We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel & location”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #31 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We visited the Sandy Beach 4th of July week; it was our second time in 3 years. The front desk staff was very friendly from the moment of check in. They addressed issues that were noted in the reviews such as smoking on balconies and non-guest use of the pool. We had to sign a paper agreeing to a $250 charge for smoking and were given blue rubber bracelets to wear at the pool. I agree with other reviewers that have suggested a keyed entry into the pool area. We rarely wore our bracelets in the pool area just because we forgot. Another improvement to the pool area would be an additional wash area coming in from the beach. Several times we had to stand in line to wash off; often we noticed some people would not wait but go right on in and jump in the pool all covered in sand.

We booked a 3 bedroom oceanfront room. It was very roomy and nice with 3 bedrooms, each with a closet, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, dining/living room area, washer/dryer. However, only 3 forks and once saucepan were provided in the kitchen. The dishwasher was tricky; it seemed that someone needed to stand there and keep pushing the button to keep it going. There was a huge accumulation of dust across the ceiling in the middle bedroom where the vent blew. The air conditioner vent in the oceanfront bedroom did not put out much air to my husband’s dismay as he needs it cool to sleep. These were all minor issues that we did not bring to the staff’s attention. I am not a fan of dealing with maintenance issues on my vacation so it was not worth it to me. Overall we still really enjoyed the room and resort.

One issue that was a problem was lack of wireless internet service. It is supposed to be available but we struggled to get it to work the entire time we were there. It does work great in the lobby! However, we did not want to spend much time there. Sometimes I would take it out on our balcony and get it work. I did call the front desk and they referred me to the tech line. They were not very helpful, telling me that it would probably work again later.

All things considered, we love this hotel and part of the beach. The pier is an easy walk to the left and there is a waterway to the right; both of these separate this area of the beach so it doesn’t get overly crowded. We do not visit the amusement park but it is cool to look at. Ocean watersports is set up to the right of the hotel. I love that it is so easy and convenient to ride banana boats or go parasailing right at my hotel!

Thanks for providing a great place for our memories Sandy Beach! 

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hedwiglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Don't book thinking you will have Internet it never worked. The elevators are discusting . There are dogs people just bring them and even though it is a non smoking hotel it is not enforced. The location is good but parking is awful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asirign475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just returned from two weeks at Sandy Beach! We stayed in a 3 BR suite in the Palmetto section of the hotel. Oceanfront. SB is the best location in Myrtle, not too crowded beach, water sports, water park, amusements right next door, pier and boardwalk are walking distance. We loved every minute there! Weather was wonderful and has been for most of our July visits to Myrtle.

Room Tip: Stay on the Palmetto side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shredmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just got back from staying in Magnolia tower. You can tell the rooms are dated but still in pretty good shape. Wear and tear are apparent, but compared to other hotels I have been in, it was very good. Not crazy about the parking being on the other side of the road, but in Myrtle Beach, parking garage real estate = loss of $$$. Wi-Fi is sketchy in certain parts of the room but it is free. Better than some of the other hotels forcing you to pay for it. At least we had access to a lot of carts for rolling luggage up and down and could park under the hotel while we loaded and unloaded without feeling rushed. Loved the pools, and the hot tubs. Patio was well kept by members of the hotel. Did have some folks who all but admitted that they were not guest in the pool area and staying across the street. Saw security run a lot of folks off which I appreciated. If you like collecting shells we have never seen this many in Myrtle Beach. It was incredible how many we collected right in front of the hotel. Board walk was not to far away, close to main shopping areas, and if you like a drink, the bar next door is very clean and has beach front access. I'll be back next year and I hope I can get into the other tower because I know it is updated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the first time last week. Great location, clean, well stocked kitchen, loved washer n dryer in the room!! Only negative was wifi was practically non existent and people saving lounge chairs that they never used!! Kids loved the location, and we have no complaints! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank momoffour6075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We spent 4 night in this hotel. We come up to Myrtle Beach about 4 times per year and always stay in NMB. I was horrified to find that this hotel was in central MB and a complete and utter ZOO! Upon arrival, we did not want to stay. I even make several calls to hotels in NMB and we could not find another place to stay. We were stuck. We had a one bedroom, king Jacuzzi suite. We were lied to when asked if our bed would face the view. It did not. It was in the back of the unit. There was a huge crack in the murphy bed and we located several cockroaches during our stay. The Jacuzzi tub was inside the bathroom which had a very musty odor. There was no restaurant on property. If you did not reserve your beach chair by 8am, tough luck. You will not get to lay out that day! No beachy music played at the pool area. No adult pool. Just kids, kids, kids unsupervised and running EVERYWHERE! It was a nightmare! One we will NEVER repeat! To add insult to injury, this was the most we ever paid to stay in Myrtle Beach! Never, Never again!

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you want peace and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank perkyjenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Hotel location was excellent. Great view from our balcony. Rooms were clean and maintained very well. Beach access very good but could benefit from an additional access point with sand removal showers. Excellent access to watersports facilities. Kitchen, washer and dryer, and murphy bed made the room even more comfortable and cost effective... Will come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael8259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,274 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,062 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,017 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oceans One Resort
Oceans One Resort
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#11 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: 201 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £57 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing