We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aqua Beach Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
SeaGlass Tower(Myrtle Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenn Marion Motel(Myrtle Beach)
View Hotel
Dolphin Motel(Myrtle Beach)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Bay Shore Motel(Myrtle Beach)
View Hotel
Aquarius Motels(Myrtle Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roxanne Towers(Myrtle Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveller rating
218
229
91
22
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
229
91
22
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetferris wheelroom was cleanburner stovewithin walking distancepool and hot tubsmall kitchenettewould stay here againfull size fridgeboard walkhotel is in a great locationgreat view of the oceancontinental breakfaststaff was very friendly and helpfulbooked this hotelnice place to staybike week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 598 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2012

When we walked in not a great smell. terrible elevator service smelled like feet. the rooms were fine, but smelled bad. the maid service was terrible, we called several times, but still didn't get cleaned, the carpets were also disgusting. the balcony was hard to open, but good view. we had crazy neighbors that broke the window. the pool and hottub was good. overall okay but gross, wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FunnyTheWayItIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

We thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on the Aqua Beach Inn. Please know that all of your issues are being addressed with the correct department heads. We hope that you give us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made thanks to your comments.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

People in the lobby were very polite and friendly upon arrival. The pool was a lot of fun and there was plenty of lounge chairs, tables and umbrella's to accomodate the hotel. They had gas grilles for everyone to use. The room was ok, but the cleaning service was terrible! They did as little as possible- only vacuumed one day out of 7 and never changed the sheets! The carpet was absolutely disgusting in the rooms and elevators! Had to call several times to have our room cleaned and to get toilet
paper and clean towels. The view was great and it's location was perfect if you want lots of action and nightlife!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank horrycounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Thank you for writing a review of the Aqua Beach Inn. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time while you stayed with us. We apologize for any issues you had with the housekeeping, and know that they have been addressed with the head of the department and we are investigating the issues that you reported. We hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you on any return trips you make to the Myrtle Beach area.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach In

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

People at front desk were very polite, beyond that... Eewwww...upon entering our room there was a strong smell of urine. The headboard was sitting loose behind the bed... Upon informing the desk the headboard was fixed, but room reeked, and nothing ever done. Informed front desk day 1.
Bedding not changed..sand in the bed. My kids asked for sheets and changed them. Never vacuumed. Not swept. No clean towels unless I went and got them. Did not refill the soap, shampoo or conditioner. View from balcony was of a disgusting garbage area from the restaurant in front of the hotel. Not much parking close to the hotel, so have to walk across the road, passing the neighborhood dumpster pu!!! The beach was busy, and the shops all have the same things. Restaurants were speedy, and food was ok, service was terrible. I am 39, married, mother of three, 15,13 ,& 11. We are not wealthy, wanted the kids to see the ocean, very disappointed... Lots of money, for a dirty STINKY, room!!! I even asked for them to clean the bathroom extra good, but nothing was done.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank saverforvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review of the Aqua Beach Inn. We just wanted to inform you that while the chief engineer was fixing the head board in the room he inspected the A/C unit, the seal on the toilet, and under refrigerator to see if there was a source of the oder you mentioned and nothing was found. We do apologize that you had issues with housekeeping and the have been addressed with the head of that department. Just to inform you, most hotels only change sheets every third or fourth day. You only stayed with us two nights and that is why your sheets were not changed. I do apologize for the dumpster behind the restaurant, unfortunately most businesses have their dumpsters behind them. We hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I stayed here four days. Here is my summary.

The Front Desk
The front desk staff were a little slow with check-in but they're nice ladies, though. You can get more towels and toiletries at the front desk. Check out was fast, too.

The Room
The room itself is spacey and clean. The bathroom looks remodeled and the sheets and comforter look and feel similar to a Hampton Inn or Courtyard Marriott. The water pressure is good. The toiletries smell good.

All rooms come with a kitchenette that also looks modern and has dishes and utensils. I heard you get charged if they aren't cleaned though, even a glass. They have full fridges so you can load up on groceries but the only trash in the small one in the bathroom.

I think our room neighbors some hicks or teens, but I only heard them talking for about ten minutes. Maybe if we put a towel down by the divider it may help. They tried to open our connected door a few times. Jerks. There are a lot of reckless teenage boys here this week.

The room decor seems nice. The TV is a little small though and not placed central to the bed.

The "Ocean Facing View"
There is a balcony and you can see the ocean. By ocean view I think it meant ocean facing. Yes, all 60 guest rooms face the ocean, however most of the view I see is of buildings across the street but the low rises allow you to see some ocean. I get a gross view of the trash from the building in front and the roar of the air conditioner units causing extra heat.

The Atmosphere
At night there is a lot of noise outside until about 1AM because of the amusement rides, but the noise drops down considerably afterwards, but I'm here on a weekday. The area is densely populated. I didn't realize that when I made the reservation. This is definitely not the remote area I was thinking it could be.

The Rate
I actually am here on a Living Social travel deal for $99/night but didn't realize there is an add on resort fee that comes to about $42 every two days.

The Free Internet
Ah yes, and the spotty Internet connection leaves much to be desired. Tethering my phone is the best way to go here.

The Elevator
Another big downside is although I am at the end of the hall, I can still hear the murmur of the elevator every time it's in use. The walls aren't thick. Also, don't plan on using the elevator much. Since there is only one and 11 floors of people with 60 guest rooms, it won't be of use. Maids and guests alike share this so forget about it in the morning.

The "Minimal" Maid Service
On day two I noticed the maid service did a minimal job. They made the bed and put some towels together in the bathroom. I'm not sure what else. They didn't clean the toilet, sink surface or shower. They didn't vacuum. There were no new toiletries, still some trash, like the soap wrapper not thrown away and the tub had dirty cloths in it. I guess you have to make it super obvious if you want them to change your towels.

To get them to change the towels I had to pile them all in a heap outside my door. Otherwise, they'll leave them hanging, crumbled, whatever.

They'll leave trash left on the tub unless you throw it away yourself in the one trash can.

On the fourth day I finally asked the maid if she'll clean the toliets and the shower, and if she'd vaccum. She said if they really need it she can. So keep in mind this is not standard to clean your toilets and showers.

Also, they may forget to give you a full towel load. The last night we washed ourselves with hand towels because they never gave us wash cloths.


The Grounds
The grounds of the area aren't well maintained. My boyfriend stepped into a shard of glass washing his feet by the pool. There is a trash smell from the dumpsters behind the buildings near the overflow parking and people also leave trash everywhere. The location is in walking distance of many things, though.

SOME HINTS

Here are some hints if you stay here to enhance your experience.

1. Get an end unit room on the South side. Better view.
2. Leave a message if you want towels changed, toilet cleaned, tub cleaned, or any other service you may think should come with the room.
3. Wear sandals when washing your feet by the pool.
4. Run your AC to muffle the elevator.
5. Get a higher room to avoid elevator sounds but you need to be ok waiting awhile for the elevator or really like stairs; otherwise get an room lower down and don't depend on the elevator.
6. Know that this is a densely populated area with a lot of junk food and smoking, and trash, and be ok with that.
7. Wash all kitchen stuff thoroughly.
8. Keep in mind the resort fee.
9. Don't depend on their Internet.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the elevator on the south side. You'll still hear the elevator but not as bad and the view will be better. Get a room higher up to hear less of the ground noise, but keep in mind you will probably depend more on stairs than the elevator.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jenssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Thank you for your review of the Aqua Beach Inn. We are sorry that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. As we are centrally located in down town Myrtle Beach it is very populated in July, which is the middle of out busy season. We do apologize for any gap in the housekeeping service that you received and will look into the issues you have presented. We do not charge guests that leave one dirty glass in their room. Also, if towels are hanging up we do not change them as we have a notice in all units the if guest would like to help conserve resources if they hang their towels we will leave them and if you would like them changed just leave them on the floor and we will replace them. As for the dumpster, that is property of the city and is used by several business. We have contacted the city about the issues with it that you have brought up. We hope that you decide to visit the Aqua Beach Inn if you return to the Myrtle Beach area.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This was our second and last stay. Room was dirty, no towels, had to ask for room service. Rooms and elevators have a musty smell. Had to ask for something to mask the smell in our room. Room service is horrible. Great location with poor service. Stayed July 22-28. Checked out early due to hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Huneyride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

We are so sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We have taken all of your comments and have passed them on to the correct department heads so that we can better our property. We hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews