We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 210 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Better than I expected!”
Reviewed 7 July 2009

My family and I LOVED this place! I knew from the reviews that it would be a nice place to stay, but it turned out to be better than we expected. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. The view of the ocean when you enter the lobby is breathtaking.

We didn't realize how many pools it has. It has three large pools, three lazy rivers (one kiddie), a kids' splash area, and two huge hot tubs. Even though we stayed during the busy Fourth of July weekend, I never felt the place was overcrowded. Because they have so much to do, everybody was spread out.

We stayed in an Oceanview Double Queen room. A bit small for a family of four, but tolerable. The north tower where we stayed is new, so everything was extremely nice and clean. It had a large LG flatscreen TV which my husband loved. The only complaint I had about the room was there was very little drawer space. After my daughter & I took up the three drawers available, my husband and son had to live out of a suitcase. They didn't mind though, so it wasn't a big deal.

There were two HUGE breakfast areas. They had small tables for couples, tables for four, and I believe tables for six or eight. There was even a bar area with stools. I never saw anyone looking for seats. The breakfast was good. There was cereal, muffins, pastries, bagels, fruit, oatmeal, biscuits, and always some type of hot food such as omelets, french toast sticks, or scrambled eggs. One morning they also had gravy with sausage. They offer orange juice, apple juice, lemonade, and milk. Of course, this is all complimentary.

We rented an umbrella and chairs on the beach through a separate service, but directly in front of the hotel. For two days I believe it was $50. It's cheaper if you rent more than one day. I think for one day it is $30. You can reserve an umbrella for other days. This is great because you don't have to get up early and run down to the beach as they are being set up to get one before they're gone.

The staff is great. My daughter's face got sunburned, so instead of paying $7 for a bottle of aloe at their little "store", they gave me two sample packets from their hotel first aid kit. The maid service always provided us with extra towels when requested, and a couple of the cleaners asked us in passing if we were pleased.

I guess the only complaint would be the parking garage. It is three or four levels. The parking is extremely tight and somewhat confusing. I don't know how the larger vehicles got parked. We had to do a lot of back-and-forth manuevering to get into the space. Then we'd have to let the kids out so they wouldn't open their car doors against another vehicle. This one minor issue wouldn't stop us from visiting here again. I'm just happy they had a garage. I guess they did the best they could with what space they had.

Overall, we couldn't have been more pleased. We've definitely found our Myrtle Beach hotel for many years to come.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLT93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,966
    639
    176
    62
    28
See reviews for
1,301
916
61
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Just returned home from an 8 night stay. I am a frequent business traveler and stay at Hilton properties when available. Our family of 3 including a 15 yr old found this property to be terrific. The location was good --- the beach directly in front of the hotel did not seem crowded at all, even around the July 4th holiday. Our room was great -- we stayed in a 2 BR suite and enjoyed the full kitchen. Room was very quiet! The hotel staff was top notch -- 2 of the front desk employees -- Susan and Ginny were friendly and very helpful. Tom, the general manager was a delight to deal with --- he demonstrated THE BEST customer service that I have experienced at any Hilton property ----- and I have stayed in plenty! The breakfast buffet was adequate but beware when there is only one breakfast station open --- it is quite a madhouse, especially around 9-10a. They do have 2 stations open on the weekends but I would suggest that they have 2 open at all times during the busy season. Our room had a spacious balcony with 2 rocking chairs -- we all enjoyed using these to take in the ocean front view. Had a few issues with our room not being cleaned until late afternoon but this was quickly rectified by requesting an early morning cleaning by housekeeping. We would definitely stay at this property again and are planning to next year.

Helpful?
2 Thank 1travelerbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago suburbs, IL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days in June and would totally come back/ The whole place is done in a cottage vacation home style of decor. In the public areas it seriously feels like a vacation home! They have a continental breakfast every morning, a bunch of pools, a small playgroud, hammocks for anyones use, and a great beach! It also seems like a wonderful place for families and people with young kids.
my husband and I were upgraded to a family suite. Our room was awesome! Two balconies, one with 2 rocking chairs. Very nice touch! Nice kitchenette, living room, a room with bunk beds and a full bed, a seperate bathroom with two showers, and then our king room with the other balcony! Clean and comfy! It also is in a great location and the beach seemed less choatic then the other hotels near us.
Overall, very nice, clean, spacious, and we would definitely stay here again! Maybe with family or babies if we have them someday!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank threepooches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

I came here with my family. Get an ocean side room. There are literally 9 pools here. The hot tubs and three pools are underneath the buildings (great if you've had too much sun.) There is an awesome kids pool with lots of water mushrooms, spray jets, etc. There are two lazy pools where you can just sit on a float and get slowly pushed around a loop. The beach out front is an easy stroll and very nice. If you can afford to do so, it's totally worth staying here versus somewhere across the street from the beach. You will have a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. A new tower was completed in April 09. Ask for the North tower if you want to stay on the newer side. We were upgraded to a suite in the South tower and it's been great. I suspect they upgraded all of the rooms with the opening of the North tower as our suite had multiple flat screen TVs and was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bartman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

This place must be pretty new. Everything looked new. Beautiful oceanfront hotel in Myrtle Beach. Only complaints: bed was a little on the hard side and Hampton Inn's don't have a bar or restaurant for evening dining. Other than that, it was great! Nice to have a small frig & microwave in room and the whirlpool was a nice stress reliever! The fitness room was small but all equipment I needed was there (eliptical, treadmill, free weights) and it overlooks the lobby and large windows to see the ocean while working out! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimkru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mint Hill, NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2009

This is a beautiful hotel inside and out. We felt like we were secluded at a tropical resort instead of in the middle of Myrtle Beach during Bike Week! The staff is super friendly and the hotel is extremely clean. The beds are wonderful! There are so many special touches that this hotel provides. This will be our Myrtle Beach hotel from now on!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MintHillGrandmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaplois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Front desk manager has forgot she works for corporate company. Stiff no smiles it was awful experience.Think her attitude has resulted in the entire front desk team to have poor costomer service. Only employee who was nice was head of housekeeping,she asked to let her know if we needed anything. Pools are great think their 6 maybe more lost count great hot tubs heated pools.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turbine09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
6.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
3,154 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
1,731 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
1,868 reviews
3.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
3,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Address: 1801 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront hotel, located directly on the beach. Our Myrtle Beach hotel is located just two miles from Myrtle Beach Jetport and minutes from local attractions like Market Common, Broadway at the Beach, Coastal Grande Mall, and Myrtle Beach's new 'Sky Wheel'. Our two-story lobby with pine floors offers beautiful Atlantic Ocean views. Start your day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) and enjoy views of the ocean. If you're on the go, be sure to grab one of our Hampton's On the Run(R) Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday. Enjoy a gourmet blend of coffee available every day, all day. Sunbathe and swim in one of our two lazy rivers, three outdoor and four indoor pools at our Myrtle Beach oceanfront hotel. Our beachfront playground is great for the little ones in your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing