We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel
Ranked #82 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I've never stayed in a Best Western hotel before but I was very surprised and pleased at the quality of the hotel. Nice decor, clean rooms, and the hotel lobby was welcoming. The beds were comfortable enough for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Chireesse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Although the bed was comfy and we slept well on this king-size bed, we could not see properly to apply make up (especially, eye make-up) or shave (my husband) unless we leaned way over the sink to get close enough to the mirror to have any light. There were various areas of the bathroom that were dirty, (ventilator, fins were coated with dust and dirt. A wipe of a tissue across the bottom fin produced a dirty, fuzzy coating. There was hair and lint on the floor under the counter (sink area). The furniture was sticky on the surfaces of table tops and around the microwave oven. Because this was the only available room, we could not change to another so we stuck it out. As we entered the room, there was a very stale, heavy aroma that did go away after the AC cooled it down. $139 plus 3 taxes brought the total to $156 when it should have been under $80, total.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Horrible front staff and housekeeping. You'll be lucky if you even get your room cleaned or clean towels. The housekeeping will hang the do not disturb sign on your door if it gets late and they're not done, so they won't have to clean your room. Or they take your dirty towels, and won't give you any clean ones. This happened to us and our friends down the hall. Apparently it's a normal thing because when I did complain to the front desk, they claimed that kids kept putting those do not disturb signs on doors. I explained to the manager that was not the case because it was our own sign from our room that was on the door, and their housekeeping was just lazy. They never offered any apology. There was someone's socks in the drawers, and paper scraps on the bathroom floor when we checked in. The ice machine on our floor was empty the entire time, the pool is small and water is very cloudy all the time. Extremely hard to get in and out of parking lot as well. You will be disappointed in this place. Save your money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWeaver2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I direct an educational group consisting of about 50 teens...yes, teens. We're sponsored by the federal government;therefore, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to understand our budget. I searched earnestly to find a nice, clean, friendly, and affordable establishment that could meet our needs for a short summer trip; and praise God we did! The entire operation was great...from managerial staff to maintenance. This is not a five star hotel; but the clean rooms, friendly and accommodating staff certainly makes a great impression! I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gadsden St. Col... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Internet was almost non-existent at this hotel. When I could log into the service it soon dropped off leaving me stranded! I would not stay there again. Room was OK, but do not expect high speed internet, it just doesn't exist in this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPMBH, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

I want to start by apologizing that our internet service was lacking during your stay. While some of the issue was external, we have since taken the steps to correct the issue. We now have a newer, stronger internet service, as well as a new company for internet support. I hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Clean, spacious room & bathroom (handicap, not that we requested). Fairly quiet (being next to elevator). Close to stores, restaurants, & I22. Breakfast good. Pool nice but small. Has fridge & microwave in room. I'd stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank photographerrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had rented an apt/condo and we did not like the way it looked on the outside and we had our two pets with us and Best Western was pet friendly and we had stayed there in the past and so we had no where else to go or stay with the pets and our ride home was 3 hrs away so we stayed where we knew it was nice and clean. Best Western has always been clean and a very nice place to stay. We only stayed one night with the pets and came home the next morning. Our vacation was ruin by a company that did not honor giving our money back for not staying in their so call apt/condo. Best Western welcome us and we will continue to stay in Best Western whenever we decide to go back to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach N Kings Hwy
8.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
#67 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area
9.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
#88 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
85 reviews
10.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel

Address: 9551 N Kings Hwy, Highway 17 North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4005 (Formerly Plantation Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £48 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach! We are 100% smoke-free and have been completely renovated for 2012. Guests of our property enjoy our outdoor pool, business center, hot deluxe breakfast, 24 hour fitness room, wireless internet access, on-site parking, and unlimited calls to continental USA absolutely free. Want to bring along your furry family member? No problem! We have pet friendly rooms. (Pet friendly rooms are limited & subject to availability.) Book your stay in one of our 90 spacious rooms today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing