We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Getaway Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #24 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Getaway Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Sandy Beach Resort is an excellent hotel for a beach getaway. Came to Myrtle beach for a wedding in the off season in early December. Room rate was great for 2 queen beds, full kitchen with sink, full size stove/oven, full size fridge, fully stock with plates, and drinking glasses, living room had a round dining table with 4 chairs, coffee table, large sofa, and a fold away full size bed. There were two TVs, a large flat screen in the bedroom, a small one in the living area. Balcony had full breathtaking ocean view which had 2 chairs. Bath room was clean, but a little dated. This was the first hotel that I have ever stayed in that had a vent fan in the bathroom. This is great if you take hot showers.

Walls were rather thin, but hardly notice the neighbors. Location was perfect, close to just about everything you might need at the beach, all within walking distance. Access to the beach was just step out the back near the pool and you are there. Shops on the street side, Theres an amusement park just across the parking area. Parking was very easy, just across the street in their private parking lot, that's patrolled.

Staff was great. My flat screen TV didn't work upon arrival. A call to the front desk had a maintenance guy come in in less than 5 minutes. He found and fixed the problem and was gone in less than 5. Happy camper after that. Liked it so much that the wife and I will make this our next stay on our return trip to Myrtle.

Room Tip: Stay on the 5th floor or higher. All rooms are ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheap123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
cheap123,

Thanks for your recent stay with us at Sandy Beach Resort. The offseason does offer some great weather and rates for all travelers! We have an array of rooms for couples or families with great views for everyone. We are pleased that your issue with the TV was dealt with smoothly and quickly as everything should be! We hope to see you again soon and appreciate your business. Thanks,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    375
    126
    81
    48
See reviews for
799
341
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and I decided to speand our honeymoon at this hotel. Overall it was a very nice stay. The room was very clean with great staff. The walls were thin however and you could hear almost everything above and beside you. One thing we wish we could have changed about our particular room was the location of the beedroom. It was located in the front of the away from that beautiful ocean view. This hotel however did make our list of return visits.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddypain12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
teddypain12,


We are glad that we made your list for a RETURN visit! We hope you enjoyed your Honeymoon with us at Sandy Beach. We apologize about your neighbors and let management know next time and we will more than happy to move you! We do have some 2 and 3 bedroom units that have bedrooms with City and Ocean Views. We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Welcome to Paradise!! The ABSOLUTE best place to stay in Myrtle Beach. Breathtaking views. You will receive great service here and will love it! The view is the highest and you are able to see miles out to sea and the beachfront. Staying here with my mom and dad and Father In-Law was an experience I will never forget. We enjoyed drinks on the balcony accompanied by a fresh sea breeze. I highly recommend this Resort for Myrtle Beach! Do it. You will LOVE IT!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Gabriel T,

Sandy Beach Resort is a Paradise! We could not agree more and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your family. With our varying room types and 19 floors there is a room that will please everyone in your group. We hope to see you again!

Thanks,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I picked the Sandy Beach based on the online reviews we read and the room price. We weren't disappointed at all. The staff was friendly and responsive. We went off-season, and it was very quiet. If you want to be close to the boardwalk, be advised that you'll have about a 10 minute walk to the south end of the boardwalk.

Did I mention that the staff was great -- special kudos to Tommy and Greg!

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 12th floor with a very small balcony. We still had a decent view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Jon H,

We will be sure to let Tommy and Greg know that you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased that you chose the Sandy Beach Resort and hope you will return soon. We do have great rates this Spring before things get busy but the weather is still warm! We hope to see you soon

Thanks,
Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We wanted a location that is central to the city. Sandy Beach is that. Stayed during the off season to avoid crowds. But on to the hotel. Very large rooms - two, not including the central kitchen. Heater in bedroom was more like blowing cool air. But the heater in the "living room" more than made up for it. The view over the ocean was very nice. Kitchen fully loaded with a stove, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Security constantly seen around property. That's a good thing. Very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
24Traveler,

We do have a great location for any traveler, we are right in the middle of the City. We have security 24/7 at the hotel to help you with any of your needs whether it be checking in, walking across the street or walking to your car. Our rooms are well furnished to meet everyone's need no matter what they may be. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again!

Thanks,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our second year staying here and we love it! We always stay in the Palmetto tower because it is new and updated. The hotel is always clean and smells very good. The staff, be it the front desk clerk, housekeeping or the security guards are always kind and courteous. Rooms are very clean and in our case come with a big comfy king size bed! If had one negative thing to say it would be about the other guest, which the hotel cannot help how people act, so its not there fault. But both years we have went we seem to go around the same time the White family(White is there last name) is having there family reunion and they stay at the Sandy Beach. We know this because they wear tshirts that say "White family reunion". They are very loud, inconsiderate, rude people! The entire family take up the entire pool, scream, splash around like wild animals. This year we had the pleasure of getting a room beside some of the White family and had to call security twice the night we checked in because they had over ten people in one room and was loud, screaming and had people in and out of the room all ours of the night. One good thing about the White family is that they checked OUT the day after we checked in! But as I said before we love this hotel we will just try to schedule around the family reunion next time!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dstn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dstn1,

Thanks for staying with us and being a repeat guest. We do have a clean hotel with a friendly, courteous staff that provides excellent service. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and apologize what you experienced with some of the other guests at the hotel. We will be sure to take all of your comments under advisement and will make sure to prevent any future stays like this. Thanks for making Sandy Beach your #1 choice!

Thanks again,

Sandy Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
157 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We are annual visitors to Myrtle Beach and we keep returning to Sandy Beach Resort year after year. There are dozens of hotels to choose from but we find that this hotel fits our needs exactly.
It is oceanfront, clean, comfortable and friendly. They treat any complaints (noise etc.) seriously and act promptly to remedy it. Their rates are reasonable (although they have gone up rather quickly the past few years. We do not like paying the daily resort fees, however.)

This year we stayed in the three bedroom penthouse in the Magnolia section. It has two bathrooms, a jacuzzi tub , and a spacious open kitchen,dining area, living room area. A small washer and dryer are included. One of the bedrooms is oceanfront and the balcony overlooking the ocean stretches the entire length of the suite though it is quite narrow. There is a large table for six and a counter bar that seats three more on bar stools. A large sofa and a small recliner are in the sitting area. I think another recliner would have been nice but it would have been hard to fit in. There were only three of us staying so we each had our own room and plenty of space for everything! It is certainly not luxurious but it is quite comfortable.

The kitchen is pretty well equipped but we only used it for a couple of quick meals and chose to eat most meals out. Everything worked fine, stove, coffee maker, dishwasher, laundry facilities, even the ice maker! The microwave worked but the turntable did not turn as it should have but that didn't matter to us. We were there for seven nights and did not have a single problem. One night we heard singing coming from somewhere (the beach? The bar on the beach? downstairs?) It didn't last more than a couple of minutes though and otherwise it was quiet.

We usually visit the Sandy Beach Resort in the spring or fall. This year October seemed to be pretty busy there. The elevators were busy and like many people have recommended we used the smaller elevators in the magnolia section. They only go to the eleventh floor but there is usually little or no wait. Parking across the street is never a problem for us and we have been doing it for many years. All things considered we think Sandy Beach is just THE BEST!!

Room Tip: We loved the addition of the double window on the south side of the 11th floor penthouse suite. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Verbelly,

We could not agree more with your comments. We have great clean, affordable, and oceanfront room for both couples and familes! Although unavoidable issues do occasionally come up we take them very seriously and fix them right away.

Yes, the Penthouse is a large and well equipped room that provides space for a large number of people. It has a large table and a very well equipped kitchen area. We appreciate the feedback on the chair and will try and resolve that issue.

We are glad you have continued to return to Sandy Beach year in and year out. We look forward to seeing you soon and be sure to look for out Spring Specials rolling out soon! We give our best deals early so be on the look out....

Thanks
Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
5.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
4.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Property: Sandy Beach Resort
Address: 201 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing