We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend to anybody”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #30 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

if you smoke cigarettes or drink do not stay at this hotel you will be harrassed the entire vacation by security. I have never stayed at a place where security is in every corner even shining lights up on the balconies no privacy what so ever. Ridiculous. As for housekeeping we didnt see them for three days had to call the office and request towels and a mop and broom because i was going to do it myself. The office clerk did in fact come and do it himself which was nice but not his job. Woke up one morning to the fire alarm going off saying there was a fire evacuate scared everyone to death there where children crying on the steet the fire department was called needless to say a bag of popcorn burnt. Very unecessary. Will NEVER stay here again.




  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jessikarhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

jessikarhat,

Sandy Beach Resort is a ALL NON SMOKING RESORT. We let guests know before arrival and at arrival that the resort does not allow smoking except for in designated area's.

We apologize about the inconvenience with the popcorn causing the fire alarm to go off but we take every fire alarm seriously to ensure the safety of all of our guests.

We hope you give us another chance and apologize that your stay was not satisfactory for you.

Cheers,
Sandy Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed 5/17/2014 - 5/24/2014, Great location , great weather , and Myrtle Beach never disappoints but my room or should I say my bed disappointed me. I stayed in the old part of the building room 518 and the bed was far from being anything I wanted to sleep on. I ended up sleeping on the bed that my friend gave up to sleep on the couch. I did however enjoy my stay and have really no other complaints other than the hard bed that leaned, it's time for some updating in that room. Great oceanfront view , nice pool accomadations and like I said great location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Sheila F,

We appreciate you staying with us this May and choosing Sandy Beach Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed you stay overall and had no other complaints but the bed. We will be sure to address this issue and hope that your return to Sandy Beach Resort!

Thanks
Sandy Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Let me first say that I recommended over ten families to this newly renovated hotel. I had the best expectations of my stay as I have stayed here for years! My family pulled up and expected that this stay would be wonderful per usual. However, we were greeted with looks of disgust and felt very unwelcome as they saw our family pull up already stereotyping us for trouble. The security guards acted as if they had to watch our every move and did you know... You can't even stand outside the hotel where you paid your hard earned money to stay at? According to the very RUDE MANAGER, "we accumulated too many ppl" what does that even mean? ...and if you have a large family ...don't even think about it..according to the staff ... Your family should be on a private beach in a beach house as to not "disturb" the young, blonde whose daughter takes naps as if we don't have a family with children as well. What kind of vacation is that? Where they place handwritten notes on your door that states, "no visitors and no company after 11 pm" where there are educated, hard working, grown mothers and grandmothers staying. It's ridiculous! Do not, I repeat, Do NOT stay at the newly renovated Sandy Beach. You won't be viewed as a guest with your family on vacation, but more of the unwanted guest already pinned as a problem

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vacaylady6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

vacalady6,

First of all no one is unwelcome at the Sandy Beach Resort. As you can tell with the reviews left by other travelers, this is a isolated incident that only occurred during your stay.

Sandy Beach strives to ensure that once a visitor checks in to the hotel that their stay is relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable. You are correct that Sandy Beach does not allow late night partying or loud noise late at night. In short, we promote guests being respectful of other guests while they are staying here so people can relax while on their vacation. When a guest chooses Sandy Beach and pays us for their vacation, we want to ensure they get just that!

Sandy Beach is and has always been a family resort and will continue to be that way. If you are coming to Myrtle Beach to have a fun, relaxing, and enjoyable stay then Sandy Beach Resort is 100% the spot for you!

Thanks,
Sandy Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Overall it was a good stay, plenty of swimming pools and right on the beach for easy access to the ocean. Minor complaints.....only 3 elevators for this massive building making the way in and out very timely. Check in is horrible because everyone arrives at 4 to check in at 5 so prepare to waste an hour in line. Noone oversees the pools very well....lots of kids without swim diapers and lots of non guests sharing the pools. Only 1 security guard and we had to report a "wanderer" for looking through peoples belongings in the pool area but by the time we actually tracked down the guard...the wanderer moved on. Parking is across the street from the hotel( so is most of the hotel parking in the area....it is well lit, but easy target for thrives (lock up!) I think Myrtle beach is trying to clean up...they have a ways to go but overall fun place to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandtmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

mandtmommy,

Thanks for leaving your review of Sandy Beach Resort. We are happy to hear that you had a great overall stay and found us a affordable and clean option for travelers coming to stay in Myrtle Beach. We apologize about it being crowded at check-in time. There are 2 other elevators (5 in all) on the south side of the building but it does get very busy at certain times of the day.

We do have a full time pool attendant now and also have wrist bands that are required to ensure only hotel guests are at the pool. We hope to see you again soon at the Sandy Beach!

Thanks again for staying with us,

Sandy Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The staff was always friendly and welcoming. The housekeepers were excellent! Perfect location; right in the middle of everything. Shops and fun activities all within walking distance! Beauitful beach! Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agood87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Agood87,

We are pleased you had a awesome time while staying at Sandy Beach Resort! We do have a perfect location right beside the Family Kingdom and right on the Beach! We hope you make it back soon....

Thanks for staying,
Sandy Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was my first time staying at Sandy Beach resort and the check in desk is loocated on the 2nd floor of the resort. The hotel lobby on the 2nd floor is real modern and was very clean. The 1bedroom suite was nice but it could use a few upgrades and some painting or new wallpaper. Overall is was a great stay and a little pricey for the memorial holiday stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sandy Beach Resort from April 30 thru May 11. Let me begin by saying WOW what a wonderful experience. We stayed in a 3 bedroom deluxe condo unit and it was exactly as described in the hotel photos. Clean (most important at the top of my list!) and spacious, excellent front desk staff and a wonderful manager, with great housekeeping skills I might add. lol. One small issue when we checked in with a sticky kitchen floor, not only did him and 2 other gentlemen clean it they cleaned the whole condo again as if it wasn't done the first time, and it had been.

Living room and master bedroom had a large shared balcony, master bath was huge with jacquzzi tub, comfortable king size mattress and to die for linen and comforters. Sec bedroom had it's own balcony with queen bed and bath, third bedroom had 2 double beds with private bath, it had a tub jacquzzi also. Full size kitchen with full size appliances, fridge with icemaker. Also had a washer and dryer.

My daughter, grandson, her boyfriend and his two kids stayed with us also. There was plenty of room with lots to spare.

The pools were great, and always clean. Excellent hot tubs and lazy river with a great kiddie pool area. All this just steps away from the beach and I do mean just steps!

A quick shout out to those Ohioans that work there (from a current resident of Ohio), you know who you are

Thank you Sandy Beach for a wonderful worry free stay, we will be back this September and I'm sure many more times to come!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,295 reviews
6.1 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,472 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#12 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0 mi away
Oceans One Resort
Oceans One Resort
#34 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: 201 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £55 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing