We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class in Myrtle Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First class in Myrtle Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at this Hampton Inn for four nights around New Years 2012. The lobby was especially beautiful and homey with the Christmas tree and hardwood floors. The front desk staff was extremely kind and helpful. The hotel consists of two towers. The nice thing about having two towers is that there are not that many rooms per floor, maybe 7 or 8ish. Made for a less crowded feel even with the property at capacity. Also there are seperate breakfast areas for each tower.

The rooms are tastefully decorated with a nice size balcony with two rocking chairs, nice touch. Nice comfy furnishings strategically located throughout the room.

If you're into swimming pools and hot tubs this is definitely the place to go. Two indoor pools and hot tubs, outside there's a lazy river and pools galore.

I think the location, south end of the beach, is great. It's close enough to most attractions and there are plenty of dining options within walking distance. Also, it is a fairly quiet location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HobieMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,878
    599
    168
    56
    25
See reviews for
1,219
870
58
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights December 31st 2011 and January 1st 2012. I was so impressed when we came into the lobby. This is the most beautiful Hampton Inn I've ever been in. The hotel is just as beautiful as the photos would suggest. We booked our stay through travelocity and check-in was very easy. We had an ocean front room which was very clean, the bed was comfortable, the decor was crisp, clean coastal and our view was beautiful. We didn't take advantage of the pools but in passing by them they looked very nice, large hot tub, indoor pool, great property for the money. The beach area beyond the hotel was clean and wide and not very crowded (of course it is winter). They served a free continental breakfast which included the usual plus eggs and a waffle station - pretty good to be free. They had ample seating for the crowd of people that take advantage of the breakfast, some large tables but also some more intimate spaces with just two rockers or sofa/loveseat around the fireplace ... I just can't say enough good about this hotel. Parking was so easy the parking garage is attached to the front of the hotel so no treking across the street to a detached parking garage. The staff was friendly and I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urbancreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Decided to stay here based upon reviews and overall am glad we did. We were in the area visiting family and there are plenty of other cheaper hotels to choose from in December, but did not want to stay in a dive and wanted to make sure the wife and kids were happy. Hotels at the beach take a beating due to the amount of visitors, sand, salt water, etc..., but this place is maintained very well, and looking at the state of the interior, you would never know it is located on the beach. It does not show the typical wear and tear of a Myrtle Beach hotel. This hotel definitely reinvests money back into the property to keep it in good shape.

We arrived late in the evening, but the kids were able to swim in the indoor pools so they were thrilled. The staff even offered to keep it open beyond normal hours for our kids if we wanted! We rented a one bedroom suite that was spacious (including a large bathroom) and the king sized bed was very comfortable, so the wife was happy. If there was a negative thing, the pilllows we had were a little small and flat compared to similar value hotels and we could have used a couple more, but otherwise the room was great. I am sure the staff would have delivered more pillows if we asked, but we were too tired to bother with it. The breakfast was very good with a big selection. Additionally, the entire staff was very friendly and accomodating.

The only real issue we had (and I think this is a highly unusual incident) is my youngest daughter eyes started to itch and water as well as a rash broke out on her face immediately after showering and drying off using a hotel towel (after swimming). She laid on the hotel sheets to sleep and the situation became worse. We actually had a couple sheets we keep in the car for when our dog travels with us, so we let her sleep on those and wrapped a couple of our shirts around her pillow and it calmed down such that she could sleep and the next day she was fine (she dried off on one of my tee shirts after showering in the morning). She has never been allergic to anything or ever had a rash like that, but everytime she would touch a sheet or towel, it bothered her. It did not bother the rest of the family, and I have stayed in Hampton Inns numerous times and never had a problem, so I think it was just one of those things. Upon checkout, we asked the staff what brand detergent is used (just so we could avoid it in the future), and they advised it is not a brand we would buy in a store, but rather a product ordered in larger quantities from a hotel vendor. I would not let this deter anyone staying here unless you possibly have very sensitive skin. This is the only reason I gave 4 stars to the sleep quality instead of 5.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

My family and I decided to make a quick trip to Myrtle Beach, SC for the Beach Ball Classic High School Basketball Tournament. This hotel was convenient, clean and the staff was absolutely fantastic. For the price, it couldn't be beat. Parking was a breeze and everything from check-in to check-out was just as most of the reviews here report. The location on the beach was beautiful and I have to say that it earns its high ranking here on TripAdvisor. Our room overlooked the ocean and featured a small balcony that was perfect for a quick, relaxing break in the evening. We were lucky enough to have exceptionally warm weather during our stay. All in all, I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAS504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Inspired by the many laudatory rating we saw on Trip Advisor, we stopped by this hotel for a look-see before making up our minds. In just a couple of minutes of observing people in the lobby, we saw a friendly group of hotel staff interacting with a lot of happy guests. This was to be the theme throughout our two-day stay. Consistently good customer service without being in our faces and a determination to make the guests feel welcomed and valued. A special shout-out to Assistant Manager Faye for her efforts.

The hotel is located directly on the oceanfront, and you can have your feet in the water or sand within 2 minutes of leaving the room. It's about 5 minute drive to the central touristy area of Myrtle Beach. Our visit was in late December, so the crowds will be a totally different ball game during spring break or the summer. Much has been written about MB crowds, traffic, and the slightly seedy nature of the tourists, but we had no complaints.

Our room was definitely above average for this range of hotels, and the beds & bed linens were clean, nice, and comfortable. The room and the public spaces were clean and well-maintained. The pools were all in good shape, too -- it was too chilly to use any of the outdoor ones, but the inside ones were just fine (one was salt-water, one was fresh water). The breakfast buffets were pretty much standard fare, but we're always stocked and refreshed, and you didn't get the bums rush as it was closing. There were rocking chairs and reading nooks all over the lobby areas if you just wanted to sit and bask in the sun while watching the ocean.

The location of the hotel is a major selling point, but we were really pleased by the people working there. Hence, we'll happily add our review to the lists of others who have give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: It is worth the premium to have an oceanfront room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonbonmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We rented a condo in North Myrtle Beach in August 2011 for our family which includes two children of 5 and 2 years old. Once it was time to leave, Hurricane Irene was passing through the area but the Airline assured us that our flight home was still on. So we packed up our belongings & kids and headed to the airport. We returned the condo keys and rental car and went to the airport only to be told that our flight home had just been cancelled. The ticket agent scrawled a phone number on a piece of paper and told us that this hotel was going to take us in until the storm passed. Within 10 minutes a friendly airport shuttle driver arrived and took us to the Hampton Inn & Suites. From the moment we arrived in the lobby, we knew that we were in great hands! Ginny at the front desk gave our kids fresh apples and helped us check in. We had a wonderful and clean queen oceanfront room with two queen beds and a fridge. There was free Wi-fi and a great free breakfast with make your own waffles, juice, fresh eggs , bagels, toast, fruit coffe and so much more!! It was great!! The pools and lazy river were clean and provided much fun for the kids. The beach was clean and beautiful!! We were there two days while the Hurricane subsided. Upon leaving, we noticed the prayer of dedication framed in the lobby by the Christian owners of the hotel and knew that we were being taken care of!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FMJNLuv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
311 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stay here every year when visiting family for Christmas. For the price, you just can't beat it. The rooms are clean, comfortable, have microwaves and mini-fridges, free Wi-Fi, and gorgeous ocean views. There also is what appears to be a great outdoor pool area with a lazy river, but I'm rarely in MB during that season so haven't seen anyone using it. Unlike the parking garages at some other ocean-front hotels in MB, I have never had a problem getting a rental vehicle up the ramps (I've had minivans, SUVs, and traditional sedans here -- all with no problem at all). The staff is friendly, and the free breakfast is actually pretty good. I've spent more money in MB on a room, but never had a dramatically better one. Don't come here to work though -- there essentially is no work space at all (just a small table).

Room Tip: Floors 1 - 3 have direct access to the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
8.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
5.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#9 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Address: 1801 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront hotel, located directly on the beach. Our Myrtle Beach hotel is located just two miles from Myrtle Beach Jetport and minutes from local attractions like Market Common, Broadway at the Beach, Coastal Grande Mall, and Myrtle Beach's new 'Sky Wheel'. Our two-story lobby with pine floors offers beautiful Atlantic Ocean views. Start your day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) and enjoy views of the ocean. If you're on the go, be sure to grab one of our Hampton's On the Run(R) Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday. Enjoy a gourmet blend of coffee available every day, all day. Sunbathe and swim in one of our two lazy rivers, three outdoor and four indoor pools at our Myrtle Beach oceanfront hotel. Our beachfront playground is great for the little ones in your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing