We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the place to stay”
Review of Waikiki Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waikiki Village
Ranked #41 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Mooresville, NC
113
Reviewed 19 December 2005

I have been staying here on vacation for over 10 years. Wonderful family atmosphere. We Will not stay anywhere else. Extremely clean rooms, excellent, trustworthy staff, quiet and safe at night.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 280 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
dandridge, tennessee
112
Reviewed 14 August 2005

we went to waikiki village motel without knowing anything about it. this is a great motel. everything was clean and fresh. staff very helpful. our host was very sweet and seemed interested in us. a wonderful location and we felt very safe and welcome. do not pay any attention to the two bad reviews someone wrote. this was a wonderful place to stay. we would definitely return every year and let all our friends and family know about this jewel. thank you for a wonderful stay. mr. and mrs. jim brown, dandridge, tennessee

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
129
Reviewed 27 July 2005

I stopped in to checked out a room at the Waikiki on 7/22/05 and immediately left. The room was on the back side, facing the parking lot. It was really small, about 10 X 12. The room had not been updated in atleast 20 years, had a full-size bed and a little 3 X 3 window. Depressing summed it up. I chose to stay accross the street at the Econo Lodge instead.
Now why would I choose to stay at the Econo Lodge, which is rated 179, and not the Waikiki, which is rated 18? Well, a pool side room at Waikiki may have changed things alot. Those rooms have a full wall of windows and face a nice, but small, pool. Maybe they are larger. Maybe they've been updated more recently than 20 years ago. But a room on the back side is not where you want to be staying. (You don't want to be staying at the Econo Lodge either, but when you don't make a reservation and everything is sold out, it beats sleeping in the car; barey).
My point in writing this review is to be careful. I'm excited Tripadvisor.com will help me chose good places to stay in the future. But the Waikiki rating of 18 has shown me you can't go solely by the rating.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Rooms
29  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2005

I chose this motel because of the glowing reviews posted by others on this site. The reviews are SO positive that I was suspicious. Could a motel this inexpensive really be that good? Yes. My family loved our week at the Waikiki Village and we'll be visiting again. This was our first visit to Myrtle Beach and staying here only made our vacation more enjoyable.

Make no mistake, if you demand that your accommodations be shiny and new, you'll be disappointed. This motel is about 40 years old and shows it's age in a hundred different ways, starting with the wonderfully retro decor in the lobby. But it is NOT rundown. The owners and staff have done a great job of preserving this gem of a motel, and it's obvious that cleaning is a top priority here. Our room was spotless, carpet nice and new, large TV, kitchen gleaming and ready for cooking. I watched the pool area get scrubbed daily. We never saw a single bug anywhere, just one cute lizard in the garden next to the putting green. This motel is every bit as nice as any chain-motel we've stayed in, and better. It's clear that choosing a family-owned motel has benefits.

The Waikiki Village is also a masterpiece of 60's motel architecture. The layout of the property could not be better. Your car is always just a few steps away, as is the pool. In fact, most rooms overlook the beautiful pool area complete with palm trees. The indoor jacuzzi is next to the pool in a quaint out-building which also contains six of the smaller guest rooms. Wander to the rear of the motel and you'll find a large patio area with tables, lounge chairs and two huge gas grills which guests are free to use. You'll even find spatulas, tongs and oven mitts near the grills! It's touches such as these that make this place feel like a home away from home.

Most amazing was that the motel, though fully occupied most days, was free of chaos. The pool was never crowded, always free chairs to be enjoyed, always room in the jacuzzi. Grab a seat in the lobby and you can watch TV, work on a jigsaw puzzle, browse photo albums of previous motel guests, or even borrow one of the hundreds of books in the motel library. The staff was always friendly and very helpful, especially Charles. Honestly, I sometimes let my kids enjoy the property unsupervised and felt completely safe in doing so. A nice place.

While swimming in the Waikiki's pool I often gazed across the street at the Landmark Resort and wondered what staying at that 15 floor, 14 pool, monster of a hotel would be like compared to the Waikiki Village. Read the reviews of that place on this site and you'll get an idea. We did nothing but have fun, relax and save a bunch of money... which we promptly spent on restaurants. I strongly recommend the Waikiki Village to any family that's not too fancy to appreciate it.

greggNO@SPAMPLEASEmundhenk.us

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank chubbytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2005

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Seafoam01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
140
Reviewed 9 February 2005

40  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2004

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank NicksmomWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
2.9 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Carolina Grande
Carolina Grande
#50 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
184 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vancouver Motel
Vancouver Motel
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
223 reviews
6.9 mi away
Jade Tree Cove Resort
Jade Tree Cove Resort
#54 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Village

Address: 1500 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4596
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £23 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Waikiki Village Myrtle Beach
Waikiki Village Motel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing