We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Bay Suites
Ranked #93 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed at this resort for 3 nights and found it to be decent and basically what we expected for the cost. The staff was friendly and the breakfast decent, but served on Styrofoam foam plates. The rooms are dark and outdated; it didn't matter to us because we spent very little time in the room and most of the day on the beautiful beach. The pools and pool areas were clean. Overall the hotel needed a good deep thorough cleaning-walls, windows and sills, light fixtures, elevators and rooms, It is too far to walk to the to the boardwalk and the hotel would be smart to offer a shuttle for a nominal fee.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at Monterey Bay (20 of us) and we were completely satisified. The front desk, cleaning crew, breakfast & lunch crew ... I can't speak highly enough, they were very friendly, accommodating & just all around good people. I love that they had something going on daily for the kids, whether it be a magician, a talking parrot or the sweet man singing to us with his ukulele in the lobby. We had a great time & look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The first thing I noticed was how friendly and kind the staff was! There's always some kind staff anywhere you got but almost everywhere you go you'll catch at least one employee possibly having a bad day or in a bad mood. Whether it's that their rude directly to you or just seem to feel like you're a bother, it's something that sticks out. I didn't have that experience with not even one employee. Every single one was as kind as can be and seemed to be enjoying their job. I even tried to goad a few into complaining but they were just all so friendly! The second thing about the hotel, is that I didn't realize how family friendly it was. We watched a free magic show, the kids had a duck race and they even did arts and crafts for the kids. There was slight entertainment during the free hot breakfast every morning (and they served something different for each one). One emlpoyee carried a Ukulele and sang silly songs putting everyone in a great mood. They had the magician there one morning making balloon hats and swords for the kids and another morning they even had a pirate with his parrot. My kids had a blast and without having to spend a lot of money they got to do a lot! The hotel felt safe and homey. The rooms were really nice. I noticed another reviewer commented on the musty smells of the elevators. This is due to people traveling from pool/ocean to room and the floors getting wet. But I noticed that two or three times a day, hotel staff would be mopping the elevators which would make them smell better for a while. So it's not something that they aren't trying to keep up. The rooms were super clean and the beds were really comfortable! The elevators are slow in the mornings but other than that, if you can have some patience you're in for a fabulous vacation! I compared prices for this hotel with other similar hotels and they have the best prices! I will definitely be back to stay each year!

Room Tip: I've only stayed once, there are 2 full size beds in the bedroom and a pull out full size bed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerraLynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Excellent location, Clean room, Friendly staff, Great breakfast, Nice pool & yard, Best suite rate on the Beach!

Room Tip: Get a beachfront suite . You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Its probably difficult to keep a beachfront property clean.Common areas never appeared to have been recently cleaned.Our oceanfront suite had a musty smell, as did the elevators. Cleanliness was decent, but corners of windowsills and floors needed better. Beginning to show signs of wear. Housekeeping service was excellent with plenty of towels.
Checkin was quick. Breakfast was better than most, served c afeteria style: scrambled eggs, pancakes, different meat each day, grits, cereal, etc and gets busier later.
Only 2 of the 3 main elevators were in service and were slow.
Seems to be a good place to take kids: Right on the beach, lawn games.
Is about 50 blocks north of main part of Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crapsplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We (family of 5)stayed June 18-22. We have high standard and we were not disappointed from making the reservations to check in it was a smooth process The rooms were great and there was space for everyone .Ashley the manager, knows the best resturants in the area.Tracey warm smile greeted us every morning. The ukele was a wonderful touch while we ate.All the staff made use feel safe and happy to be there I am glad we choose Monterey Bay Suites and have not stopped singing your praises to everyone back home infact two families are making reservations. Thanks The Mitchells

Room Tip: 10TH floor has a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHRISTY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Thank God we only booked one night at Monterey Bay Suites. Our room smelled like urine and there were pools of urine in the halls and stairs. We couldn't use the balcony due to the overwhelming smells of marijuana and the drunks at the pool pulling down their pants! The room was nasty dirty and worn out. I had my 9 year old grandson with me! When we complained all we got was a lukewarm "Sorry!" I have been traveling to Myrtle Beach once or twice a year for over 30 years and spent time in many places. Nothing has ever been as bad as this Hell Hole!!!

Room Tip: Don't think about it unless you are there to drink and party in dirt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,944 reviews
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Suites

Address: 6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3313
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £52 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Bay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Monterey Bay Resort Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing