went to the front desk to let them know, and they told him they would put us in a room that WAS ready, 421. So he was given new keys and went to check that out and it WAS ready. He came back down to the beach to let me know, and we went to get the rest of our stuff (back across the street to the car) to take to the room.

The room was renovated and it was definitely acceptable. New paint, new comforters, possibly new carpet. Some parts of the room were still rough, but I'm sure it was an improvement over the property's previous existence as "The Poindexter". The A/C worked great (except a tad noisy, but I'd rather have a little noisy than A/C that didn't work!), and the shower was THE most pressure I've had in years, and THE hottest water. I couldn't turn it off after the first shower because I loved the pressure! Flat Panel TV, DVD player, full size fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron. The balcony was an ok size, not overwhelmingly big, but I was glad to have it. If you like to watch TV in the evenings, be aware that they had very few channels to choose from...maybe 12-14? Definitely lacking there. The next day, housekeeping cleaned our room promptly. No complaints there. Three pools, middle pool is the kids play area. Plenty of lounge chairs, great beach access, walking distance to Pier 14 and the Boardwalk. Small fitness area, I think I saw one washer/dryer, and a foozball table in the "gameroom".

As far as the parking, it's across the street as everyone has mentioned. If that's full, there's another lot beyond that across another secondary street. And if that's full, they also utilize the first three rows on the other side of the Mamma Mia Restaurant (the restaurant separates their main lot from the three rows in the other lot). Parking was a little tight in the main lot (definitely worried about dings to the car, but none happened, thankfully). And because it seemed to always be full, we hesitated to take the car out to do anything, even drive to dinner. But we did drive to dinner at Olive Garden the first night (and realized after we got there that it was close enough that we could have walked there, but didn't realize it), and did find a space in one of the three alternative rows when we came back. Didn't take the car out the next day at all.

Check out on July 5th was a breeze at just before 6:00am.

All in all, this was a great value for the July 4th weekend at a total of $245 including tax for the two nights, Oceanfront. A sigh of relief on my part, too, since it wasn't a disaster like I thought it might be. While it's no Ritz Carlton (most properties there in Myrtle Beach aren't), it turned out to be pretty good. The location was great, staff was friendly and helpful, pool areas were clean and maintained, and the accommodations were more than acceptable. While I might like to try a different place the next time I visit, I would not go out of my way to avoid this property.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jdljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2010

After reading some of the reviews I was worried but after getting there I had no problems. We checked in right on time and they took us to the room, the kitchen was fully stocked with everything you needed to cook if thats what you wanted to do full refrigerator, microwave, toaster, etc. The balcony was a little small but fine for two people. I had the oceanview room and you could see it from clear even though it was facing the other hotel. The room was cleaned everyday and was clean the whole trip. We stayed on a busy friday, saturday, and sunday but the service was fine. It was within walking distance of major attractions and the beach was footsteps away.

I kept hearing about it being a bad neighborhood and everything but I had no problems me and my girlfriend felt fine walking around at day and night time. If I had to comment to any problem it would be the hot tub was small, but we didn't even have time for it to be honest.

I hope this helps but I would highly recommend this hotel staff was nice, got my cash deposit back with no hassel and enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbum50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

I stayed at Palmetto Shores with my three siblings, and we enjoyed the location--right on the ocean and in very easy walking distance of the boardwalk. Next time we might want to choose a quieter part of town--it was just a couple of blocks from the crazy nightlife, and the traffic was fairly heavy.
The room did have bunk beds, which we wanted, and it was clean. The room was very small, though--no place to sit in the room except for the beds. Also, false advertising alert about the website: there are pictures of happy people using computers in a lab with a printer, and this place does not exist. You can only get wifi in the hotel lobby, and you have to bring a laptop or you'll have no computer access at all.
Service was decent, but they came by only once a day, and if you didn't want to leave your room the minute they came by, you wouldn't get your room made up that day. Definitely bring shampoo--they will not give you enough.
Probably best to give them your damage deposit in cash, because it's difficult to get it back, even if your room is perfect.
In general, though--the price was good for an oceanfront hotel, and they do have good special offers, especially in early June.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arwencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
#86 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#137 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#121 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#125 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
0.2 mi away
Yachtsman Resort
Yachtsman Resort
#28 of 34 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmetto Shores Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Shores Oceanfront

Property: Palmetto Shores Oceanfront
Address: 1706 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3216
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmetto Shores Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new, completely renovated, Palmetto Shores Myrtle Beach; centrally located to all the amenities the Grand Strand offers. No matter what season you visit, there will be tons of activities to keep you busy. You’ll find wide spans of pristine sandy beaches outside of our three oceanfront towers where our guests have a wide range of options from ocean-front rooms and efficiencies all the way up to 4-bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palmetto Shores Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Shores Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing