We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Ranked #27 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I don't know how these other travelers could score this "resort" higher than a one. For the money you pay you could stay in a much nicer place. Overall it looks great from the outside however once inside it needs remodeling and cleaning bad. We stayed in Dominican Tower on 9th floor. The room is set up so when you enter you are immediately in bedroom. After walking through the bedroom into a hallway which is basically the "kitchen". Then after you walk the hallway is the living room with sliding door and balcony. So if someone is in bedroom say sleeping no one else can leave! Everything is outdated and old. We didn't receive service for 3 days all we got were towels around 3:30 every day. The poolside bar was a joke..everything was watered down including alcoholic drinks and soda from fountain. Wait time for food was sometimes greater than 45 min because they would run out of items. This hotel is in a great location with fabulous views. It's a shame they don't put all the money they charge back into the hotel. We will not go here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadurgurl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan E, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Gadurgurl66,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is very disappointing for me to receive a review like this. I understand that nothing is always perfect, but we truly do our best to deliver an excellent experience to each and every guest.

I am very sorry you did not receive daily housekeeping service as you should have, and this issue will be addressed. Also, the spring and summer are very busy seasons for us. Our rooms will see plenty of usage, but we do complete annual renovations (in the offseason) so that we can offer up-to-date rooms that we feel are very competitive with the similar hotels in our area. In regard to the setup of your suite, I am sorry you did not favor the standard shotgun style architectural setup that is very common in many hotels. We do offer condos that are larger and offer a different entrance, so I would recommend these for you in the future. In all honestly, I rarely receive complaints about the Tiki Bar and the drinks served at the bar. We have very experienced Food and Beverage Manager, so I will be sure to review this with her to see if we must inspect the fountain drinks behind the bar.

I truly am sorry your experience at the Caribbean was not a great one and hope you will consider giving us a second chance in the future. Please contact me at the resort if you would like to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,546
    826
    326
    144
    144
See reviews for
1,658
451
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhorn City, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. We were on 15th floor but with the elevators we were only a few steps to the pools and ocean. The rooms were quiet and clean. The pools were clean and spacious. We are already planning to come back. My 8 year old granddaughter gives it a 2 thumbs up and the rest of us agree.

Room Tip: The double beds are a little cramped for 2. I would advise getting a room with the king bed for coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kytree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan E, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear kytree,

Which is better: your 5-star recommendation or 2 thumbs up from your granddaughter? I can not quite decide, so we are honored to accept both! Thank you for sharing this splendid review. We truly are happy to hear how much your family enjoyed its vacation at the Caribbean Resort and Villas, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio usa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My family of 4 (husband, myself, 6 year old son and 1 year old daughter) stayed 5 nights in the Dominican Tower. We checked in with no trouble or wait on a Saturday around 3:30pm. The room (oceanfront 1 br with two double beds) was more than sufficient for us. Bathroom was small but had plenty of counter space. Beds were comfy but I'm used to sleeping with two dogs :)

The view was great. We all loved the pools. There are plenty of chairs. Most of the sunny areas were reserved with towels way before the pools even opened but we never had a hard time finding a spot. There are almost too many chairs as we found it a little hard to get through with all of our stuff...but no biggie. The drinks at the tiki bar were good. Didn't try the food. My son loved watching the limbo and dance offs. He was too shy to participate.

We would definitely stay at the Caribbean again! Only "issues" we had were the wifi was spotty at times, the exhaust fan in our bathroom quit working the last day, the game room was in poor condition and someone threw big shells off of their balcony and came really close to hitting several children...I hope they caught those turds! But overall we loved it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeshauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan E, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear seeshauna,

Thank you for choosing the Caribbean Resort and Villas, and for sharing this elaborate feedback with the Tripadvisor community. I am very happy to hear your family had a great stay, and I hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germanton, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My troop and I chose Caribbean Resort because of all the pools. What we found out when we got there was how nice and helpful the staff were, and how comfortable the room was. We saved money by cooking in our suite, which was stocked with everything we needed to cook with. Also, the beds were very comfortable, from the full-size beds to the double murphy wall bed and sleeper sofa. The girls loved the pools and being so close to the beach. There was plenty of staff on hand to see that the guests' needs were taken care of. It's a great place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan E, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Amy Q,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks of our accommodations, amenities, and staff at the Caribbean Resort and Villas. I am thrilled to hear how much fun your troop had at our resort. Come back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

You can't beat the 3-bedroom oceanfront condo for family vacation. Everyone can spread out. There are also plenty of lounge chairs at the many pools, easy beach access, water slide, tiki bar...these things mostly override the cons to this place, which are thin walls between the rooms (we were treated to regular tantrums from the 3 year old next door, in addition to the mother shouting at the child to "shut your freaking mouth"), less than stellar maid service (clean towels and trash emptied each day, sometimes not until 4 or 5 o'clock). We even had trash from previous guests under the edge of the bed and just beneath the tv stand. I'm not sure how well it was vacuumed before we arrived. That being said, the rooms are very large, well-equipped, and it more than served our purpose. Good showers, full kitchen, TV's in every room, and plenty of elevators. Also, the northern location (last high-rise on the strip) is perfect for people who want to be out of the middle of the craziness. A nice short drive over to Broadway without much traffic.

Room Tip: Cayman towers, high floor - definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMUFES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan E, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear JMUFES,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about the Caribbean Resort and Villas. We are happy to hear how much your family values our accommodations and amenities, as well as our prime location here in Myrtle Beach.

We are very sorry you had to experience the issues listed above. In regard to the condition of your room, this should not have occurred and it is not how we do business. There should not have been any trash in your room from previous guests and you should have received your standard daily service in a timely manner. This will be addressed with the necessary personnel. We do have staff security personnel 24/7, so please contact the front desk if you have any disturbances around you so that we can address them immediately.

All in all, it seems your family truly enjoyed its time here at the Caribbean. I hope you will come back again soon so we can turn your 4-star experience into a 5-star one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munroe falls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've been here 14 times. I have been to a couple of other locations, but always come back here. The pool area is the best around. I like the location because it is not right downtown and usually quiet, which I like

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kentrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan E, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Kentrego,

Our entire teams feels it is an enormous compliment to our efforts when we hear that you have stayed at the Caribbean Resort and Villas fourteen times! Thank you very much for your continued patronage, and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a wonderful week. The kids had so much fun and always had something to do. Location was great and right on the beach. Would defenetly return. The only negative was the tiki bar. Service was slow and very pricy. The kids club was great for the kids and they making things to bring home.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIWEWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan E, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear DIWEWE,

We are delighted to discover that your family had an excellent experience at the Caribbean Resort and Villas. Thank you very much for sharing this feedback, and I want to add an extra thanks for posting these breathtaking pictures of the view from your balcony. Our team feels blessed to operate at such a beautiful location, and it is our pleasure to share this with each and every guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
3.8 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#30 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Resort And Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Resort And Villas

Property: Caribbean Resort And Villas
Address: 3000 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Resort And Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on ocean front, the Caribbean Resort & Villas is comprised of four separate buildings: the Dominican tower, the Cayman tower, the Chelsea Villas and the Jamaican building. Our Jamaican building is a four story structure that offers ocean view and ocean front rooms. Our Dominican tower features suites with two doubles or one king bed, an upgraded full kitchen, and living room with a comfortable sleeper sofa and a breathtaking ocean front view. Our Cayman tower offers two-three-and four bedroom condos with various bedding to suit your every need. Our Chelsea Villas our located across the street from the Cayman and Dominican towers. These villas feature two and three bedroom condos (Bedding varies in each unit.) Our guests will enjoy our spacious oceanfront pool deck with indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor lazy river, tiki bar, Jacuzzis and waterpark with an adult-size waterslide and silly submarine. During the summer children enjoy our supervised activity program where they can create crafts and take part in fun games. We are minutes from area golf courses, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribbean Resort And Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Resort And Villas Hotel Myrtle Beach
Caribbean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Carribean
Caribbean Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing