We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Great Location”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #30 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This is our families fifth year staying at the Sandy Beach Resort. The resort is very nice with great amenities and modern rooms. We always book a three bedroom room. The room layout is like a small house (3BR/2Ba) and is the next best thing to renting a beach house, especially since Myrtle Beach is more of a high rise type of beach and houses aren’t really an option in the heart of the beach. Our room had a full kitchen with granite countertops, a full size refrigerator, range, microwave, dishwasher, and garbage disposal. The bedrooms are a decent size with comfortable mattresses and bedding. We have always been impressed with the rooms. The resort has two outdoor pools, two outdoor hot tubs, one indoor pool, one indoor lazy river, one indoor hot tub, and a nice kid’s pool/play area. Within walking distance, to name a few: The Second Ave Pier (and restaurant), Family Kingdom Amusement Park, a sundries store across the street, a couple beachwear stores, and a Walgreens. The only minus is the across the street paved parking lot. It is a little surprising that a property of this size does not have a parking deck. It is also a little inconvenient to cross the busy road to access your car. The resort does have overflow parking beside the amusement park, so parking should not be an issue. Overall, we have enjoyed staying at the Sandy Beach Resort and plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer Palmetto Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank saw92974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

949 - 955 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

We normally stay at beach Cove in the Crescent Beach Area, but after looking at the photos and reading the reviews, we decided to give Sandy Beach Resort a try. Definitely not a repeat for us. We had a one bedroom suite in the Palmetto building, carpet was torn away from the tile, furniture scuffed, and there was a terrible noise that sounded like a plane landing (we stayed in 1407) and when I phoned the front desk I was told that this was a normal process called "venting the building" releasing air through the vents. Really? At 3 am? Some other points:

Positive: Very friendly staff, rooms and pool area clean, good location
Negative: My billing was incorrectly handled, I paid the deposit of $205 and then the next day got an email that my account was billed for $1402, (our entire bill was only to be $833) so I went online and checked and the entire amount of $833 had been paced on my debit card. Not really a big deal (since we were going to pay it sometime anyway) except I was worried about the email so I called them. No good explanation really except I had to scan them a copy of my bank statement for them to believe i had been charged the full amount, then they finally said my account had been 'credited" and it was!-5 days later, only so we could repay it when we arrived. Parking is really bad, elevator waits are a mess, and the limited space to unload is frustrating. No pool bar or cafe for food or drinks, have to walk to the bar next door with limited menu. Not a repeat.

Room Tip: The Palmetto building is newer, but this too is dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank curtiscottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband, myself and our 4 year old daughter stayed here and I must say, WOW!! We had a great experience with the Sandy Beach. Upon arrival a security guard met us and helped us park so we could unload. Check in was a breeze. We originally booked 6 nights but decided to go down early and find another room for that night. Well, the other hotel (which I will NOT name) was a disaster. We went to the Sandy Beach in hopes they had a room for the night and luckily they did and gave us a great deal on it too. The rooms were super clean and housekeeping came everyday. It's in a central location, close to Family Kingdom, resturants and a convient store across the street. The pools were always clean and not to crowded. Ocean view is amazing. Must stay at this hotel, you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Palmetto is the newer section with updated rooms. Must try!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mommyto_1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We come to myrtle beach every year.we always stay at sandy beach resort cause it's clean,close to everything,has great friendly workers,kids love the pools,and we feel at home while there.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonyadrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

First of all, there are 2 different quality levels of rooms. Get a room Palmetto room! Living room, kitchen, bedroom, granite countertops, large balcony...can't beat the accomodations for the price. I will agree parking is across the street, but no big deal. Crossings are pedestrian friendly. Pools are small, but the ocean is the draw anyway. Beach is very clean. It is not a full service hotel (no restaurant/room service) but they do offer free coffee in the lobby. The only cons are the elevators are slow, the pools can get quite crowded in the afternoon and other guests save lounge chairs for hours with their towels when they go to the beach. Wish mgmt would control the chair situation. But these are VERY minor and would absolutely stay there again especially after comparing it to the room we got at the Best Western Carolinian on our last night in town...ugh.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and get an ocean front room. The balcony is much larger than the anlgled ocen v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheapcheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Let me begin by saying that we have been staying at Sandy Beach for a long time, since it consisted of 2 separate beachfront hotels, one was called "The Longview Resort and I can't remember the exact name of the other. I think this goes back over 15 years. We had such an amazingly fun first visit there that it has become a yearly and frequently twice yearly tradition!
I will point out that we are off season travelers and we usually visit Sandy Beach in March-May and September-November and have never visited in July or August. Our most recent visit was the second week of May for 3 nights while we were on our way south to Florida. Our average stay is 5 nights but we have stayed up to 2 weeks . We are retired and we prefer quieter times at the beach!

Sandy Beach is quiet, the higher the floor the less outside beach noise. There is a beach bar,McAdoos(Sp??) at one corner of the resort. Requesting a room farther away from that can be quieter. There is sometimes noise from the pool area late at night and noise from the interior corridors as people check-in late or return from the bars after closing. Sun-Thurs nights are usually quieter too. Weekends at the beach are always noisy! The Sandy Beach does have security. They do kick people out of the pools after hours and they do respond to noise complaints when you contact the front desk.

We usually stay in the older Magnolia section of the resort, we actually prefer it to the newer Palmetto section. The main reason is the more private balconies there- you can not see the people on the balcony next to you (I love to sit out in my pajamas drinking coffee in the morning). In the Palmetto section you CAN see and hear the people next to you and it seems so much less private. In recent years the Magnolia section had gotten quite shabby as they finished the newer sections of the hotel. Now they seem to be gradually upgrading with new bedspreads, mattresses and curtains, flat scree t.v., etc. Some of the appliances really need to be replaced. The ice-maker on the fridge was broken on our last 2 visits (they do have ice machines by the laundry) so we are hoping to see new refrigerators on our next visit. Sometimes the particular utensils available in any given room will vary. But they are always stocked with an adequate supply of plates, glasses,cups, a skillet and pot, sometimes a cookie sheet. The Palmetto units have dishwashers, the one bedroom Magnolias do not.

This hotel is very well kept. They have a housekeeping staff to be proud of. Occasionally they do not have the right amount of towels left in the room, a call to the from desk usually results in immediate resolution. If not, a VISIT to the front desk will get you what you want.We have found the management to be very accommodating. One manager , Jim, has been kind and helpful to us in the past when we were in an car accident on our way there and had to keep extending our stay while our car was repaired. We would not stay anywhere else in Myrtle Beach. We have had glitches in past trips but they have usually been quickly resolved.

We even stayed her a few times when the "new" hotel was being constructed and the workers were pounding away from 9-5! It is a tremendous value especially off season., especially in the less expensive Magnolia section. Here we are close to Myrtle Beach and Huntington Beach state Parks and Brookgreen Gardens which are our favoriten attractions. We love K&W Cafeterias, the restaurants at Murrell's Inlet, Broadway at the Beach for shopping and B&B Antiques (up in North Myrtle Beach). Our favorite attraction of all ---sunrise over the pier on beautiful Myrtle Beach as seen from our own hotel balcony!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a more beautiful (and quieter) view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Verbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I have been going to Myrtle Beach for many years but this was my first stay at Sandy Beach Resort and I was a little nervous based on the nice photos on the website versus the excellent price that I paid.
The Palmetto Tower should not be called a hotel, they are condos that have a separate bedroom, granite countertops, full kitchen, washer/dryer, and jetted tub.
The condo was very clean upon arrival and the view was great. The two queen beds are comfortable and the murphy bed in the living room.
There is a kids pool, indoor pool, 2 outdoor pools, 1 large hot tub and 1 small hot tub.
Perfect location to walk to Friendly's for breakfast, the Family Kingdom Amusement Park and scooter rentals are across the street, and many shops within walking distance.
CONS: Parking is not the best, which is across the street and the overflow parking is even further. The security guard tries to get tips by helping you unload your car. Elevators were a little slow. Jetted tub did not work. Pools and hot tub close at 11pm, security guard was rude letting us know the closure information, ending a great time socializing with other travelers.

Room Tip: Palmetto Tower is the newest tower with nice condos and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MsPRNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,287 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,079 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#15 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,470 reviews
0 mi away
Oceans One Resort
Oceans One Resort
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: 201 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £55 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing