We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of Thief”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #25 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Leonardtown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beware of Thief”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have stayed at Sandy Beach twice, with my last visit in Sept 2013. The hotel was clean, pool was nice, etc. The only downside is that our video camera was stolen from our room. We did not notice until we had checked out and returned home, that it was missing from the bag. We contacted management who did nothing to try and remedy the situation. Their only instruction was to file a police report! That is a little difficult to do and follow up when you live 8 hours away!

Room Tip: Stay in the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Amanda D,

Thank you for staying with us twice this year. We do have clean rooms and clean pools. We are sorry that your discovered your video camera was missing after traveling home. We have full time security and a Pool Attendant that was made aware of the situation and to prevent anything else in the future. We at Sandy Beach are sorry that you cannot find your video camera.

We do everything in our power to make sure the premises at Sandy Beach Resort are safe for all our guests!

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    377
    126
    81
    48
See reviews for
805
341
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Wife and I just returned home from another great week in Myrtle Beach. Once again the Sandy Beach did not disappoint. We had a great room on the 19th floor. Room was clean upon arrival, we are well versed in the check in and parking procedures so that was no problem. We hadn't visited in a couple years and were glad to see that the resort was still as good as we remembered. Thanks again for a relaxing week. Will return ...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NHguy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Front Office Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
NHguy33,

We are pleased that you chose Sandy Beach Resort for the FIFTH TIME! We are pleased that the resort was like you had left it the last time......

We hope to see you again for a 6th stay!

Thanks
Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennison, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is actually my 3rd review of Sandy Beach. We had a terrible experience last year but with some discussion with the management, we decided to try it again this year. this would make or break us. We arived and were checked in immediately. I do not know the lady at the desks name, but she was very nice.
Our experience this year was much better. We had issues with the room next to us smoking on the balcony and management did nothing to fix it. This year, management is definitely trying to fix this error. We still seen a handful of people smoking on balcony's and some by the pool, but it was much better than before.
Our room was clean as always. We again stayed in the 1 bedroom on the Palmetto side. Our favorite room.
IF I had to suggest anything at all to management, it would be to actually have someone in the pool area watching for smokers around the pool and on balcony's. I believe they would pay for themselves after catching smokers.
The other suggestion would be to update the kids playing pool. We have been there 4 years in a row and the spraying sehorses have never sprayed, the artificial palm trees are missing leaves. One is almost bald. Just starting to show its wear and tear.
Lastly, put a foot wash area by the garage. There are so many people that go to the beach to walk and watch the sunsrise and they can not enter the pool area until 8am. This would give them a place to wash their feet before getting in the elevator and going to the rooms.
Thank you Sandy Beach for giving us our great vacation. See you next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Michael W,

We glad you made it back after last year and gave us another try. More importantly, YOU HAD A GREAT TIME THIS TIME!!!!!

We do our best with preventing people from smoking as you can see in some of our previous reviews.

We luckily now have a pool attendant that cleans the pools, makes sure everyone has bands and that no one is smoking.

We will definately take the suggestion about the kiddie pool and think about doing something this winter to spruce up the pools!

We are glad that you had a great 3rd stay and a great overall stay. See you Next YEAR

Cheers!
Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

For the price I was pleasantly surprised by Sandy Beach. Location was very convenient, hotel staff were welcoming and room was better than expected. Room was clean spacious and comfortable. My only complaint would be the pool area seems a little small, but that would be nitpicking. Very pleased overall.

Room Tip: Make sure to get the new building (Palmetto side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Michael J,

Yes, we do have great rooms for GREAT prices. We have a great location right near both the Boardwalk and the Family Kingdom. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks!
Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Here are the negatives I can come up with. Internet was spotty and slow often. Elevators, bathrooms and some other public areas were dirty with water and sand. There were rarely pool towels. The price during the last night of biker weeks was too high. I wish someone had called us out of courtesy and helped us understand why the rate was so high and what was going on in Myrtle Beach when we had scheduled to arrive.

Pools were nice and warm. The pool deck was cleaned each morning. Our housekeeper was considerate and always got us fresh towels and dishwasher detergent. She did a great job cleaning. The room made us feel right at home - being so updated and clean was very nice. The large bedroom and king bed were fantastic. AC worked great. The views of the ocean were fantastic - we saw a whale and sting rays right from our balcony. Very relaxing to sit outside in the morning and afternoon. Kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. Our kids loved the pull down bed. I appreciated seeing security taking care of matters like the broken Exit signs. I would definitely come back here again.

We had planned our trip at the end of biker week without knowing and hotel staff said that things are crazy during this time. There was a noticeable amount of people around the hotel that were not wearing much clothes and sometimes using language we didn't want our family to hear. During the week this went away but on the following weekend, there was more of this kind of behavior. If you're sensitive to this kind of thing, stay away from the generic souvenir shops around the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Michael H,

Thanks for staying with us. We apologize about the internet and will continue to make internet faster and more reliable for our guests. We will also continue to make sure all the common area's stay cleaner.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the pool and that the room made you feel like you were at home. You are right, the views at Sandy Beach are the best and whales have been around the last couple weeks.

See you again soon!

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

if you smoke cigarettes or drink do not stay at this hotel you will be harrassed the entire vacation by security. I have never stayed at a place where security is in every corner even shining lights up on the balconies no privacy what so ever. Ridiculous. As for housekeeping we didnt see them for three days had to call the office and request towels and a mop and broom because i was going to do it myself. The office clerk did in fact come and do it himself which was nice but not his job. Woke up one morning to the fire alarm going off saying there was a fire evacuate scared everyone to death there where children crying on the steet the fire department was called needless to say a bag of popcorn burnt. Very unecessary. Will NEVER stay here again.




  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessikarhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
jessikarhat,

Sandy Beach Resort is a ALL NON SMOKING RESORT. We let guests know before arrival and at arrival that the resort does not allow smoking except for in designated area's.

We apologize about the inconvenience with the popcorn causing the fire alarm to go off but we take every fire alarm seriously to ensure the safety of all of our guests.

We hope you give us another chance and apologize that your stay was not satisfactory for you.

Cheers,
Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cicero, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed 5/17/2014 - 5/24/2014, Great location , great weather , and Myrtle Beach never disappoints but my room or should I say my bed disappointed me. I stayed in the old part of the building room 518 and the bed was far from being anything I wanted to sleep on. I ended up sleeping on the bed that my friend gave up to sleep on the couch. I did however enjoy my stay and have really no other complaints other than the hard bed that leaned, it's time for some updating in that room. Great oceanfront view , nice pool accomadations and like I said great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Sheila F,

We appreciate you staying with us this May and choosing Sandy Beach Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed you stay overall and had no other complaints but the bed. We will be sure to address this issue and hope that your return to Sandy Beach Resort!

Thanks
Sandy Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
5.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
4.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Property: Sandy Beach Resort
Address: 201 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing