We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definately be back!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Bay Suites
Ranked #87 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Easthampton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Will definately be back!!!!!”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Monterey Bay is close to all shopping and restaurants. Staff is very courtious. Can't beat the breakfast deal! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jburt12153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    366
    203
    144
    169
See reviews for
681
279
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I read the reviews about this place and was afraid of what we might find here. Don't believe everything you read. Some people are never happy no matter what you do. I have been coming to Myrtle Beach for twenty-five years and this is one of the best places I have ever stayed and I have stayed in some very nice places. The parking is alittle tight but if you are a good driver, it not a problem. The breakfest was very good every morning.
The room was very clean and the maids were nice. The pools were cleaned every morning and the music by the pool was a nice touch. The elevators have average waits for a hotel this size. The staff was very helpful all week long. THE BEACH FRONT WAS AWSOME.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I should have listened to the reviews about the parking garage. We had a minivan and felt it was challenging to get in and out of the parking garage. Being able to park on the same floor as your room is very nice, but whoever designed the garage did not not into consideration the possibility of damaging vehicles. The pulldown bed had a very bad odor and my kids did not sleep well. We also had ants in our kitchen. Why this resort did not have a heated pool is also not very good. Compared to the Ocean Reef Resort where we stayed last year this place was terrible. They sell people on the free Breakfast. I will take the money that I saved on Breakfast and put it towards a nicer place next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

MIDLOTHIAN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

First of all this hotel has an F rating with the BBB for a reason. They are a bunch of rude jerks at this hotel. We all know upon leaving a hotel you always get a receipt showing you have a zero balance just so you can make sure you have no phone call charges, room services charges etc...that you did not make. Well upon checking out I requested a receipt for my stay showing i had a zero balance and Ashely Aldridge which works the front desk refused to give me one. Well let me tell you what happened I booked my stay through bookit.com. We paid $750 for 3 nights oceanfront hotel at the Atlantica Resorts which is a sister hotel of this hotel. When when we arrived at the Atlantica they conviently had nothing showing we had a reservation even though we had our confirmation number. Well once again conviently BOOKIT.COM got us a room at this crap hole which by the way would of only been $501.00 for three nights and that INCLUDED TAXES and instead of oceanfront which we paid for we had OCEANVIEW which was NO VIEW OF THE OCEAN BUT A GORGEOUS VIEW OF ANOTHER HOTEL!!!! All I wanted was receipt when I checked out showing I stayed in oceanview hotel the price for the three nights and that I had a zero balance! Ashely Aldridge REFUSED to give me one and thought the whole thing was funny. I have NEVER had a hotel not give me a receipt showing my stay!!!! Hotel is horrible and so are the people that work in it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We just got back from a wonderful stay at the Monterey Bay Suites. We’ve been to Myrtle Beach more than 40 times, but this was our first stay at Monterey Bay. It is located in the northern end of Myrtle (68th Ave North), which is in a quieter section of the beach. We had made our reservations in January for our August trip, and got a 30% discount. We were on the 12th floor, had a type “C” oceanview suite, and paid only $1,046.15 TOTAL for 7 nights. That’s less than $150 per night, including tax, for a suite!!

Every morning, they offer a free hot breakfast. Eggs, bacon, waffles, biscuits & gravy, cereals, fresh fruit, etc. each day. They also serve burgers and sandwiches at lunch time, but that isn’t free. There is a workout room on the 3rd floor, and a laundry room on the 3rd floor. There is entertainment for the kids. While we were there, they had a magic show on the main lawn, and then a talking parrot one day in the lobby. They also have a room with a TV where you can rent the X-box for free and play games. There is no arcade at this hotel.

The main pool on the lower level stretches both inside and outside, and while much of the pool is 3 to 4 foot deep, there are sections that are 5 foot deep, which made it much more enjoyable for us adults (and our 17 year old son). There is a lazy river and hottub inside, and an additional hottub outside. There is also a kids activity pool, but we didn’t have any little ones with us, so I cannot comment on that. The front lawn area has the bean-bag toss game (some call it cornhole), and plenty of chairs for sunbathing. They also have a poolside snack bar that has hotdogs and nachos, along with sodas, beer, and wine coolers. There is also ping-pong, restrooms, and pool towels down there.

There is an additional pool on the 10th floor which is smaller and quieter. It’s a great place for sunbathing, reading a book, or talking. There is also a hottub by this pool. There aren’t as many kids at this pool, so it is relaxing. Plus, if you have a room on one of the upper floors (10th through 16th), you can walk up and down the stairs to get to the pool and back to your room. There’s no public restroom at the 10th floor pool, so being able to walk up a flight of stairs to your room is helpful!

Our suite was great, and was actually bigger than the ones in the pictures on their webpage. Two double beds, two closets, two TV’s, a full kitchen, and a living room with a Murphy bed (wall bed). We had our 17 year old son and 11 year old daughter on this trip, and the suite was certainly big enough for our teen and pre-teen, which was one of our concerns before we arrived. Our balcony was facing south, so we could see the beach all of the time, and could see the lights from downtown every night and the fireworks from the 2nd Ave pier on Wednesday. I spoke with housekeeping, and each of their housekeepers has 11 rooms to take care of. They were at our room early every day, and were done and gone when we came back to our room for lunch. Our room was very clean, and so were the hallways. The elevators got dirty every day, but housekeeping/ maintenance kept cleaning them when someone would spill a drink or get sand in there.

There are two complaints about the Monterey Bay Suites… the parking and the elevators. I feel that if you know about the negatives in advance and plan for them, then you can turn those negatives into positives. YES, the parking garage is tough to negotiate. We knew that going in, so we planned our parking by taking a spot on the top floor every night (8th floor) to make our exit easier the next day. And we knew to plan an extra 10 minutes to get out of the parking building each night when we went to dinner. YES, the elevators can be slow and crowded in the morning when EVERYONE in the hotel is trying to get down to the lobby for breakfast, or back up to the room after breakfast. They aren’t that bad the rest of the day. We parked our car on the 8th floor, and walked the 4 flights of stairs to our room every day to avoid the elevator. It was an easy walk, saved time and frustration from waiting for the elevators, and was good exercise. We also took the stairs to the 10th floor pool and back to our room every day. The only time we took the elevator was to go all the way to the Lobby for breakfast, or the ground floor for the main pool and the beach.

In conclusion, we would definitely stay here again… especially for the price! The room was perfect for our family, the location was great, the pools were fun, and the free breakfast was very helpful. Everyone that we met that worked there was very friendly. The two women who served breakfast every morning have a very tough job, but they were both as friendly as can be, and spoke to everyone each day. The front desk folk were helpful, and as I said above, housekeeping was great. I would definitely recommend Monterey Bay Suites!

Room Tip: Use the stairs!! There are 4 stairwells. If your room is on the 10th floor or above, park on the 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WVParkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Dont ever go stay here. Room floors stayed wet, Elevators to slow an hot, Workers disrespectful parking is a shame
I wrecked my new van, an they had the nervous to ask me did i have insurance.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jazz2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Came to the front desk early in the morning of the day of check in; asked to have a room on the lower floor possible since our 6 years old child is anxious about riding elevators
(put the same request in 6 months ago when booked that reservation)
At 3 pm received room on floor 9. Manager and staff were very reluctant to help us and seemed to ignore our issue. Very dissapointing!!
By the way, it took us 15 minutes to get in the available elevator to get our luggage to the room. Again, no attemts to assist in any way by hotel staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sergeykrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#45 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#81 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
81 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Suites

Property: Monterey Bay Suites
Address: 6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3313
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Bay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Monterey Bay Resort Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing