We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Believe All You Read” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viking Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viking Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #169 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't Believe All You Read”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed from June 4th to June 10th and our stay was fine..we were on the 5th floor in room 521. The staff were great, friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was the room was filthy..the floor looked like it had never been vacuumed and the Windows were so dirty I had to clean them..and the sheets were dirty.. our 1st night there our air went out we called down and maintenance was up in 30 minutes and replaced it with one that worked. The pool was great and crowded. They need better housekeepers and security at night. Oh and parking was a nightmare. They have about 20 spots for 75 rooms so if your not lucky enough to get a spot you have to park across the road.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Tonya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    37
    35
    39
    136
See reviews for
139
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richfield, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

You get what you pay for at this motel. I should have listened to the other reviews before booking this room! The location is okay, but the room was in need of some major work. The worst thing for me was the smell which was a mixture of wet carpet, cigarettes, and pet odor. We had to go buy air freshener just to be able to tolerate the smell. The pool was nice and the room layout was good. The room did not have a microwave. There is limited parking and it was noisy at night. I did notice that a construction crew was removing carpet from some of the rooms before we left so maybe they are trying to fix the problems.

Room Tip: Call before booking to see if they have updated the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Augusta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My family and I arrive about 3pm the room was not ready had to come back at 4pm. The room was very outdated was not clean enough. I knew it was bad when my kids started complaining. You can only park on one side and across the street. The only good thing about this hotel is the it is on the beach. Its was only for two nights but i would never book this motel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tasheka d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The room wasn't ready when we arrived. Overall the value for the size room was a good deal.But the room smelled of smoke and other bad odor. A fight broke out with a mob of about 20 people and it took the hotel staff about 30 minutes to call the police. Parking for the hotel is only on one side of the lot...so most of how guests have to park across the street. No microwave but they have a stove...there was a toaster, but it was also broken.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

April 5th-7th. Honestly I was surprised friendly check in and she even told us it was booked solid on Saturday. Shocked that half of the parking lot is shared you can only park facing the hotel or across the street at the Virginian. It was loud outside at first but quieted down. The elevator was nasty. Fresh room It was clean. One bed was worn down a bit. A few cigarette burns. Tv was ok, had to adjust the color. One website showed all came with microwave, mine didnt. There was a fridge and coffee maker with two cups (that were placed on top of the fridge with all the loose paint from the fridge being wet and the chips stuck to the cup) The pool was clean. It was ok. I was disappointed on my last full day no one from room service came to check our towels (could explain the other reviewers towel issue) now on Sunday the vending machines glass was smashed. I don't know what happened. I think the ice machine was a pay machine??? It didn't look good. Generally I wasn't expecting much and based in other reviews I took my own sheets. I did glance in other rooms and they were ok looked clean. I do have concerns about staying there during the busy season. But I could stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Viking is a nasty horrible hotel. We stayed here for a weekend getaway. we got a 2 room suite on the top floor. There were 4 adults and 2 children. The a/c in the bedroom did not work right. There is no curtain over the window. The beds are uncomfortable. There was a small kitchenette that was outdated and dirty. The linoleum flooring in the kitchenette and bathroom was filthy and torn. The bathroom was just as nasty. The towels looked like someone took the towels out and detailed their car with them. The carpets were nasty and smelled disgusting. The door did not want to open or close. The door did not want to stay latched after you were inside or lock as you left. The exterior is in disrepair and needs a bunch of paint and other repairs. The pool and the concrete around it was cracked and needed a lot of cleaning. The grass was dead and was all dirt. There was trash all over the outside of the property.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkwoodtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have spent the last two summers at the Viking and we appreciate all that they do for their customers! Not once have I had a negative experience from any of the staff, they appear to enjoy their jobs which is a definitely a plus! Our rooms have always been neat and tidy (slightly outdated but who goes to the beach to spend their entire stay in their room), the two room, three bed suites easily accommodate us and our children and they love it there.....the full kitchen allows us to save money on eating out! The awesome access to the beach lets us take late night strolls and last year we even got to watch a sting ray in the surf! We have already made our reservations for the second week in June for this summer and are counting the days!

Room Tip: If you want to use your money for extras while on vacation this is the motel for you! Try to get a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerislone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#92 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#124 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#114 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wave Rider Resort
Wave Rider Resort
#151 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#76 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Ocean Front Motel

Property: Viking Ocean Front Motel
Address: 1811 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4633
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Ocean Front Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Viking Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Ocean Front Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Viking Ocean Front
Viking Hotel Myrtle Beach
The Oceanfront Viking Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing