We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place to stay!”
Review of Staybridge Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Staybridge Suites
Ranked #62 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place to stay!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Sonesta is an absolutely gorgeous place to stay. We decided to take a last minute trip to MB for July 4th of 2013. It just so happened that a 2 bedroom suite at Sonesta was the cheapest place available.

The rooms are excellent with a little kitchenette, nice sized bedrooms, and the beds were pretty comfortable. Though they do seem a little older, including tube TV's, however rooms are still nice, especially for the price.

The only gripe I did have is having a problem getting checked in. Check-in was at 3 p.m. though our room was not cleaned and ready until 4:30 - 5 p.m.



With that said the manager was nice enough to take a nice amount off our our rate for the inconvenience.

Overall I still do recommend this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Proroc987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erikreis, General Manager at Staybridge Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Proroc987,

Thank you for such a nice response to your recent stay in Myrtle Beach at the Sonesta ES. I am glad you found us for your last minute trip.

With a family the two bedroom does have enough room for everyone.

When you plan your next trip to Myrtle Beach I hope you choose us again, in a few months we plan on some updates including new TV's. Sounds like it was a busy check-in day, sorry we could not get you in any earlier.

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we look forward to future stay and reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    100
    41
    22
    16
See reviews for
158
66
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Okay, so the neighborhood is abandoned. And the hotel dearly needs an update. But let's talk about why this is a decent hotel in sometimes overpriced Myrtle Beach.

After a 14 hour drive I SO appreciated the complimentary appetizers and beer/wine libations. And the breakfast bar was always well stocked, clean and extensive. And how did they know I like cheddar cheese with my grits?! The gal who managed that area was so pleasant and kind.

Barbara at the front desk continually worked with us in correcting a reservation challenge. She is a real credit to the organization and made our visit less stressful than it could have been.

The rooms are functional and clean. They are not elegant but then again, we were not paying $300 a night. Parking is gratis and the pool is well maintained.

We were at the property for three nights and it worked well for us. The only limitation was we were several miles away from the beach but given the cooler and cloudy weather we were not disadvantaged.

Room Tip: Other travelers have suggested that you ensure your room is away from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clearlylovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erikreis, General Manager at Staybridge Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear clearlylovesfood,

Thank you for such a nice response to your recent stay in Myrtle Beach at the Sonesta ES. I am glad you found our hotel to fit your needs.

I agree.... cheese in grits is a must! I am glad you were able to make it in time for our evening social with the complimentary appetizers, beer, and wine. Its nice to have after a 14 hour drive.

I will be sure to give Lucinda (kitchen) and Barbara (front desk) kudos for their good work.

When you plan your next trip to Myrtle Beach I hope you choose us again, in a few months we plan on some updates including new TV's.

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we look forward to future stays and reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is an old Stay Bridge Suite hotel. The outside is clean and freshly painted but the rooms are dated and somewhat worn. It is a suite hotel with a full kitchen. Each room has a smaller tube type television. The breakfast buffet was good but only had one waffle maker and the line waited 15 minutes to get there. The neighbor hood us the biggest detractor. There was a good bit out outside noise from The near by streets. All of the eating places were several miles away. It was a good value if you didn't mind the location

Room Tip: This hotel offers smoking rooms so please mKe sure to ask for a non smoking room if you don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erikreis, General Manager at Staybridge Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Art S

Thank you for such a nice response to your recent stay in Myrtle Beach at the Sonesta ES. I am glad you found our hotel to fit your needs.

We have added an additional waffle machine to help with the lines, thanks for your comments.

When you plan your next trip to Myrtle Beach I hope you choose us again, in a few months we plan on some updates including new TV's.

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we look forward to future stays and reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I travel a lot for work, on average of 5 to 7 nights a month. I have certain standards that I use to rate my stays from Location, WIFI, Breakfast- Food availability ,quietness and room comfort. Sonesta is not in a good area. There is nothing close by and rather depressed location. WIfI worked well and breakfast was a nice enough spread. The room looked old and in need of updating . Stains on the floor, not the cleanest. Just passable. Public spaces were nice as well as the pool area. I think for the money one could choose better. Staff was very nice but overall would unlikely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichiganPicturechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Booked this online even after reading some of the not great reviews. It was during bike week and the room ended up being a handicapped accessible room. As the parent of a disabled (now adult) child, I have to give credit where it's due. The doorways are wide, the bathrooms perfect for those with disabilities in wheelchairs. Wide door, wide room, places to hang clothes within easy reach, even a fold down seat in the tub. This room was very well thought out. The room was exceptionally clean and well appointed. Very much a surprise! The complimentary breakfast included omlettes, sausage, cereals, Belgian waffles, pastries, fresh fruit etc. They even had southern pecan coffee that was delicious! While not the touristy area of Myrtle Beach, everything is within a short drive. The desk people were very kind and helpful too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdnasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I booked this room so our family could escape the constant sounds of Harleys during bike week. The location is good if you want some peace and quiet away from the boardwalk, but close enough for us( only 3 miles from the water). Breakfast is decent with what you'd expect from a free breakfast bar, complete with belgen waffles. Staff was friendly. The hotel is dated though with no flat screens, at least not in our room.

This place could very easily earn multiple 5 star ratings with a fresh coat of paint and updating in the rooms.


Overall we would definitely book this place again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nectros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Sonesta was a good place for one night stay. Room was decent, nothing special, nothing bad too. My sister used a sofa bed in my parent’s room which was uncomfortable. Every room has a full kitchen and refrigerator which would be nice if you’re there for a few days or more. Complimentary breakfast in the morning was A+++. Full spread of lots of options, and the breakfast staff was very diligent!
I give it a 4 star overall rating, but the breakfast was definitely 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougyfresh97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
#65 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
225 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach at 48th Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites

Property: Staybridge Suites
Address: 303 Fantasy Harbour Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579-7431 (Formerly Sonesta ES Suites Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites Myrtle Beach - West Enjoy the convenient location to all of the best attractions of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina at the Staybridge Suites® Myrtle Beach-Fantasy Harbour hotel. Guests are within reach of everything this popular resort town has to offer and just a short distance from the airport. Your accommodations are in the center of it all. You'll love enjoying our complimentary, hot breakfast before strolling along the Boardwalk while shopping for souvenirs. Minutes from the hotel's location, Myrtle Beach offers surfing and swimming opportunities along with excellent sunbathing and picnic spots. After a long day in the sun, you can return to the hotel's welcoming suites. Myrtle Beach is teeming with business and corporate travelers enjoy amenities that ensure convenience. Free wired and wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center help you stay productive. The convention center and universities like Coastal Carolina University are a short drive away. When you're looking for Myrtle Beach accommodations, look no further than this well-equipped hotel. The refreshing outdoor pool and well-equipped Fitness Center are some of the extras that help make your stay more memorable. Be sure to stop by the Pantry for snacks before heading down to the sports court, outdoor pool and courtyard. We invite you to "Get Comfortable" and call this hotel home on your next beach visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Myrtle Beach - Fantasy Harbour Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing