We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK. Wont come back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Bay Suites
Ranked #88 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Richmond, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK. Wont come back.”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed at Monterey Bay the second week of July, had never been before. I'm not really complaining because we got exactly what we expected and paid for. We wanted to get away and wanted to spend less than we had the previous vacations. The hotel was nice, the rooms were incredibly small, the elevators were horrible, the 4th elevator was supposed to be ready in June, by mid July it still was not ready, something about the timing was not right yet, Parking garage was the worst I've ever seen, we parked across the street in the parallel spots. Tenth floor pool was nice, especially since we were on the tenth floor, I have read about how noisy it was at night, we NEVER once heard anything. The guys came up at 10:55 p.m. and everyone know to leave the pool and nobody ever went back before it opened the next morning at 9 a.m. The bed was horrible, we are fairly young and it was a chore to get out of bed in the morning and walk normally for the first 30 minutes or so, it about killed our backs! We actually left a day early. I wont come back here, we had to drive to do anything, it was NOT within walking distance of ANYTHING.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank leejenallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    366
    206
    144
    174
See reviews for
690
279
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We visited Monterey Bay last week and I was a little anxious to see the room once we checked in. I have read all of the reviews leading up to our trip and everything that was mentioned about the parking is true (very tight). The room was clean and small but was suitable for our family. The murphy bed was very uncomfortable and the hotel was not convenient to all of the restaurants, shopping strip and attractions, therefore we had to drive everyday. Which means we had to deal with the tightness of the parking deck and pay for parking at the shopping strip. The staff and breakfast was great. The elevators were not as slow as what I have read. The pools were very cleaned as well as the hotel grounds. I liked the fact that we can park on the floor we stayed on which was a plus when unloading and loading the car. We had an oceanfront room and it was breathtaken to be able to lay and wake up to the calm waves. Although the hotel was pretty decent we will not be staying here again. We will stay close to the shopping strip so we can walk instead of drive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theplanner25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We have been staying at Monterey Bay for the past 3 years and we love it. Not one time did we have a problem with anything. The staff is friendly and helpfull. As you enjoy the free breakfast Ray will surely make you smile. The whole staff does a good job and should be commended for it. They always made our stay very enjoyable. I have been to many other places and for the price Monterey beats them all. I highly recommend Monterey Bay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jelt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Our stay at Monterey Bay was our best trip ever to myrtle beach . The breakfast was plentiful with lots of variety! Our check in process was expedient and we were greeted by a smile. I believe the young man that checked us in was named Lee . We were tired and hungry and ready to get out of the car. we were referred to speak to the hotel concierge , I think her name was Ms Bernie . She sent us to great restaurants and pretty much helped us plan our entire stay! She made dinner reservations for us and sent us on a dolphin cruise that we will always TREASURE! We took advantage of the show discounts as well ! She made the new Pirate Voyage Show reservations for us plus saved us a fortune! Don't change anything guys, we will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doxie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My wife, two kids, and little sister really enjoyed this hotel. It was very clean and spacious. My wife and I also enjoyed the upgraded stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops. We recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great family hotel with a touch of luxury.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbrooks89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My husband and I took our two children (ages 5 and 1) to this hotel last week. It was wonderful!! Very clean rooms and facilities. Free Breakfast was wonderful. And the kids activities in the mornings and early afternoon pleased my 5yr old to no end! Parking was a little tight at times but we managed that we a little maneuvering. We will be staying here again on our next trip. Carolyn in housekeeping--You Rock! and the lady who helped us with the "milk situation"--thanks so much, you are a lifesaver. Thanks everyone!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithtonjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owingsville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

this was our first trip to myrtle beach and montrey bay. we had a wonderful time at both. the room was a little small in bedroom but other than that all was great. staff was right on time each day cleaning and with fresh towels. food was great and staff there was so friendly and helpful. elevator was long wait but with sixteen floors and a full hotel you have to expect it sometimes, so no real complaint on that. the ocean view was incredible. even parking was not bad once you got the hang of the turns. overall we had a wonderful visit and will definatly be back again. thank you to all the staff and hotel guest for a great time.. we loved it all.

Room Tip: just sit back and relax on the deck as it is incredible views. we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank purpledolphin1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#46 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#81 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
81 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#12 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Suites

Property: Monterey Bay Suites
Address: 6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3313
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Bay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Monterey Bay Resort Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing