We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost Town”
Review of Staybridge Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites
Ranked #67 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
ASHEVILLE
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ghost Town”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The hotel was nice, but it is located in an area that is a "ghost town". Most stores, restaurants, etc. around the area are closed down. The room was nice, the continental breakfast was very nice, but there were so many kids and teenagers, running and yelling down the hall most of the night. I'm not sure where the parents were. We cancelled our reservations for the remainder of the week and moved to another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    98
    41
    22
    16
See reviews for
156
66
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We booked Staybridge Suites for a spur of the moment getaway before back to school. Our dilemas included traveling with 4 adults and 2 children, 2 night stay, last minute booking, and budget restrictions. I did a lot of research prior to booking and overall was happy with the hotel. The front desk staff were always very gracious and helpful. If you take your cooler down to them, they will fill it with ice (no ice machines on the floors). The 2 bedroom suite was very nice to have with 6 people, for the price, the size of the room could not be beaten. Kitchen was great, and who wouldn't want 2 bathrooms? The room could have been cleaner, but it wasn't nasty. We had a couple of lights that were out and a broken door handle. The front desk did take care of the issues immediately once we advised them. Our beds didn't have blankets, I didn't ask for any, but thought that was weird. Each bed had 2 sheets, we just set the thermostat to a higher temperature. Overall, they were comfortable. Free breakfast was OK, it's not very fair to complain about free, but was extremely crowded the days we were there. They also had a hours d vours/cocktail hour on the weeknights (not weekends) that included appetizers and free beer/wine (also very crowded). Free laundry was nice to have, but there were machines that were out of order. The pool area was nice we did enjoy spending time outside. The location is not good if you are planning to vacation at the beach. You have to drive everywhere (except for Medieval Times, which is right behind the hotel). So if you want to see the sunrise at the ocean, you have to load up and drive to the beach, find and pay for parking etc. We did find a few places to park that were free (up at 34th and Ocean Dr), but there you are very far from the boardwalk and other activities. If planning to go back to the beach, I would book something closer to the ocean (at least walking distance). This hotel worked for our short trip given the cost for the size of the room. For what we paid to stay here we could have booked a much smaller room on the ocean that would not have been comfortable for our family. It was weighing the options and size/budget won over location this time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank holly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel- off the beaten path but very nice once you get there. Great breakfast, and big rooms! Pretty close to everything you would want to see in myrtle beach! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jophotogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldie, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Suites are decent and not too old. We had rented a double suite for 5 days and it had 3 TVs. Reasonable kitchen-ware, decent common area with pool, small jacuzzi, nice BBQ Grill, Basketball court etc. Breakfast is simply fantastic with complimentary coffee/tea round-the-clock. Complimentary Wi-Fi and Washer/dryer. Good value for money, as the price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: If you are not a smoker, make sure you press the front desk for a non-smoking room that does not sme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemanth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We were traveling with our pet and had a great experience at this Hotel. The staff was
friendly and helpful. They were constantly cleaning and picking up the areas around the Hotel and re-filling the Towels by the pool. Rooms were clean and comfortable with all you need to feel at home. Work-out and Laundry area had plenty of free appliances and good variety of gym equipment. Breakfast was always good!
If you are looking for a comfortable, affordable way to travel with your pets or kids this place can not be beat!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I booked here through my credit card points reward system, no where did it mention this was a pet friendly hotel. Our room smelled like "wet dogs" and my son is allergic to long haired dogs and began to itch/whelt rather quickly. HOWEVER, the guest services clerk, Brittany was WONDERFUL. She was friendly, well organized, gave other room options, and contacted the General Manager, who was equally kind and efficient. They arranged for us to stay at a sister hotel near by at no additional cost to us...GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE. And, in the future maybe they will have a designated "pet floor" like other hotels, in which case I would give them another try.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

When my family decided to have our reunion in Myrtle Beach, we knew it would be a challenge because none of us lived in the area! The biggest issue was finding a hotel to accommodate our needs. The search proved to be frustrating at times, until I came across Staybridge Suites. I read the reviews about the closed amusement center, being isolated and comments about being under staffed. I kept coming back to this location and booked our reunion there on a leap of faith! My family is so glad that I did! We came from all over the country and liked the 2-bedroom suites, the outside courtyard (basketball goal, grills and pooled), complimentary breakfast, Thursday night manager's reception, meeting room and the awesome sales & management staff! Sure, there were some issues, but those were solved immediately. The only suggestion I would have is for some of the suite carpets to be replaced. The amusement park is closed that is nearby, but the hotel is not isolated (there is a residential area across the street, a church further down the street,etc). The hotel was easily accessible to the expressway and not far from the beach and another hidden jewel-the Boathouse restaurant! But that's another review...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juanita Mention S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
#62 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
224 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach at 48th Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites

Property: Staybridge Suites
Address: 303 Fantasy Harbour Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579-7431 (Formerly Sonesta ES Suites Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites Myrtle Beach - West Enjoy the convenient location to all of the best attractions of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina at the Staybridge Suites® Myrtle Beach-Fantasy Harbour hotel. Guests are within reach of everything this popular resort town has to offer and just a short distance from the airport. Your accommodations are in the center of it all. You'll love enjoying our complimentary, hot breakfast before strolling along the Boardwalk while shopping for souvenirs. Minutes from the hotel's location, Myrtle Beach offers surfing and swimming opportunities along with excellent sunbathing and picnic spots. After a long day in the sun, you can return to the hotel's welcoming suites. Myrtle Beach is teeming with business and corporate travelers enjoy amenities that ensure convenience. Free wired and wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center help you stay productive. The convention center and universities like Coastal Carolina University are a short drive away. When you're looking for Myrtle Beach accommodations, look no further than this well-equipped hotel. The refreshing outdoor pool and well-equipped Fitness Center are some of the extras that help make your stay more memorable. Be sure to stop by the Pantry for snacks before heading down to the sports court, outdoor pool and courtyard. We invite you to "Get Comfortable" and call this hotel home on your next beach visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Myrtle Beach - Fantasy Harbour Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing