We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so bad.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budget Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Budget Inn
Ranked #126 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

Let's just be real here: if you're checking into a place called the BUDGET INN, you kind of have to drop your expectations. Paid $60 for a room for one night and I don't regret it.

Upon entering the room, yes, it smells pretty musty - cigarettes, maybe some mildew. Not so bad. Febreze should do the trick if it's really bothering you.
All utilities and appliances - fridge, microwave, TV, sink, shower, toilet, AC - were in working order.
At first, the door did not lock and could be opened without a key card. However, we contacted the office and, though she wasn't the most sympathetic person, the woman inside was very quick in getting someone to help us.
Sheets appeared clean. No discernible evidence of bed bugs. No roaches or any other nasty critters either (and I checked through all the drawers and cabinets and nooks and crannies). Slept surprisingly well.
Walls, though a little scuffed up, were clean and not so dramatically stained (no "blood" or anything of that nature). The bathroom left a little to be desired, but wear flip-flops and you'll be fine.
Didn't use the pool, but it looked acceptable.
No crackheads worth noting.
Location is everything - almost beachfront - and though it's located along a strip of similar motels and hotels, fun things are walking distance.
No wifi here, but the Starbucks/Bayview across the street has it.

Overall, if you're looking for luxury or substantial comfort, keep looking. But for travelers on a budget, this place will certainly suffice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    2
    4
    19
See reviews for
10
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

We checked in here after staying at the Lighthouse Motel for a couple of nights. The Lighthouse is the MGM Grand compared to this place by the way, but their rates tripled because of the holiday. After checking in, and signing away any chance of getting out of our stay at the Budget Inn, we ventured to our room. Upon walking in, we noticed the overwhelming stench comparable to cat pee mixed with mold. As we take a closer look, we noticed our discolored/disfigured microwave was sitting on our bed, and our fridge was missing. We look outside and our mini fridge was tilted over and defrosting with brown liquids dripping out of it. We are still optimistic at this point, because it's a beautiful day, and we're at the beach. Also, it's not like we expected much out of the place, I mean come on now, it's the Budget Inn. Therefore, we deiced to go out and buy some beach supplies (lots of liquor after seeing the room) and come back and see if our room was done, and if our fridge was cleaned out and ready to go. We came back, and it wasn't. At this point, we had stuff we needed to get cold, and went to the front desk where they moved us to the room below. Walking into the room below we noticed it indeed had a much cleaner smell, so we decided to just accept it based on that alone. While we were out before we bought a bottle of Clorox Cleanup on a hunch that we may need it. Oh boy were we right. Taking a closer look at this room, we noticed chew spit on the walls, what looked like blood on the walls, mysterious brown stains all over the walls, and a carpet that was stained so many times the original color is unidentifiable. At least the fridge was working though, but the freezer did have red stains all through the ice in the freezer, and the fridge part smelled like old curry. We put a wash cloth over the red stains and wiped out the fridge, and that was okay to go, as long as your food is wrapped or bottled ha-ha. This was all before even looking in the bathroom. In the bathroom there was mold everywhere, and a hole in the wall that was stuffed with paper. In the shower, we saw mold, soap scum, and black mildew. We got our Clorox Cleanup and went to work. Mind you, we're young, extremely broke at this point, and just to be at the beach, and basically staying on the beach. My partner convinced me to just stick it out and we did. After we cleaned it up, it really wasn't all that bad, except for the room got a nasty case of flees the 2nd night, and half the light fixtures mysteriously stopped working. My partner and I slept on an air mattress on top of the bed, an obvious choice given the motel's rent by the hour history. Also, I wouldn't use the pool. Not once during our stay did I see anyone do any maintenance to it at all. Not a single chemical of any kind was poured in and no testing was done. AND, while we were outside one day, two people off the streets (not even staying at the motel) came into the office and asked if they could use the pool, the office said they didn't care, and I'm not one to judge, but you should have seen this couple. FILTHY LOOKING, that was their bath.
Despite how much of a nightmare everything seemed, our stay was still a lot of fun. We had each other, it was kind of adventurous, and we made quite a few friends there, mostly from West Virginia, who stayed there on senior trip a couple years back. The white male who runs the desk is pretty cool, and nice to talk to. My advice is don't expect much, especially good maid service. Bring a bottle of Clorox Cleanup, Febreeze and possible a flee bomb. Also, don't bring food that might spoil and/or that is not wrapped in plastic or in bottles. An air mattress is most likely a good idea, just to be safe. Bring lots of towels, because towel service didn't appear to be every day there, and their towels were very small and smelled like a burnt dryer. Lastly, bring lots of alcohol! (If you are above the age of 21). It makes your stay anywhere that much more fun! The review sounds bad, but we really did have a good time, got what we paid for, and made some new friends!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jbeatngu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

new bern,North carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

This place was completely, unthinkably horrid! Me and some of my friends paid for a weekend here on the fourth of July. Unknowing what we had gotten ourselves into because we became completely desperate for a room we paid $400 to stay here (literally the only thing available). Looking at the place from the outside leaves much to be desired but we thought “hey how bad can it be?” We got our keys and found our room was located in the back corner of this place and from the outside you could already smell the funk going on in our room! We opened the door completely floor with how much of a dump this place really was. I’ve never smelled something so gagging in my entire life it smelt of mildew and wet dog. There was visible mildew on the floor walls and bed and the walls were pieced together with all different kinds of paneling, the bathroom was even worse there was no nozzle for the shower was completely disgusting not to mention when we attempted to open the refrigerator the door feel off . Our neighbors said they had fleas all in their room and had air mattresses on top of the bed. . Then we tried to get our money back because there was NO WAY we could stay there. The night manager told us RUDELY no refunds! And then got someone to “CLEAN” our room in which the man fumigated our room in order to cover the smell of mildew. Needless to say we ended up stay the night on our vacation in the vehicle in some parking lot. The next morning we met with another manager and she did agree to give ½ our money back but, not for the previous night. This place really needs to be shut down and standards should be put in place to prevent places as this from being allowed to run. As a previous review stated there’s no way I would even allow my dog to stay in this dump!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

This was the worst hotel in the world! We got the whole bottom floor of the OK Cottage and stayed there one night and the front desk worker told us the next day he had complaints about bugs from the upstairs so he was going to move us to one of the nicer rooms he had. We stayed there the next night and everything was fine. But in the middle of the next night someone woke up to use the bathroom and when she was going to bed she saw atleast 20 bed bugs and roaches. We went to the front desk and he told us there was nothing he could do about it. So we decided to pack up and leave. Once we got home we realized we left a laptop there. We called the front desk and he found it. When we had someone pick it up it had been trashed. There is nothing we can do about it. Now we are out of the money from one more night and a broken 1200 dollar laptop.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camdaram4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

if you have anyone staying at this motel please call and tell them to leave immediately. we had been there 2 hrs. and someone broke in the window and stole $300.00. please leave before this happens to you or worse. you could get killed in this place. not fit for a cow to live in. 2 black men were running across the parking lot carrying a jar of money and the man they stole it from was trying to run him down but he could not catch him. we left the motel and went to another one and i never plan on even looking at that motel again when i pass. please don't let your teenagers stay here they might not get out alive..........a concerned parent

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmbackhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2008

My family and I were staying 1 block from this hotel when on the last day of our stay we had car trouble and had to stay another night. That hotel was booked and we were short on money so we stayed here. The ceiling leaked from the room above and when I told the front desk he gave me some dirty towels too clean up the mess but the leak was never fixed. I didnt see any crack heads but i wouldnt be surprised. There were many roaches, dirty linens, dirty towels, blood on the walls, etc. My wife and I were so disgusted we slept in our car w/ our 3 kids. This is not a place for man nor beast!!!

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dadthatisconcerned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachussetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

This place was the most disgusting I have ever visited, and I have stayed in my share of cheap motels.
The sheets had not been changed (as evidenced by several hairs on them) The towels and linens were stained. the comforter was disgusting. There were stains that looked like they could be blood on the mattress. The bathroom was moldy. I felt like I could not touch anything in there (I bought plastic flip flops so I could shower).
This is not an exaggeration, for god's sake, don't stay there!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank roadtrippingecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#73 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsurfer Hotel
Windsurfer Hotel
#65 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#92 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#135 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Court Annex Motel
Rainbow Court Annex Motel
#130 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Property: Budget Inn
Address: 501 5th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3934 (Formerly Stardust Motel)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Myrtle Beach
Budget Inn Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing